We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CenterHotel Thingholt
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
101 hotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,991)
Filter reviews
1,991 results
Traveler rating
986
732
180
60
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
986
732
180
60
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suitefrosted glassthe main streetboutique hotelcentral locationfriday and saturdaycenter hotelsteam roombreakfast was includedstandard roomlight sleeperhappy hourmini barearly checkstreet noiseloved this hotelthe heart of the city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,364 - 1,369 of 1,991 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Right in the city center, within what I always think of as "The Greenwich Village" of Reykjavik, this hotel is a cozy, comfy, trendy fine. Rooms are chic--with an industrial feel, concrete floors, stylish sink, black leather cushions, dimmed lights... nice bar inside too. Good breakfast. All in all, a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great hotel located in the middle of the city, surrounded by shops and restaurants. Helpful staff. Nice rooms, modern and clean. We got the fourth floor corner room on our honeymoon and it was splendid, with a beautiful view of the city. Breakfast was also good, and there's an early breakfast (croissants and coffee) if you have to catch an early morning flight. You have to pay extra for early check in, which was problematic since we arrived in Iceland at 5 am, but understandable since most Icelandair flights arrive very early in the morning and the hotel could never possibly accommodate all early check in requests. Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The corner room on the fourth floor has an amazing view of the city - like you're sleeping right on top of it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessgmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent location in the center of Reykjavik.
Service orientered staff in the reception - first impression is good.
Room and other facilities in the hotel is very good - I Like :-)
Breakfast is icelandic that is continental breakfast
In my view the best hotel in Reykjavik

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olesette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

You always know if I like a hotel. I post whilst I am still here because it is that good. And the CenterHotel Thingholt ticks all the right boxes.

Centrally located = no surprise there then = parking is on nearby streets. The further you go from the hotel the cheaper it is from P1 to P3. But no drama in terms of finding space and you can park from 1801 to 0959 free of charge.

The ugly exterior hides a welcoming Boutique feel hotel that is not large and provides a warm welcome as soon as you enter. The reception staff = Gunor a nice guy = are all very good. Early check in, smiles, advice on bars and restaurants and excellent English.

I requested in advance a high floored room at the back as I had read earlier TA comments and the hotel delivered. As for reports of noise at the front at weekends I am not sure as I was not there on a Friday, but hope too next time as the immediate area rocks I am told... not by lava either.

The bed room itself was clean, modern, bright, roomy and had an excellent shower. UK TV channels a plus for us although Eamon Holmes on holiday was a little much....

Breakfast superb. This was one of the best I have had in recent years in a hotel. Great choice, well presented, perfectly cooked, well served. Loved it = big ticks from me.

Happy hour attendance mandatory, although you could check out the sister Sky Lounge property on the front for a more romantic drink whilst the sun goes down from the 8th floor.

Other bits. Wifi throughout. Mac near reception where this missive is being typed.

BUT WHAT ABOUT THE SPLASH I HEAR YOU CRY! Well beware as I saw two people in 24 hours fall in to the water feature once by the entrance door and once by the back of the dining area. The water features seemed to catch people unaware as they did not expect them there and consequently they got wet. Could have damaged ankles but unfortunately did not. Funny for those watching but not if you shoe gets dunked. Should they fill the water in... of course not but watch out.

In summary great value as I booked through the ever reliable booking.com and would use as a base and thoroughly recommend. Room 101 no but Review 101 yes.

Room Tip: Head for the top and the back.....
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Reykjavik. It is modern, with great design. The rooms are somewhat small, the mattresses were lovely, and the bathroom a dream. Nice staff at the reception. The breakfast had good variety, one of the better we've got some time. Free Wi-Fi, tee and coofee in the room.

BUT, there is always a snake in paradise: and this snake is called NOISE! We had rooms facing the street, and there was noise from other nearby bars and restaurants. You will be given earplugs at reception if you request it. Can definitely recommend this hotel, but ask for a room facing away from the street!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the street!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews