We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CenterHotel Thingholt
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
101 hotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,990)
Filter reviews
1,990 results
Traveler rating
986
732
179
60
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
986
732
179
60
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suitefrosted glassthe main streetboutique hotelcentral locationfriday and saturdaycenter hotelsteam roombreakfast was includedstandard roomlight sleeperhappy hourmini barearly checkstreet noiseloved this hotelthe heart of the city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,665 - 1,670 of 1,990 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Super Modern and right downtown. The room as clean and comfortable with good shades to keep the light out. The staff was also very helpful and put breakfast out early for us since we had to leave very early for the airport. Its a great location if you want to explore downtown, and despite being downtown, it was very quiet.

There is only street parking which you have to pay for, but its not very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had a one day stopover in Iceland and I was really looking forward to staying in this lovely boutique hotel. Out flight was due in late in the evening, but I gave the hotel our flight details in the booking.

In the event our flight was delayed and we did not arrive at the hotel until after 2 a.m. At which point we were told by the hotel that there had been "a flood" in our room and they were fully booked. The clerk told us he had booked us a room at an equivalent hotel and would be calling us a taxi at the hotel's expense to take us there. I asked where the new hotel was and was told it was "also central". I was glad because I had chosen the hotel specifically because it was in the centre of Reykjavik because we had less than 24 hours in Iceland.

When the taxi came (very quickly, thankfully), it took nearly 10 minutes to take us to our new hotel. This may not sound like very long, but the centre of Reykjavik is very small and in 10 minutes, you are in an area that can no longer be described as "central". The next morning it was a 20 minute walk to the centre of town: a far cry from this hotel's location just around the corner from the main shopping street.

The quality of the hotel was also a disappointment. All we saw of the Thingholt was the lobby, but it was trendy with a black and white theme and was clearly well-designed. The lobby of our new hotel had shabby furniture and strip lighting. It looked and felt like a dorm/student hall of residence...which is because that's what it is. We were given a room with 2 single beds, very basic toiletries and an even more basic shower. It was clean and the beds were comfortable, but it was a 2 star hotel rather than a 4-star hotel like the Thingholt.

The next morning, the breakfast was not 4-star hotel quality either.

I was extremely disappointed by my experience of this hotel and will be asking for my money back due to the inferior quality of hotel we were put up in. I appreciate that hotels run into problems like this from time to time, but the substitute hotel was in no way adequate. This got our holiday off to a poor start.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rbgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Great location - shops, bars and restaurants a stone's throw away. Great decor - a touch of exotic wamth added to nordic cool. Good size room - stylish bathroom.
Staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrattyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We didn't originally book this hotel and were due to stay in their sister hotel Centerhotel Arnarhvoll over the August bank holiday. Our original hotel had over booked due to a conference and luckily (for them!) we were moved to the 4 star Thingholt hotel instead.

It turned out to be a good move for us. The location was perfect being just off the main drag and was only a 5 minute walk to the Grayline Excusion office which is where all their tours departed.
Not sure why people complain about the exterior of the hotel as most of the buildings in Reykjavik are pretty drab and dull. It's the inside that counts as this is where you're sleeping.
There was a funky reception/bar area and we thought we had bad luck getting room number 12 which is on the ground floor right next to the bar. But it turned out that even on a weekend the rooms were sufficiently sound proofed so that the noise never really bothered us. Plus I wear ear plugs.
The room opened up to a shared patio area facing the back of the hotel which meant we didn't have the street noise people seemed to have a problem with.
Only downside was that the floors were made from slate tiles. Fine for the Summer months but let's hope they have underfloor heating because in Winter it could be freezing to walk around the room in bare feet!
Shower was excellent and the room had free wi-fi, storage cupboards, mini bar fridge and tea/coffee making facilities (tea and coffee making seems to be very important to some people so I thought I'd mention it!)
Breakfast was more than sufficient as there was hot food available and a waffle maker.
The hotel staff were helpful and friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel if you got a good price for it.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back of the hotel to avoid street noise
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieLondon362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed here for a couple nights en-route to New York and were very impressed with the hotel desk team and the general amenities of the hotel. When we asked the team about places to eat of drink.. they dint do the usual and advise us to eat at the hotel.. they actually listened to the food we liked and advised us to places they thought would suit us. The recommendation (An argentinian restaurant with a fantastic wine selection call 'Argentine') was spot on and we had a great meal!

So if/when we go back to Reykjavik we will absolutely stay at the hotel which is in a great location in central Reykjavik also.

Room Tip: most of the rooms aren't so huge.. but they are clean, have free wireless and are decent. Upgrade to the suite if u want space.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leolux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews