We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the heart of reykjavik - the big adventage of sunna guesthouse”
Review of Guesthouse Sunna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Sunna
Ranked #5 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

right in the heart of the town, the big advantage for sunna guest house. friendly stuff, clean rooms (this time we were in one of the studios). the enterieur of the studio kitchen is a joke. if you want to cook your own meal pls. bring a lot of things with you. the onlything they have is vine glasses - 6 and only two cupos for tea or coffee.
the breakfast is ok, but for islandic standards evenbelow average. (no fish, no pancakes, very little choice of fruits)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddy2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 498 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place did everything it said on the can
clean room, comfy bed,nice location, good staff, awesome breakfast buffet, what more can you ask for. would highly recommend it.

After a long drive from the North of Iceland we found easy street parking. The check in was super easy and friendly. Our room was massive and clean with a huge window so we could see the sea.
The Breakfast the next morning was outstanding a good choice of bead and meats and 2 attentive staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayakinghobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Guesthouse Sunna for our 1st 2 nights in Iceland. The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Having laundry facilities on site was a bonus. The only negative for me was the size of our bathroom (tiny) but you soon get used to that. We stayed in the corner room on the 1st floor which offered a great view of Hallgrimskirkja.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaThorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Guesthouse Sunna is across from the Hallgrimskirkja Church so you can always find your way back to the hotel no matter where you are in Reykjavik. Minutes walk from the bus station too. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are modest and neat -- most rooms share shower and toilet facilities which are abundant and clean. However, the beds are a little soft for my liking. The breakfast is great and internet connection is good. I would go back the next time I am in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GFP32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Guesthouse is exactly as presented and as reviewed by others. Room was clean and quiet with most adequate shared facilities. Front desk staff were truly excellent and graciously accommodated a very early check in, luggage storage, and access to a light breakfast prior to check in. Location is very convenient. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank StJFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Spent one night here before beginning our tour of Iceland.

Fabulous location right beside Hallgrimskirkja, our room had an amazing view of it from the window.

Breakfast was lovely, served in a nice, light and airy room.

We had shared bathroom, but a sink in our rooms which was really helpful. Rooms are a little small, but always seem to be in Iceland, but beautifully clean and with everything you need

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the church - really beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Spent 2 nights here in late June immediately after arriving in Reykjavík. We arrived before our room was ready, but they let us store our luggage in a locked room downstairs. Our room had twin beds and a kitchenette. The blinds kept the room relatively dark despite the midnight sun, but I still found it necessary to use eyeshades due to light seeping in around the window edges.

Overall, we were very happy with the guesthouse, the friendly and helpful staff, our room and the breakfast buffet. The location can't be beat: right near Hallgrímskirkja and an easy walk to downtown. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,106 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#24 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,933 reviews
Blue House
#10 of 109 in Reykjavik
304 reviews
Miõborg
Castle House Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Sunna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Sunna

Address: Thorsgata 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $129 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Sunna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, family owned guest house in a "country hotel style".Well located in the old city center. Across the street from Hallgrims church and the beautiful sculpture garden of The National Einar Jensson Gallery. The Flybus from Keflavik airport stops right at our doorstep. Only a few minutes walk away from the busy streets with popular cafes and restaurants, good variety of shops, museums and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guesthouse Sunna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Sunna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing