We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iceland 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Iceland 2014”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Well located hotel in the centre of Reykjavik - therefore, close to amenities, restaurants etc. Possible scope for improvement may include the following:-
1) Gym - additional equipment such as treadmills
11) Availability of a light meal menu option in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    606
    149
    46
    25
See reviews for
148
1,024
61
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Arriving at this hotel at night I wondered where we were going. I was pleasantly surprised that having passed through the large door we were in a very modern reception with a comfortable lounge and plenty of seating area. Our room was just as good and met our every need, excellent shower and bathroom facilities, a comfortable bed and lovely sofa to relax. Breakfast was excellent, wonderful choice to meet all tastes. Right in the center of Rekyavik it was ideal for our 3 day trip to Iceland.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileanbeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Just a beautiful, calm, modern hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, a nice relaxed bar, totally great at the price... We stayed for about five days. The hotel really helped booking all the obvious excursions and transfers. Location is perfect; but due to this, there were no rooms with a view.... The only fault was that... Out of our window; we only saw other windows ...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Difficult to fault this hotel. Friendly and efficient check in, great room, excellent breakfast choice and the location couldn't be better, close to shops and attractions and jolly handy to pop back for a power nap or change of clothes. Excursions will pick up from the hotel along with airport drop off/pick ups which is jolly handy if it's blowing a blizzard as we experienced. The Happy Hour between 5 and 7 was welcome and the lobby is a great place to relax with a nice cold pint of local beer and chat with fellow travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Recently returned from a fantastic 4 night stay at this hotel as part of a Secret Escapes package deal that included flights, transfers and 2 trips. The hotel is small but perfectly located with lovely décor, and very pleasant staff. They upgraded us to a Luxury Suite which was very nice indeed. The spa is small but very pleasant and perfectly adequate. The included breakfast was exceptional and way better than we expected. The only knock on the hotel was it's location meant we were right in the middle of the 'Runtur' on Friday and Saturday nights so lots of whooping from hammered revellers outside! Would definitely stay here again though.

Room Tip: Email in advance and ask for an upgrade. They promptly replied saying they would try and help me and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Good location close to the centre of Reykjavik. Although it doesn't look much from outside, it has modern, attractive common areas and rooms. As in many modern styles in my experience, there is a small degree of style over function. The shower cubicle is a little small for a rain shower head, and it was not until the second day that we discovered that the lighting was not totally inadequate, that the light switches were actually dimmers, you have to press and hold to achieve a normal level of lighting.

The night life in Reykjavik is buzzing, with many a hen and stag party (Do these people know how expensive drink is here before they book???). Unfortunately the hotel is located near a night club, which, if you are at the front of the hotel, you can hear until 4 in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are better for night life lovers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davided_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldwick, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a secret escapes package and it was better than I'd expected. The hotel is right in the centre of town and the interior is beautifully decorated, minimalist but artistic. There was lots of novel features, sculptures, light fittings etc. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with bookings and advice. They also do a very reasonable happy hour from 17:00 - 19:00. The rooms were also modern and attractive, if a little small. For a few nights it was the perfect respite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambling_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Property: CenterHotel Thingholt
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing