We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Great hotel, lovely decor great location, walking distance of the bus station for all our trips. Breakfast was good will definitely be recommending to friends. Staff very helpful. We stayed in the top floor - 4 and had lovely views of the city.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine but small if you can manage a deluxe it's worth the extra money. We went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    635
    164
    54
    28
See reviews for
166
1,076
69
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay here with some friends. I'd recommend booking a deluxe twin or double room and specify if you want a bath/shower or both. Some rooms only have a shower and the normal rooms can be a little cramped. One of our party had the deluxe and we had a normal room and the sizes are significantly different, so if you can afford it go for the better room. Double beds are large and very comfortable, doubles being supplied with two single quilts which saves on the nightly "battle of the duvet"! The light switches in the bedrooms and bathrooms should come with an instruction manual as they are both switches and dimmers in one, press the bottom of the switch to turn the light On/Off and the top to turn it up/down.

There is a large and comfortable lounge area, lighting is minimalist shall we say and avoid the step down into the central seating area. I didn't see it and had a close call with a coffee table and candle holder. Breakfast is continental buffet style served in the restaurant and has an excellent food selection and plenty of it.

This hotel is within a few minutes walk of the bus station on the corner of Tryggvagata and Lækjargata, opposite the Iceland Excursions offices which is where most of the day trips leave from and also the airport transfers. The hotel pick up and drop off is via minibuses as the larger coaches can't negotiate the narrow streets but sometimes it's easier just to walk down to the excursion office.

As for Reykjavik, it's lovely with its harbour, narrow streets and traditional shops. The Hallgrímskirkja cathedral is well worth a visit and a trip to the top for the views. Local restaurants were not that expensive (despite all the horror stories we'd heard) and the food was on the whole very good. Unless you're very adventurous, I'd avoid anything you can't pronounce or have never heard of, there can be some real corkers there like "fermented skate wings". I tried Minke whale which was very much like steak and served with a pepper and mustard sauce.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe twin or double
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sellerrobotperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Don't let appearances fool you! From outside this hotel looks like nothing, but as soon as you walk through the door you are welcomed by the most helpful of staff. The reception area and lounge are very modern and comfortable with nice lighting etc. The rooms are small but again very nicely done, minimalist but very comfortable with everything you could need. Mini bar included. Breakfast was very nice, lots of choice and all nicely cooked and presented. The staff could not do enough for you. The only reason I have not given this a top rating, and this may not apply to every room, but the bathroom is simply a glass cubicle in the corner of your room which does not leave much to the imagination or allow much 'privacy'! It is ideally located to visit the cities many sites and restaurants, all of which are excellent (although expensive!).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikebabe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights . The Rooms are well designed, and all the facilities met our expectations for Scandinavian minimalist design. Breakfast was simple and western. The Hotel is very well located for Art Museums , the old town and some great little restaurants and bars. It seems to me that it is in the hub of a tasteful part of town, but to be honest Iceland itself seems to be impeccably tasteful. Really enjoyed the trip and the Hotel staff were always helpful.

Room Tip: If you want Twin beds make sure you ask for them in advance as they can be a little in short supply...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktraveller1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

An almost faultless hotel situated right in the centre of Reykjavik but offering excellent value for money - I had reserved a deluxe twin room through Booking.com for €100 per night - breakfast and in-room wifi included. As our visit to Reykjavik approached, we had become aware of the 'noise issues' and requested a quiet room. Despite the rather curt initial response, we were delighted to find out at check in that the hotel was able to honour our request, allocating us a great room on 3rd floor – deluxe rooms have either a leather sofa or an in-room free standing bath. We were initially disappointed that room 303 had the former, but actually, with hindsight the sofa arrangement works much better for relaxing after a day’s sightseeing or before heading out on the town. We had absolutely no noise problems at all, although admittedly stayed Wednesday to Friday nights – Reykjavik is a very different place at weekend evenings. We laughed at some of the earlier T/A comments about the lighting – yes, it takes a little intelligence to work out the adjustable light switches, which seem to be quite common in Iceland but there is no issue with lighting. We used the small spa and steam room briefly on a couple of occasions - you pay a small once-only supplement per stay so it makes sense to pay if you plan to use it a few times. Breakfasts offer the usual variety – nothing outstanding. And the mattresses are certainly not the highest quality – having said that, we slept soundly on all three nights. The reception staff here are also some of the friendliest Icelanders we came across. All in all, a highly recommended hotel – would definitely stay here again on a future visit to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Any rear-facing rooms on the 3rd floor - quieter and views over surrounding buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfster_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel, very reasonably priced when booked through Secret Escapes, is right in the middle of Reykjavik, but being there early in the week we did not experience the night club noise other reviewers mention. The hotel is classy but relaxed, and the staff could not have been more helpful! Take hats and gloves in winter, the wind chill is quite bad, but this comfortable, clean hotel provides the perfect base for tours.I would definitely stay there again but ask for a front room as the generator at the back is very noisy!

Room Tip: If you don't need night life, go early in the week and ask for a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel nice room we stayed on the 4th floor so it was nice and quiet. The lounge was a good place to relax and sociable happy hour was a plus. Breakfast was great a good selection. Would stay here again. Great find.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieA103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,652 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,021 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Property: CenterHotel Thingholt
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing