We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and location, on a budget.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Thingholt
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Style and location, on a budget.”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Steps from the main shopping area, this hotel mixed modern design with Icelandic hospitality.

The room my partner and I occupied was on the top floor, on the back side of the building. The space, while sufficient, felt a little cramped, mainly because of the gabled ceilings which created odd angles and low ceilings. The furnishings were all very modern and clean, but it left the room feeling a little cold. I've read that the streets can get kind of noisy at night, as drunken crowds spill out of the bars, but we didn't experience any noise issues. Again, we had a room on the back side of the building, so something along the street might be worse.

Location couldn't be much better and you'll find everything within close walking distance.

The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations and bookings.

There is a bar in the lobby, but we never took advantage of it. It might get be more crowded during the busy season, but we were there a little earlier in the season so it frequently felt like we had the hotel to ourselves.

We ate at the associated restaurant (domo) only for breakfast, where you can expect the usual "continental" offerings. There are a number of amazing restaurants in the area which I definitely recommend for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonlingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    626
    159
    52
    27
See reviews for
160
1,061
67
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Great location....but the noise at weekends has to be heard to be believed. It's like being next to an all night rave. Impossible to sleep. Screaming idiots in the street and high decibel music for 6 hours. Breakfast is very basic. Many staff changes on reception throughout our stay and some were very unfriendly and frankly hopeless. One guy on reception who doubled as a bartender could not make even basic cocktails. Also pre promised upgrade was not available until 3 days into the stay. There have to be better places than this....

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sonofjackdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Sonofjackdaw,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay. We are very sorry that you were not pleased with your stay.
We are located right in the downtown area of Reykjavik and as many reviewers have shared on this site, they really enjoy being so close to all the activities that Reykjavik has to offer.
We take much pride in providing excellent services and are proud of the wonderful staff we have. We are really sorry that your experience was different.
We thank you for your comments and hope to welcome you back to Iceland in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally with any questions or if there is anything I can assist you with.

Sincerely,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We loved this hotel. Our arrival was quite testing, we unpacked and settled down with the TV for an early night only to realise the bathroom light would not switch off. After trying unsuccessfully for 30 minutes, thinking I must be doing something wrong, I went to get the guy from reception. He tried, and failed so said he would move us. The bathroom was all glass surrounded so it would have been impossible to sleep with the light on. We packed up again and moved rooms. At this point we were disappointed, as there was no way this room was as nice as the first. Nevertheless we unpacked again. Just as we were about to get into bed the receptionist came back and said he had a different room. Whilst we didn’t want to move again he said he had got us a better room. Whilst it was a bit annoying that he could not have done this the first time we were very grateful as the new room was an upgrade and a lot nicer.

The style of the hotel was amazing, a truly unique design hotel, a phrase branded too often around boutique hotels that fail to deliver at the moment. The staff were great, always really willing to help and answer our questions. Location was ideal for exploring the lovely small city, the breakfast was always sufficient. I cannot believe we paid what we did for this hotel, an absolute bargain. We stayed for 3 nights and then came back for another night after a trip away for a few days and it delivered the whole time. Highly recommended.

The city itself was great, loads of amazing restaurants, quirky bars and really friendly locals. Go there!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalGooner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear TristanOxford,

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that despite the fact of having to move rooms, we were able to accommodate you in a room to your liking.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Iceland and we most certainly hope to welcome you back to Centerhotels and Iceland in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or if we can assist with anything at all.

Sincerely,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

A modern and contemporary hotel located in the heart of Reykjavik. Whilst the exterior of the hotel is somewhat uninspiring, the interior is very stylish with top quality fittings and finishes. Many reviews have commented on the noise from a nearby nightclub, I was fortunate to have a rear room and had no issues in this regard. The bedrooms are fitted and decorated to a very high standard and the whole property is meticulously clean. The hot/cold buffet breakfast was good quality. The reception staff were very pleasant and could not have been more helpful. The location of the hotel gives easy access to a variety of bar/restaurants and nightlife, together with the tourist office for excursions.....the Blue Lagoon was a highlight. I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to others or staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: Request a rear room to avoid noise from the nearby nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear GaryL20,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had an enjoyable time in Iceland.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We will be sure to share your feedback with our wonderful staff.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Centerhotels and Iceland in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or if we can assist with anything at all.

Sincerely,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very nice hotel in good location. Rooms were cosy, but nicely decorated and had everything you need for a short break. Breakfast was a good with plenty of choice, but not amazing. The staff were very helpful giving good advice and provided an early breakfast. Plenty of street parking nearby (for a small fee if left during a weekday) plus a nice bar (with happy hour). Being centrally located there was a bit of noise at night, but no more than expected.
A great place for a long weekend. If thinking of a long weekend sightseeing I would strongly suggest hiring a car - gives flexibility and much cheaper than the tours and easy to navigate the main sites.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmhhdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Great contemporary hotel styled well, great location, staff couldn't of done more to help! Nice added bonus of decent breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atkin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We've just returned from a five night break in Iceland and we loved this hotel. The reception staff are lovely, always extremely friendly and happy to give recommendations or book trips for us. Thingholt is a pretty stylish place, not to mention spotlessly clean. It is also understated, from the outside you hardly notice it at all.

The location is fantastic, right next to the main shopping street and only a five minute walk to the Old Harbour and Hallgrimur's Church.

The breakfast buffet was far better than expected. It included everything from bacon & eggs to cereals, cakes and pastries. Definitely a good way to fill up before going on an excursion. And breakfast times was never that busy either. Its also worth bearing mind the bar does two for one on all drinks during happy hour which is between 5pm and 7pm every day. A good way to save a bit of cash on a night out.

Our room was great, although there were slanting ceilings on either side of the bed which I kept banging my head on. The bathroom is actually in the room and only separated by frosted glass, this could be an issue for some but never caused us problems.

And yes; the weekend nightlife is very lively. One or two clubs are behind the hotel and don't kick out until 5am, so you're likely to hear some sort of noise. It was loud enough to wake me up on a couple of occasions but not to keep me awake for long... and I'm a light sleeper. Certainly not something that should put you off staying in this fantastic hotel.

Iain, London

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iain73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
999 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,597 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
559 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Thingholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Property: CenterHotel Thingholt
Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing