We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, very helpful staff”
Review of Guesthouse Sunna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guesthouse Sunna
Ranked #6 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, very helpful staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

The Guesthouse is exactly as presented and as reviewed by others. Room was clean and quiet with most adequate shared facilities. Front desk staff were truly excellent and graciously accommodated a very early check in, luggage storage, and access to a light breakfast prior to check in. Location is very convenient. Would certainly stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank StJFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    198
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
64
187
82
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Spent one night here before beginning our tour of Iceland.

Fabulous location right beside Hallgrimskirkja, our room had an amazing view of it from the window.

Breakfast was lovely, served in a nice, light and airy room.

We had shared bathroom, but a sink in our rooms which was really helpful. Rooms are a little small, but always seem to be in Iceland, but beautifully clean and with everything you need

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the church - really beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Spent 2 nights here in late June immediately after arriving in Reykjavík. We arrived before our room was ready, but they let us store our luggage in a locked room downstairs. Our room had twin beds and a kitchenette. The blinds kept the room relatively dark despite the midnight sun, but I still found it necessary to use eyeshades due to light seeping in around the window edges.

Overall, we were very happy with the guesthouse, the friendly and helpful staff, our room and the breakfast buffet. The location can't be beat: right near Hallgrímskirkja and an easy walk to downtown. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a double room with a private bathroom and small balcony in mid-May. We arrived from the airport at 8 AM and were able to get our room that early, plus a delicious breakfast to start our stay. It included delicious home-made breads, cheese, ham, salami, hard-boiled eggs, skyr (like super-smooth yogurt, but actually a cheese), fruit, cereal, juices, coffee, etc. The room was comfortable with enough heat on a cold day. The bathroom was small but serviceable, with a shower and very small sink. The location near Hallgrimskirkja is great - we like to walk and it's helpful to be staying near the tallest reference point. It's easy to walk to shops, restaurants, and museums. The staff were helpful with advice and transportation arrangements.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed in this guesthouse for 3 nights with family friends, it was excellent! very close to the centre of the city. Its a small city so everything is in easy walking distance tho you do need a car for more freedom to see sites outside the town like gulfoss waterfall etc. the staff in reception were very pleasant and helpfull. We stayed in one of the apartments and it was perfect had all the facilities needed and free wifi. the whole place was very clean and there was a good breakfast in the morning with lots of fruit bread cheeses hams and yogarts. ! genuinly couldnt find fault with this accomidation!

Room Tip: The apartments are excellent... there were four of us but it would easily sleep 6 and the car park w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinchick91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

As people have said before, great location, clean, quiet. I would definitely recommend for your stay in Reykjavik.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cclemens31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Guesthouse Sunna 3 nights out of 11 in Iceland and had a wonderful experience! The staff was kind, helpful, and efficient. They helped us to arrange trips on the Flybus and gave us unique tips about the city. The rooms are clean, warm, and comfortable. The water was hot which is a very good thing after a cold romp around the City. We chose to stay in a double room with shared bath and were not disappointed. We had a beautiful view of Hallgrímskirkja from our window. The best part of the stay was the location. Located within easy walking distance of downtown, you have access to all of the local sites and can participate happily in the infamous runtur without having to be woken by those still partying on the streets early in the morning. Another wonderful benefit of Sunna was the homeade bread for breakfast complimented by strong coffee, fruits, cheeses, yogurt, and meats. We were full for the entire day! The staff even arranged an early breakfast for us when we had to catch a morning flight. We will happily return!

Room Tip: If you're on a budget, go for the shared bath. We never had to wait in a line for the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chichoryhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
442 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Sunna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Sunna

Property: Guesthouse Sunna
Address: Thorsgata 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Sunna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, family owned guest house in a "country hotel style".Well located in the old city center. Across the street from Hallgrims church and the beautiful sculpture garden of The National Einar Jensson Gallery. The Flybus from Keflavik airport stops right at our doorstep. Only a few minutes walk away from the busy streets with popular cafes and restaurants, good variety of shops, museums and art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Guesthouse Sunna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Sunna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing