We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went on a long weekend with all the usual trips included. This hotel is a good hotel with a location just off the main street and within walking distance of everything you would need during a stay i.e restaurants and shops.The staff are very friendly and helpful, room was clean, and we were both happy with our stay. The only tip if your stay is over a weekend is to INSIST that your room is on the back of the hotel even if they try to persuade you to take an upgrade for one on the front. We had already learnt of this before we booked and so glad we did. Other guests we met at breakfast had a noisy night but ours was fine, didnt hear a thing! This is not the hotels fault just the fact that on Friday and Saturdays the streets are full of revellers! We loved this trip so different with so many things to see on the trips including the Northern Lights! A must do!

Room Tip: If you stay here you MUST have a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silversurfer500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Myself and 5 friends made this our base whilst stopping by in Reykjavik. We didn't stay on a weekend night (which I understand can be noisy) but had no problem with noise levels in any of the rooms. All found the beds very comfy and breakfast was a good spread of options; continental, cooked breakfast, fruit etc.
The receptionist was incredibly welcoming and helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: ?Quieter rooms at back of the hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouGoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Center Hotel Thingholt for 3 nights, as part of a Secret Escapes package. From start to finish our trip was fantastic. The hotel front is deceiving, as it's understated, on a side street, but the main shopping/bars/restaurants are all within walking distance. The reception is well presented and although work was still ongoing, it was very clean. Our room was on the 4th floor so we didn't suffer any noise as stated by others. The bedroom was small, but had everything we needed and anyway how much time do you actually spend in your room when on holiday. We came to see Iceland after all. Nice view of the mountains from our bedroom window. The bed was very comfortable and big enough to cater for the tall people. Bathroom was lovely with a very powerful shower and a deep bath which was a delight. Fluffy bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. Operating the lights in the room takes some getting used to but gently does it and you can dim/brighten to suit your needs. Safe and hair dryer handy to have. Loved the furniture. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice. Staff were very pleasant, polite, in fact Icelandic people could teach Londoners a thing or two about manners. Only downside to our visit to Iceland was we didn't see the Northern Lights, but it just gives us a reason to return and we will definitely consider staying at this hotel again. Gutted to be home.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JohnoandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

we have just spent 4 nights here and must compliment the management on the excellent service we received throughout our stay from when we arrived to when we left. The reception staff were always cheerful and helpful, even when we had an accident with a glass of wine and a wonky table the receptionist herself cleaned up the spilt wine and replaced it free of charge without being asked.
The hotel itself is in a great location near all the bars and restaurants ( I would recommend the Caruso just a couple of doors away for a great meal)
I certainly would stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We are just heading home today after a 4 night break, ignore the previous review we cannot fault this hotel!the location is right in the center easily walking distance to sights around reykavik, the hotel very modern, the staff very good polite and helpful, twice they provided extra tea and fresh milk for our room, they were also very helpful in booking our excursions. We need to book the Golden Circle trip and Blue Lagoon, both amazing days. The breakfast has brilliant selection daily, there is happy hour from 5-7 daily to! Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Reykavik!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moorest78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We are here for 3 nights (currently on our second), initially we were really impressed with how the hotel looked even though it is not completed yet.
Having read some reviews we were concerned about the level of noise from the club next door as travelling with our infant son. So with this in mind called ahead of our stay to request a quiet room and a bath for washing my son in.
Our first night I could not get our son to sleep until after midnight due to the noise. I went to reception explained my partner was still trying to get him to sleep. I was not believed and he wanted to come into my roomto listen to the noise. After doing this and unsettling my son further he said he could not hear anything...
So on night number 2 and yet again there is loud music and squeals from girls at the club!
I have found the two members of staff that we have met here totally uninterested in their job and can not be bothered to look in to anything. We have spoken with other guests and they are of the same opinion.
It looks amazing but the staff let this place down. I will definitely visit reykjavik again but will stay away from this hotel qnd will warn others!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank hannahmordin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I have only just arrived home from a 4 night stay but felt the need to write this review immediately. We had a brilliant stay at Thingholt. The hotel is in a great location on the main strip of bars and restaurants. That said we didn't hear any noise during the night. The hotel is modern, rooms were beautifully decorated and breakfast was very varied running from 7-10am. Clara on the reception desk was incredibly helpful. When we go back to Iceland we will def be staying here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank xJennax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,843 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#8 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $218 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing