We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Home Luxury Apartments
Ranked #77 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I thought that the Home Apartments were great. The beds were soooo comfy, we had a lovely kitchen, bathroom and spacious loune with a huge TV and we were right in the middle of town. The location couldn't have been better. There were 4 of us and we got upgraded to a bigger apartment for free!

The owner was lovely, really helpful in giving us advice on good local bars and restaurants.

I would highly recommend staying at Home Apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pippaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 64 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2008

Since I don't live in Reykjavik location is essential for me when I visit the city. That's where Home Apartments comes in, since it's location couldn't be better, at least not for the ones that prefer the city center.
The studios give you a home away from home feeling. It's not the typical hotel-hassle and you rarely meet or even notice the other guests.
Although Home doesn't offer breakfast, room service or carry a mini-bar, it's something I'm ready to forgive - who needs a beer for $10 from the mini-bar anyway? ;)

So without hesitation I recommend this place,
Lei5ure.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lei5ure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We arrived at Home to find that they had overbooked the apartments and that we could not stay there. We were taken round the corner (literally) to an apartment on Bankastraeti (owned by the same people as Home), and apart from the fact it was not quite finished, the apartment could not have been furnished to a higher standard. Whilst the owners were putting the finishing touches to the apartment, they treated us to a free meal at the bar/restaurant opposite and brought us a bottle of Moet later that evening, which was very nice of them. The apartment had a five-ring cooker, american-style fridge, huge tv, tempur mattress in the bedroom and very stylish furnishings and artworks. I thoroughly recommend staying there and both of us had a fantastic time.

As for Home, I recommend asking any taxi/bus driver to take you to 'government house' as it is very close to skolastraeti (skolastraeti is a very small one-way street and drivers simply do not know where it is even though it is right in the middle of town). Alternatively, ask for Bankastraeti as Skolastraeti leads off this main street. I also recommend the brand new 'restaurant O' (the old Siggi Hall) in the Hotel Odinsve. The food was amazing although not cheap by any means - 3 courses each with coffee and one bottle of Cloudy Bay came to £170.

I also thoroughly recommend the Gullfoss and Geysir tour run by Iceland Excursions - Reykjavik is fantastic but it's great to get out and see some of the natural sights Iceland is famous for.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Peterborough_UKSianB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We just got married in July and w had heard of Home sometime before so we decided to book a studio for 2 nights after our wedding. We had contacted the good people at Home to inform them of our arrival time (wich was pretty late). When we finally got there they had a person waiting for us at the building, welcoming us into the beutiful studioi which had fresh flowers and a complimentary champagne for us. The check-in was quick and any help we needed was just a phonecall away.

The studio was very nice and had everything we needed, free local calls, cable TV & WIFI Internet (which we didn't use (obviously!)). We just loved the bed. It had the most comfortable mattress we had ever slept on. The floor beneath the matress was also very cool, it's made of small smooth stones, bound together with somekind of resin or glue. It feels funny in a good way without your shoes on:) The sofa was awesome, the way it pulls out so we could both lie in there comfortably with lots of space to spare.

We must admit that we could hear walking from the floor above. but what else can you expect from a 100 year old building? It really didn't bother us.

The service was great! No housekeeping barging in on you at the break of dawn. We got all the privacy we could possibly ask for. When we needed something like fresh towels (on our second day) we just asked for them and they were brought immediately. The staff at Home were also very helpful. They helped us book a restaurant on our second day which they recommended and it was perfect.

The location of Home is perfect, maybe a little hard to find at first. It's right in the middle of Reykjavik's city center, close to everything. Although it didn't matter since we stayed in the apartment most of the time.

Great place, would definately come back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank fm101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

My friends and I stayed at Home for a few days, namely during their Independance weekend. Needless to say, Reykjavik's reputation as the Ibiza of Scandanavia proved itself to be true, especially during this stretch of weekend. Anyone going to Reykjavik should do their research and expect the city to party (truly until 8-9am on Fridays and Saturdays) --- a quiet small town it is not.
My friends and I found Home to be particularly homey, for lack of a better word. However there were some rough patches during our stay that the owner and manager tried to compensate to make sure our stay there was pleasurable.
For anyone who has stayed in apartments or hotels in Europe, rooms tend to be smaller than American counterparts. Pictures, whether they're on the web or otherwise always tend to make rooms, spaces larger than original scale (thats their job, how else would hotels get booked?).
We were a group of 6 and stayed in 2 adjoining apartments. While space was small, it was by no means uncomfortable. Our apartments had dishes, pots, pans, utensils, cleaning materials, even food in the cabinets (oils, seasoning, foil, plastic cling and the like) which we weren't expecting. Decor was very Scandanavian modern, minimalist which was nice. Loved the artwork and as a previous commentor wrote, the pebbles on the floor. The owner and manager provided towels, rags etc whenever we asked for them. They were always on-call and available if anything came up (for example our keys didn't work the 3 rd day we were there and he came by with a new set within 10 min).
Home's location is key. It's in the middle of everything -- restaurants, bars, clubs, the docks, shops, taxi stops, etc. Couldn't have asked for a more central location.
Overall, I give Home a fair review. It's not the Four Seasons but it's not like staying in a favela either.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank NYCdiva1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

What you see on the internet is almost solely the penthouse. These apartments are VERY small, the ceilings have no insulation, and the surrounding immediate area IS tacky. Yes they are not typical hotel furnishings, but Ikea design is more interesting. The owner makes friends with people and this is likely why people do not rate it more poorly, but if you read the reviews you will see what is wrong here as it is echoed in many. Please understand that I was not expecting paradise, but I did expect a bed (barely) a reasonable bathroom (not at all), a kitchen (marginal), and the ability to have rudimentary living space (not hardly).

The owner tried to construct a business without the acumen or skills needed to manage such a venture. He needs professional help. This costs much more than far nicer places. The worst aspect is having loud parties replete with some profanity, alcohol and noise right over your bed all night, and a proprietor who takes no action. He sent my husband up the outdoor stairs at night to ask them to be quiet. The party was too rough for us to get any sleep at all. Also if you do not mind essentially sleeping on the floor and having a hard time getting up, albeit on a very comfortable mattress, and eating from a barely functional table, go ahead, but this is such a lovely city you can do better for far less. (If you do decide to go, take a bar of soap, and ask for directions in advance). There is no microvave, no kitchen towels or anything to wash dishes, minimal dishware, no can opener..etc, etc, etc. There is so much overlooked. The sound system is a tiny single CD unit ont he windowsill, albeit with Bose speakers.

While the area is potentially nice, this alley is a grimey and proximal to a noisy street not too bad if you can keep your windows closed). There is a tiny market in the parking space on weekends. It may have been the only really redeeming feature. The owner makes promises he does not keep and seems to appeal to people's emotions to overlook the serious problems here. While he apologized, he would not remit any of our payment but said he would give us a free stay our next trip (pay for a dinner, a glacier trip, etc)---how bizarre----the cost here is more than double some much nicer places, also listed on Trip Advisor, more highly rated also. We did go look at other places, and realized we had been seduced by the misrepresentation posted by Home at Trip Advisor and elsewhere. I

t is not a good place for children at all and I would question safety if above the first floor. Adults adults over 40 are probably used to something nices, esp for the money. People who cannot climb outside stairs, should not even consider this.

What you see on the ad is the penthouse--and the rest of the house is nothing like the penthouse. It is somewhat dishonest, and fairly sad when the potential for better is there. They appear to be redoing the house next door for something similar, so beware! This place cannot last without better management and probably much lower prices. Don't get seduced and ripped off like we were. I wanted so much to like this place that I stayed the week, but I would not want anyone else to have this experience. Iceland is far to beautiful to spoil it at all!



  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Beecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

Iceland is very expensive and when we arrived they had cooking spices in our cabinets, flatware, cooking utensils, plastic wrap, popcicles in the freezer, etc. Then along with food in our kitchen (in Iceland you need a kitchen - three chicken breasts cost 20 dollars) - simply having a kitchen for the price was great. Then the decor is true Scandinavian - a real eye treat. My husband and I loved the stone pebbles that were laminated under our bed. Nice touch. Then you can't get a better location - it is in the HEART of the city. Plus the owner and his fellow lad are very nice, and they leave you alone and happily bring you whatever you need when you ask for it - from towels to dish rags.


  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank v21988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
407 reviews
Miõborg
101 hotel
101 hotel
#45 of 54 in Reykjavik
485 reviews
Apartment K
#17 of 108 in Reykjavik
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
101 Down Town Guesthouse
#73 of 107 in Reykjavik
3 reviews
Miõborg
Ice Apartments Reykjavik
Ice Apartments Reykjavik
#7 of 108 in Reykjavik
57 reviews
Miõborg
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#1 of 108 in Reykjavik
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Luxury Apartments

Address: Skolastraeti 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $177 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Home Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Luxury Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing