We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel - not too sure about the room design though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We recently stayed at Thingholt for four nights. In advance I read many reviews on trip advisor advising that people should try to stay in a high floor room at the back of the hotel because of the noise. As such I emailed the hotel before travelling to request this. When arriving at the hotel we were unable to check in until 2pm so they stored our luggage and we went out for some lunch and to explore the city centre. When we finally checked in they had granted my request and put us on the 4th floor right at the back of the hotel. Throughout our stay, it was very quiet and we heard no noise at all. The only issue with staying on the top floor was that we were in a loft space so the rooms did not have high ceilings. We felt that we spent the whole time crouching so that we didn't bang our heads on the low ceilings. Also in hindsight as were were staying Sunday - Thursday, I'm not sure that we needed to stay at the back of the hotel because throughout the week, the bars in Reykjavik are fairly quiet... it seems that they only come alive on a Friday and Saturday evening so if you are staying at the front of the hotel I doubt that you would have any issues. The hotel is in a perfect location, on a side street right off the main street in Reykjavik. Everything that you need is around you. The rooms are contemporary however if you are a new couple staying in the Thingholt, be aware that the bathroom walls are made of frosted glass and you can pretty much see your other half doing their business on the toilet... It definately takes you to a new point in your relationship!!! :-) The only critisicm I would have is that when the rooms were made up they kept leaving the window open and the room ended up freezing cold, which is not what you want after a full day out on the Ice. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the reception could not do enough for you. Breakfast was buffet service. The english breakfast was average but I was very impressed with the continental breakfast. The homemade flapjacks were to die for!!! All of the tour operators collect from Thingholt so when booking your trips you can wait in reception for collection and they will come directly to the hotel to colect you. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The hotel was well worth the money and was everything we expected it to be.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have low ceilings, so avoid if you are tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I arrived super early from the US. For 50 euros I was able to check in at 7am and have breakfast. The breakfast spread is very good. Good selection of fruit, cooked foods, smoked salmons, cereal and pastries. Coffee is also delicious.

The deluxe room was nice. 2 single beds together. Living area. Nicely designed. Safe, fridge, teas in room. The bathroom was standard in design. Shower had super water pressure. Hot water was Hot! Cold water super cold. They say the tap is spring water. It tasted like it too.

Friendly staff. Good location. Walk to bars, restaurants, tourist Attractions, shops.

If you don't have winter gear, that's fine they really do sell everything you would need all around.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Monakamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

When we got to this beautiful hotel we got the nice surprise of being upgraded in a superior room that was very cosy, spacious and clean. Unfortunately the window was right above a restaurant with a heavy door that was banging every time someone was getting in or out. An inconvenient that we easily forgot about thanks to the fantastic breakfast on the next day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyV04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We just stayed in Thingholt and thought it was a great hotel.

Very modern, stylish lobby, bar and rooms. Nice spa facilities. Friendly staff and central location.

Can also recommend the skylounge bar at their sister hotel just down the road.

Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I'm not sure why this hotel isn't rated even higher online. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a junior suite which was one of the most modern and unique rooms I've stayed in. There were a lot of cool design features including an interesting rug, dimmers in all of the rooms, and a concrete and modern feel.

The staff was super helpful every time we had a question, breakfast was pretty good and had great pastries. The location was perfect, though it's not that large of a city - easy walking distance to all of the bars, restaurants and tourist attractions. Easy parking on the street and didn't have any of the noise issues I read about in other reviews. I wish we had more time to spend there and we will def make this our choice hotel when we go back for our next visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdowling123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel, a warm welcome with the abstract water feature on entrance to the cow hide rugs leather seating and this is before you even get to your room, situated smack bang In the middle of town less than 5minuets walk to the wonderful and magical Reykjavik National Music Hall situated over looking one of Iceland's harbors a trip there in the evening is a must... You'll see why! Thingholt hotel is cosy, clean, friendly and pleasant. The rooms are spacious, modern with supplied toiletries, air dryer, clothes drying rack, security safe and tea making facilities, this hotel is a must for a week or less visit to Iceland's capital.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank Deanan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel couldn't be better located for the main shopping street and excellent restaurants. Everywhere we wanted to go was within walking distance.
I was not a huge fan of the hotel decor. Plain walls with lots of dark colours but it was very clean albeit the bedrooms were quite small. We were on the first floor at the front and it was noisy on Friday and Saturday nights but we had the windows closed so it was not an issue. The bedroom was excessively warm which emanated from the underfloor heating in the bathroom so it was a case of opening the windows to get the heat out before bedtime then closing them to keep the noise out.
The breakfast was very good with a large choice- cereals. fresh fruits. Yogurt. Meats cheeses and salads. hot choice, toast and croissants, pastries including my favourite pecan plait, juices and hot drinks etc.
The staff were all very friendly especially Clara on the front desk who was extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The bus tours we went on all picked up from the hotel so I would recommend this hotel to tourists without cars who want a central base as it couldn't be bettered.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brayford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,746 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,063 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $220 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing