We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Engaging Exhibits”

National Museum of Iceland
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.74*
and up
Private Sightseeing Tour in Reykjavik
More Info
$38.84*
and up
City Sightseeing Reykjavik Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #9 of 180 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Some Engaging Exhibits”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My favorite thing, sadly, about visiting the National Museum was dressing as a Viking in the children's wing complete with sword, shield and helmet. I think it was my husband's favorite activity as well.

There was an interesting photo display on the main level and we enjoyed the pre-Christianity display along with the burials on the second floor. The top floor was so useless--an homage to the decades in Iceland. We took a photo of the most ridiculous thing we've ever seen in a museum- chopsticks, a pregnancy test and a pair on name-brand tennis shoes to mark a decade in history. As we tried to stifle our laughter, we were finished with this museum.

I did get a lovely Christmas ornament and a key chain in the gift shop so I guess it wasn't a total loss.

Overall, we enjoyed the Viking Museum's Coast Guard Boat tour and Settlement Museum more. It was a better way to spend our Kronos!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CelestePeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,427
    1,057
    266
    33
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. It is an interesting and well designed building. The displays are laid out very well and its easy to follow the chronology. It gives a very good picture of the history if Iceland

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SylviaHen49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting and informative”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent a few hours here learning all about the settlement of Iceland and it's history since then. The exhibits were interesting with plenty of artefacts from each period to look around. All descriptions in Icelandic and English, and it looks like there was an audio tour you could do too (though we didn't use this). Space downstairs to leave bags and coats, etc. Visited the cafe for lunch which was reasonable, though we were pretty much limited to sandwiches.

Helpful?
Thank Duckling83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great stop on a cold rainy day!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Right off the bus stop within walking distance to from city center. A wonderfully curated exhibit showing the history of Iceland, the Vikings, daily life. Lots of artifacts and everything was bilingual Icelandic and English. The gift shop had a great selection and purchases were eligible for a VAT refund. There are lockers for coats and backpacks; sure makes touring the museum more comfortable. Don't miss this gem.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank roniandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was ok. Quite a small museum. Has a café. All bags, coats etc need to be stored in lockers downstairs before entering museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank beckakabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Iceland also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing