We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with lovely staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from Reykjavik today after a 4 night stay at the Thingholt. The room was stylish and immaculately clean. Warm and comfortable bed. I requested a high floor as other reviews mentioned noise and this was provided. I had no problem sleeping despite Reykjaviks reputation for late night revels and the central location of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent with a selection of hot and cold meats, eggs, cereals, fruit, yogurts, pastries, juice, breads and jams etc.. The staff were friendly and helpful and always looked cheerful. We parked in the same street as the hotel and the parking is much cheaper than in the UK so not a problem. In summary, a clean, stylish, comfortable and friendly hotel in a very good location.

Room Tip: I slept in a top floor room and no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    634
    164
    54
    28
See reviews for
166
1,075
69
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I decided to take advantage of Iceland Air's stopover program in 2010 when I traveled from Minneapolis to London. With on overnight stay in Reykjavik, I opted to stay at the CenterHotel Thingholt after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed.

The hotel was very modern yet comfortable (The bathroom was fantastic!) It’s location was ideal for touring the city and I found the staff very helpful in pointing out places of interest and to eat. All in all, it was a great experience and if I have the opportunity to visit Iceland again, I would definitely return to CenterHotel Thingholt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitowner_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Value for money wise, this may be the best hotel I have stayed in. The design and quality of the rooms was excellent with everything you would possibly need for a trip to Iceland. The fittings of the bathroom were particularly good which included an amazing shower. The bed was a good size and extremely comfortable and I had no issues with street noise that a few other reviewers on tripadvisor had noted. Breakfast, while not the biggest, had a decent selection that was very nice and good quality. Location wise you are situated right in the heart of Reykjaviks city centre and can walk to all the sites. The staff were always very friendly and approachable. A further nice touch was when we were leaving we had an early departure of around 5:30am. Breakfast did not start until 7am although the staff had laid out tea, orange juice and croissants for us to eat while we waited for our pick up. I definitely recommend Centerhotel Thingholt!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_L0GiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in the centre of Reykjavik. Despite being so central, we managed to find parking outside (free after 18:00) every day.

Rooms are clean and stylish with wifi throughout. We didn't have a problem with noise that others have complained of, but we were located on the upper floors at the back of the hotel. Staff were friendly and attentive - would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobgLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I booked in October 2012 for my wife and I to stay one night in March 2013 between a trip to northern Iceland and our flight back to the UK. I chose it because of its central location. On arriving at CenterHotel Thingholt around noon because of an early morning flight from Akureyri, we were told that there were maintenance issues that meant that several rooms had had to be taken out of use and that we were being 'upgraded' to CenterHotel Arnarhvoll. This was definitely NOT an upgrade. The hotel was further out from the centre, the room was modern but cramped, with a tubular metal clothes hanging structure that was absolutely lethal - a serious danger of hitting the sharp corner at head height because of insufficient room round the end of the bed. The inadequate shower door arrangement in the bathroom meant that everything became soaked when taking a shower. The TV was just about impossible to work - didn't respond to the handset or the buttons on the front.
This was definitely not an upgrade and we were very suspicious that we had been moved out of CenterHotel Thingholt to make was for a more lucrative booking - the whole way the 'upgrade' story was handled by the receptionist lacked conviction and credibility. Hence the Terrible rating for Thingholt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Martin G

Thank you for your sharing your experience with us here at CenterHotels.

First of all we are really sorry about the inconvenience we caused you with the move from Þingholt to Arnarhvoll. We are very sorry to not have been able to accommodate you in your chosen hotel and in a situation like this you should always be given a stay in a same or higher standard hotel in a similar location and I agree with you that this was not provided to you.

We had a maintenance issue in one of the rooms at Þingholt that had a knock on effect of water damage in a few rooms and we didn't manage to fix the damage in all of the rooms in time so we had to relocate you to one of our sister hotels at a very short notice.

I'm really sorry that you where given the impression that you where being upgraded as you are correct the Arnarhvoll is not an upgrade from Þingholt and we will clarify that with the reception staff. Your reservation was upgraded from a standard room in Þingholt to a Deluxe room with a view and free SPA access in Arnarhvoll and but the move between hotels is clearly not an upgrade and we are very sorry that you were told so.

We have contacted you personally regarding compensation for your inconvenience.

I sincerely hope that you still managed to enjoy your stay in Iceland and should you ever travel to Iceland again and decide to give us a second chance please do not hesitate to contact us and I will ensure you get a free upgrade during your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My friend and I had two premium rooms. Both had uncomfortable mattresses, we slept poorly. Even though this hotel is off the main street, and it was cold outside, the party noise on the street was very bad and kept waking us up (our rooms were on the 2nd and 3rd floors). We had prepaid three nights but checked out after two and went home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Tallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton,England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Right of main high street in down town. We had a room at the rear of the hotel-good size very clean. Large wet room with shower. Slightly odd having glass walls on wet room but they are opaque so privacy was just about ok.
Staff excellent and really helpful for booking trips etc. Breakfast buffet pretty good- continually topped up.
Loved the city and Iceland. Unfortunately missed the lights but great excuse to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,647 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,020 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Property: CenterHotel Thingholt
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing