We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Odense, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great in every way”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The interior is extremely trendy and everything looks brand new. It's located 20 meters from the main shopping street in Reykjavik and you can't ask for a better locations. I've read some of the other reviews, complaining about staff and noise from the night liife. I can't recognize this, since the staff was perfect and we had rather quiet room. With a hotel located so central there will always be some kind of noise, but this wasn't really a problem.

Parking was no problem outside the hotel and it's cheap as well. The parking meter accepts credit cards.

I will recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoff-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    635
    164
    54
    28
See reviews for
166
1,076
69
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights, and mostly enjoyed it. The best part about it is th elocation, which about as central to the heart of Reykjavik as you can get. You can get to almost anything you need -- the art museum, shopping restaurants, the harbor -- by walking there. The staff was very helpful and nice. The breakfast, which was included, was small but tasty, and the dining room was very tastefully decorated.

About the decor: it's pretty severe leather chic. From the lobby to the hallway to the rooms, there's lots of leather furniture, animal prints, concrete and faux-concrete walls, minimalist sinks, black curtains and strikingly dark art. It doesn't so much say "Welcome" as it does "Spank Me." Which can be good or bad, depending on your taste.

The rooms are small, by American standards, but the showers are just beautifully designed, if wood and concrete minimalism is to your liking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Very good quality boutique style like hotel, and centrally located in the city center. Staff was helpful in booking tours and arranging coach to blue lagoon, airport etc.. Only improvement would be the breakfast in the morning where there isnt a vast selection, but enough for you to have a simple breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doooooglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We came to Reykjavik for my 30th Birthday and stayed here after putting together a very affordable package on a famous travel website. The hotel is seriously well located for the main street of Reykjavik, we only struggled to find it because we actually got off the airport bus at the BSI Bus Terminal, which is a 30 minute walk through the houses! It was totally our fault! But it was a nice little walk.
The staff seem friendly, they all speak English (like most people in Iceland! How embarressing!) everyone at the hotel do a top notch job.
This isn't an excellent hotel, but the value for money is excellent. The rooms are small, but clean and well furbished - but the frosted glass bathroom is strange (but okay really, as long as you're not a prude).
Overall, my 30th Birthday was my best ever because of Reykjavik and the various excursions, and I'm really keen to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormOfAlbania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. The hotel has a great central location, the rooms comfy and the breakfasts are good. Everything is very quirky and I personally liked the modern styling. However, if your not into leather, cow print and glass bathrooms then this one isn't for you.

In all I'd say this is a great base for a few days of adventure. I would personally recommend the white water rafting, horse riding and the blue lagoon. Also the Flybus service is great and drops you off right at the door, it's also cheap.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth_1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Yes, the location is spot on. Beds are comfy, bathtubs are big. It's not a bad hotel. It's just not a good hotel.

If you are cruising through Reyjavik on the way to an adventure further afield, it will do for a night. But if the quality of your hotel is an intrinsic part of the enjoyment of your romantic city break, look elsewhere.

I'm all for a bit of boutique minimalism, but this decor was just stark and unforgiving. After doing battle all day with the grey landscape and relentless rain, I needed a bit of comfort and colour from my hotel, not yet more water running down the wall of reception and a bathroom that is nothing short of a bare concrete box.

A room at the back will certainly help with the street noise, but not when the hotel is so stuffily hot all the time that you have to have the window open full all the time.

Staff are more interested in their computer screen than their guests, breakfast room is cramped, minibars don't work, cupboard doors don't slide properly, ventilation is noisy...

Have loved the last two hotels I chose through TripAdvisor. But this one was distinctly
disappointing. Avoid.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank portinfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte Madera, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at CentreHotel Thingholt for 4 days at the beginning of August, 2009. The hotel is quirky, just like Iceland itself. It is an approx $100 USD cab ride from the airport to the hotel, so I would recommend booking the Fly Bus in advance, which is just an convenient, but much cheaper. The hotel is not well-marked at all. The name is etched into a side panel of glass on the door - so it took our taxi driver a few attempts to locate the place.

The hotel is in a perfect spot - centrally located and close to everything. You can walk to the shops, harbour, etc. The location could not have been better. However, the trade-off is the proximity to the bars where the partying goes on all through the night and it is LOUD. I would recommend trying to get a room at the back of the hotel. We were facing the street and the noise kept up until at least 5am.

Other than that, the hotel is quite nice. Comfy beds (the Queen is really two twin beds pushed together so be careful of the gap!), nice duvets etc. The bathroom is interesting - very modern, concrete and glass, like a lot of the new buildings in Reykjavik. It's a little like a spaceship, but functional. The breakfast in the morning is fine - continental, European. Look for caviar in a tube! Beyond that, the hotel does not really have any facilities other than a small lounge in the reception area. They also don't have any electricity converters on hand (which is a pain). They are helpful in terms of booking taxis, giving directions etc.

Overall, good hotel that I would recommend if you can get a room not facing the street.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,652 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,021 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Property: CenterHotel Thingholt
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing