We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Location, Great Staff, Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Sunna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse Sunna
Ranked #8 of 113 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Great Staff, Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Recently stayed in one of the studio apartments, it was clean and comfy. The guesthouse was in a great location to access the city centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful with arranging travel.
Breakfast was lovely too as was the packed lunch we purchased for our excursion to the south.
Even though we had separate beds, we pushed them together and the stay was plenty cosy enough.
I'd advise anyone who visits Reykjavik to stay here.

Room Tip: Studio Apartment we stayed in, Number 5, had a great view of Hallgrímskirkja and had it's own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    166
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
150
65
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
482 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

First off the location was perfect. It's right across the street from the big church so it's easy to find. If you're going to drive out of town (which I highly recommend) it's just down the street to pick up the main highways that lead to wherever you're going. They have a small parking lot to the side you can park in. But if it's full you can park for free across the street in the church parking lot. It's a short walk to restaurants and shopping in Reykjavik. Really you can't ask for a better location. The room I got was with shared bathroom. I never had a problem finding an open bathroom when I needed it. Free breakfast in the morning. The staff are very willing and bale to help you with directions, suggestions, or booking trips. The price was really great too. Iceland can be a little pricey and this place was a deal.

Room Tip: Never had a bad night of sleep here. Never had to wait to get an open bathroom (I didn't have on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent three nights at Sunna Guesthouse and were very satisfied with our stay.

The location is very good. It is less than a block away from Hallgrimskirkja and maybe takes 10-15 minutes to walk down to the center of Reykjavik. There are shops and restaurants a few minutes away. It was fairly quiet at night, although we weren’t there on a Friday or Saturday night. Our room was right next to the roadway but, other than a stray truck or snow plow or the chiming of the church, the bedroom was pretty quiet. The guesthouse is located at the top of a hill so be prepared to climb uphill from the center of town and just about anywhere else. Technically, you could walk from the BSI bus station to the guesthouse if you’re using the FlyBus option from Keflavik Airport but be prepared for an uphill walk all the way. We used the FlyBus Plus option to avoid this.

We arrived around 8:30 in the morning and, luckily, our room was available for check in. My brother and I reserved a studio apartment which consisted of a bedroom with two twin beds, a small kitchenette area, and a bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the room was more than adequate to accommodate our belongings. There was a futon in the room as well as a desk and chair. There was a small tv in the room but don’t count on getting too much from it – only four stations (the only one in English was religious programming 24/7) and some radio channels. The kitchenette was very useful for us – it had a sink, toaster oven, two hot plates, and a kettle for boiling water. The cabinets were stocked with dishes, cups, glasses, utensils, and pots. The bathroom is very small (probably less than three square meters). I would have preferred more room in the bathroom but this is common in European hotels so I was kind of prepared for this. The water that comes out of the tap does have a very strong sulfur smell, which is to be expected in Iceland. After showering, the entire room smelled which was a bit off-putting. There were two windows in the studio, however, that helped to air it out.

The continental breakfast that was included in the cost of the room was very good. It consisted of yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit, fresh-baked breads, boiled eggs, sliced cheeses and meats, juice, tea and coffee. It was very satisfying and made for a good start to each day.

The front desk staff were very helpful; they assisted us with our queries and had a friendly attitude.

Overall, we were happy with our stay and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I arrived at Guesthouse Sunna by taking the Flybus Plus from the airport. I arrived around 9am but was allowed to check in after a short wait to clean the room. I reserved a room with a private bath. The room is very basic but clean. There were two twin sized beds in the room with a desk and chair. There was a small TV mounted above the desk. An area for clothing is provided which included hangers and shelves. The bathroom was very small but this is common with European bathrooms. There is a shelf above the toilet to place toiletries. The hot water was very hot but smelled like sulfur which is normal in Iceland. I noticed that the shared bathroom down the hall was larger if you prefer to stay in a room without a private bath. It also appeared to be very clean.

The breakfast was buffet style. There were boiled eggs, sliced meats and cheeses, fruits, breads, cereal, juices, coffee, tea, and water served daily. One morning I noticed that waffles were also being served. Breakfast is served in an area next to the lobby.

The location of the Guesthouse was very good. I walked everywhere. There are many restaurants and retail stores nearby. I liked having the view of Hallgrimskirkja church from my room but the tolling of the bell throughout the day can be bothersome if you are in your room resting. There were many tour operators picking up guests from Sunna. I took two different tours with two operators and there was no problem finding the guesthouse.

The staff was helpful and spoke perfect English. I would definitely stay at Guesthouse Sunna again when visiting Reykjavik.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rngonetraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for 9 days at Guesthouse Sunna and loved it everyday. The staff was always helpful and friendly; they answered our many questions with patience and kindness. The location was close to shopping and food, easily accessible to buses and taxi's if you want to travel further. They assisted us with locations to visit on our own when we rented a car. The rooms are so well insulated that we did not even need to use heat! We loved it here! Thank you Sunna!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sljustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at Sunna on two separate one night stays last week. The staff were very friendly and helpful (the front of house member actually gave us some really helpful and SUCCESSFUL tips on where to see the Northern Lights), the location is great. The room is clean although a little small (this didn't bother us and we expected this anyway), the view from the room of Hallgrimskirkja was fantastic and we always managed to find a parking spot. We never had to wait for the shared shower or toilets. The buffet breakfast was fantastic. I would recommend this guest house and hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POPEYE12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed for two evenings and this place was perfect for us. Get their 2-bedroom apartment. It has plenty of room for the children and a wide sink for bathing a baby. So close to all the action and there is a little playground on the same street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
#7 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Sunna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Sunna

Property: Guesthouse Sunna
Address: Thorsgata 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Sunna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, family owned guest house in a "country hotel style".Well located in the old city center. Across the street from Hallgrims church and the beautiful sculpture garden of The National Einar Jensson Gallery. The Flybus from Keflavik airport stops right at our doorstep. Only a few minutes walk away from the busy streets with popular cafes and restaurants, good variety of shops, museums and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Sunna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Sunna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing