We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CenterHotel Thingholt

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

I just returned from a 2-night stay at Thingholt. Overall, the experience was a pleasant one-- it is centrally located, and the staff was courteous and helpful. Our room was a double, with a bathtub and shower. In-room there's a hot water kettle, wide-screen TV, refrigerator, and plenty of storage space.
There is wi-fi at the hotel, but it DOES NOT support iPhone. A great coffee shop just around the corner 'Kaffitar" has amazing coffee and a wi-fi signal. I really enjoyed the design-- very modern, lots of poured concrete, leather tiles on the floor, but still warm. if cowhide skins on the floors are not your thing, I would suggest looking elsewhere! Our concierge booked a great dinner for us at Rauthdara, about 10 mins from city center, in a building that used to be a brewery. It was exceptional. Our dinner the next night, we ate at Fiskmarket; it was acceptable. We had the tasting menu which was massive! Overall the food was good, but service was very spotty-- how can a restaurant run out of napkins? or dessert forks?? On the corner is a nightspot called B5 that was nice.
they called a shuttle for us to go to Blue lagoon, which was a bit touristy but an amazing experience. A great thing to do on your way back to the airport.

  • Liked — location, helpful staff
  • Disliked — mixups at reception with our bill.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CAintheBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    590
    145
    44
    23
See reviews for
139
987
57
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

CenterHotel Thingholt is very well situated, a short walk to most sites, restaurants, and the center of town. The weather was unseasonably hot while we were there, so the rooms were stuffy (of course Iceland generally has no need for AC!), and since I'm a very light sleeper, it was a bit noisy to open the window. However, the hotel is located just on a little side street, removing it from the worst of Reykjavik's noisy nightlife (but we did not try out this theory on a Friday or Saturday night).

The interior is ultra-contemporary in design, spiffed up with black and white leather, a fountain, cow hides, glass, acrylic and sealed cement - a little too black and white for my tastes, but I appreciated the effort. Our double room was not large, but it was well-laid out with a large white leather sofa, very comfortable beds, and the largest shower we had while in Iceland. Our friend's single room was smaller still.

The desk staff members are pleasant. There is free wireless internet and a large lounge area next to the front desk. There is no parking for the hotel, but we had no trouble finding a spot on the street less than a block away. It is metered parking that activates at 10am. The breakfast buffet, which has fruit, veggies, boiled eggs, toast, pastry, meats, fish, cheese, yoghurt and cereal, was better than most others we saw in two weeks of travelling Iceland.

Given the great rate that we found, I'd stay there again while in Reykjavik.

  • Liked — Value, location
  • Disliked — windows barely open (hard to get fresh air)
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

The hotel is conveniently located right next to the main street. You can get the flybus from the airport to the BSI bus terminal, which then has free connections to hotels.
About 4 times a day, there is a bus that goes from the airport via the blue lagoon and then onto Reykjavik. We did this and the Blue Lagoon was excellent. We then got the last bus from the lagoon to Reykjavik, which was at 9pm.
Airport to Reykjavik = 45 mins, blue lagoon is about 15 mins from airport.

The main transport is the bus. These are regular, on time and cheap. You can access the outer Reyk area this way.

Everyone speaks excellent English.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — dark rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watfordfcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

All the good things other people have written are true - great location, good breakfast, great design, great rooms etc, the only thing which ruined it for me was there was no air con in our room (410) and as it was a 28 degrees heatwave and our room was facing the sun which shone virtually all day and night it was just sweltering in there. There was a tiny window which could only be partially opened. Also the bed was right infront of the window. If it wasn't for this I'd give it excellent, but even on a cooler day of about 16 degrees it was like an oven. We just couldn't sleep at all. They didn't have any fans to loan us. I wouldn't stay there again because of this. Some areas of the hotel had blowers on, the reception area was cooler and the corridor, but not the corridor for our room. The Icelanders don't do air con in shops, restaurants, anywhere really, so if this bothers you go another time of year!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No air con in our room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Helenb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

I booked the hotel as I like modern design hotels. I was not disappointed, the interior is interesting and they have made a real effort with the design of the rooms.

The bathroom was behind a glass sliding door and we had a free standing bath in our rather small room, it was a nice feature though.

The breakfast was included and was sufficient. Stock up though as eating out (well doing anything) is VERY expensive in Iceland.

Beds were comfy, curtains blackout which was good as it was light all night.

Reception staff a little rude and unhelpful on calling but the bar staff were very friendly and full of local knowledge.

The hotel is just off the main street and near lots of the city's coolest bars and restaurants. The is a great bar at the end of the street (B5 or something similar) with a brilliant atmosphere. However the loacls party all night long and it can be prety noisy in the hotel over the weekends as they seemed to smash glasses when they come out of the bar? It did not ruin our stay but we were conscious of it. Also our bath had a very noisy plug which glugged in the night and kept us awake!

Lots of amazing scenery and some great adventures to be had in the surrounding countryside. You must vist Geysir and the Blue Lagoon, it was awesome!

I was very disappointed by a whale watching tour we took with ELDING, they were a scam who charged £50 pp to see no whales. I understand it is chance if you see them but so many people we saw (including locals) said they were unreliable and took advantage of tourists (they take you out when they know no whales in the area). You may have more luck!

  • Liked — Interior
  • Disliked — Rude staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mybestchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

The Hotel is very nice and close to all of the good action in Reykjavik. The decor is interesting, but modern and high class. All of the employees are helpful and provide good food recommendations. The morning breakfast is excellent, especially after a long night out.

This hotel is also close to traveler information center and they can provide you would great advice.

Things get a bit loud at night, but I hope you don't plan to stay in.

The first day we were there, the people at the front desk booked us a tour to the blue lagoon. The second day, we decided to rent a car and drive around to see things (good choice for americans, considering they drive on the right). They organized everything we asked for perfectly. I highly recommend skipping tours and renting cars so as not to be caught up in a tourist cloud.

  • Liked — Location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — We stayed in one night and it was a bit loud...but it was really our fault for not going out.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Narayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

Small but perfectly formed hotel right in the centre of the city. Really stylish nordic minimalism throughout. Comfortable, stylish room with great 'wetroom' bathroom and fantastic shower. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Highly recommended

  • Liked — So much style!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,431 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Hotel Holt
#11 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Property: CenterHotel Thingholt
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing