We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I really liked this hotel in terms of location and how modern the rooms are. You walk out the front door and your are right in the middle of everything. The only downside to the hotel is on Saturday nights the bars stay open til 3am-5am so its a bit nosy but apart from that I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ding!Ding!Ding!Ding! We have a winner! This review is overdue as I was there December 2012. BEST LOCATION IN REYKJAVIK. They have Happy Hour each night. Lissie is the best bartender. Excellent way to start the evening right. The rooms are clean and modern. The breakfast was a plus too. Do yourselves a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nazrio00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for about a week and 1/2 this past August. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast included was very good.

The location of this hotel is ideal - located directly in the downtown core and a short walk to everything.

Will happily stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors and also a slightly larger standard room. The regular standards...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Thom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Right in the city center, within what I always think of as "The Greenwich Village" of Reykjavik, this hotel is a cozy, comfy, trendy fine. Rooms are chic--with an industrial feel, concrete floors, stylish sink, black leather cushions, dimmed lights... nice bar inside too. Good breakfast. All in all, a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great hotel located in the middle of the city, surrounded by shops and restaurants. Helpful staff. Nice rooms, modern and clean. We got the fourth floor corner room on our honeymoon and it was splendid, with a beautiful view of the city. Breakfast was also good, and there's an early breakfast (croissants and coffee) if you have to catch an early morning flight. You have to pay extra for early check in, which was problematic since we arrived in Iceland at 5 am, but understandable since most Icelandair flights arrive very early in the morning and the hotel could never possibly accommodate all early check in requests. Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The corner room on the fourth floor has an amazing view of the city - like you're sleeping right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessgmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent location in the center of Reykjavik.
Service orientered staff in the reception - first impression is good.
Room and other facilities in the hotel is very good - I Like :-)
Breakfast is icelandic that is continental breakfast
In my view the best hotel in Reykjavik

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olesette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

You always know if I like a hotel. I post whilst I am still here because it is that good. And the CenterHotel Thingholt ticks all the right boxes.

Centrally located = no surprise there then = parking is on nearby streets. The further you go from the hotel the cheaper it is from P1 to P3. But no drama in terms of finding space and you can park from 1801 to 0959 free of charge.

The ugly exterior hides a welcoming Boutique feel hotel that is not large and provides a warm welcome as soon as you enter. The reception staff = Gunor a nice guy = are all very good. Early check in, smiles, advice on bars and restaurants and excellent English.

I requested in advance a high floored room at the back as I had read earlier TA comments and the hotel delivered. As for reports of noise at the front at weekends I am not sure as I was not there on a Friday, but hope too next time as the immediate area rocks I am told... not by lava either.

The bed room itself was clean, modern, bright, roomy and had an excellent shower. UK TV channels a plus for us although Eamon Holmes on holiday was a little much....

Breakfast superb. This was one of the best I have had in recent years in a hotel. Great choice, well presented, perfectly cooked, well served. Loved it = big ticks from me.

Happy hour attendance mandatory, although you could check out the sister Sky Lounge property on the front for a more romantic drink whilst the sun goes down from the 8th floor.

Other bits. Wifi throughout. Mac near reception where this missive is being typed.

BUT WHAT ABOUT THE SPLASH I HEAR YOU CRY! Well beware as I saw two people in 24 hours fall in to the water feature once by the entrance door and once by the back of the dining area. The water features seemed to catch people unaware as they did not expect them there and consequently they got wet. Could have damaged ankles but unfortunately did not. Funny for those watching but not if you shoe gets dunked. Should they fill the water in... of course not but watch out.

In summary great value as I booked through the ever reliable booking.com and would use as a base and thoroughly recommend. Room 101 no but Review 101 yes.

Room Tip: Head for the top and the back.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,798 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $218 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing