We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask yourself, what do you really need? Then stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stay Bolholt Apartments
Ranked #31 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We've just returned from a five night stay at the Bolholt Apartments and already know we'll return. We had room 1, and while it didn't have the best view available, it was scrupulously clean, spacious, quiet and was both comfortable and well-equipped. The staff were unobtrusive (we prefer that), yet that didn't mean they did nothing as it was apparent they did a good job. Checking in was very easy, the email received before we travelled had all the information we needed, so all we had to do was key in the provided door code and pick up our key from the reception desk. The apartments are a bit of a walk into town, but it's not a bad walk and only takes around fifteen minutes. We'd hired a car for our stay however, our intention being to tour the major scenic attractions (and they are truly fantastic), so with safe, free parking right outside the Bolholt and quick, easy routes out of Reyjavik the apartments proved to be perfectly situated. Naturally before we'd left for Iceland we'd done some research into our itinerary, and while this paid off, we found that we could easily have done it during our stay through using a combination of the excellent wi-fi signal and the tour brochures available at reception. As for traveller tips: 1) the nearest local supermarket is only about three hundred metres away (turn left as you exit the Bolholt, then it's on a road to the right across the dual carriageway), is reasonably well stocked and is open until late every day. 2) Do check out the prices of the tour services and the attractions you wish to visit before you travel - we did this and found that the combined costs for the two of us made it more economical to hire a car, the obvious benefits being that we had more time at the locations, had more route flexibility and weren't tied to any schedule. 3) Lastly, don't be put off by the sulphur smell of the water from the tap, you do get used to it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zzippyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 164 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just returned from a 6 night stay at the Bolholt Apartments. The building is about 20 minutes from the center of town, but it was a nice walk, and we also had a car which made it easy to get around. Free parking, easy access to roads leading out of town, and gas stations and groceries very close by. The apartment itself was perfect. Clean, simple, with a kitchen and bathroom that had just enough appliances and amenities to meet all of our needs and free WiFi.

We did not need to contact any staff during our stay. The lack of onsite staff was only a problem in one area: while the neighborhood the building is in is very quiet, the other guests, including a number of families with rowdy children, were extremely loud. There is a communal room at one end of the hall with a pool table and the noise was so loud, early in the morning, late at night, and at all times in between, that I considered "borrowing" the pool balls...If there had been a front desk to contact I would have called and asked them to make the other guests quiet down. There are also offices on the floor above, apparently with wood floors, so during the week there was no sleeping in as office workers in high heels began clacking around at about 8am. With a good supply of ear plugs we would happily stay at Bolholt again.

Room Tip: As far away from the communal room as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed 10 days at the Bolholt in a studio apartment. The room was very clean and simply appointed. The bathroom is small, but great water pressure in the shower. We only used the fridge and microwave, but there was also a toaster, tea kettle, coffee maker and hot plate. Two towels and a bath mat were provided and changed every other day. I wish there had been an extra towel at times, but perhaps had I bothered to ask, they would've provided one. I had no need to contact any staff during our stay and would stay here again. The location was fine. It was quiet and only a 10-15 minute walk into the center of Reykjavik. We rented a car and parking was no problem at all. There were great places to run right around the hotel. The hotel is also close to a very nice municipal pool, which I would recommend visiting. It's also a short walk from this hotel to the cute little zoo and the Asmunder Svienson sculpture museum. If you're looking for a super fancy luxurious place to stay, this isn't it. But if you want a clean place that's quiet, convenient and clean, Bolholt fits the bill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Although Bolholt 6 is a 15-20 minute walk from the centre, we found this to be only slightly inconvenient on the odd occasion when it would have been nice to just nip back into the centre....but on the other hand, this is much quieter than the centre. Also, you need to bear in mind that tour operators and the airport bus service will pick you up and drop you off at the door! Iceland seems to really have this sussed! The concept of having no reception works well, we found. We arrived hours before check in time...we rang up and were told that we could either leave our bags in a luggage room or wait 40 minutes for our room to be cleaned. We chose the latter and were very pleased with the arrangement. Our room, for 3 people, was large, clean and well provided with towels and bedding. We were very comfortable there for 4 nights. The building is safe and secure with good (free) wifi connection. One thing you need to be aware of (and this may have been mentioned by others on this site) is that hot water in Iceland comes from geothermal sources and thus (everywhere in Iceland) smells of sulphur. If you are not aware of this you may think that something is wrong with the drainage...it is quite normal and you get used to it. The water in Iceland is of VERY high quality and cold water does not smell of sulphur!
If, after a long day, you don't feel like travelling far for food, then you can either cater for yourself in the perfectly adequate kitchen in your room....or go to The Red Chili restaurant a very short walk away, where a variety of interesting dishes are available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I came to the apartment with low expectation since the price was quite low for Iceland. But it was a nice surprise. The location is good, not close to city center but it's easy to get out of Reykjavik if you use the city as the base. Reykjavik is a small city anyway so it takes 10 min to walk to city center.

The service is minimum so they can keep the price low. Everything is self service. The owner gave clear instruction and tips so it was easy check in and check out. The apartment itself is in good condition. They still clean up the place and change towels. The view from the apartment is great especially if it's sunny day.

I would definitely go back to Iceland and this place would definitely be my first option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February. Check in - a bit of a challenge as no-one answered phone to see if we could leave luggage, other guests directed to go elsewhere as double booked.
Room was ready at 2pm (just!). Apartment clean reasonably well equipped. Towels changed, rubbish emptied.
Could do with a normal table and chairs as bar stool perches not good for older guests.
Apartment was warm (too warm).
Somewhere to hang wet clothes (we went out a lot in the rain!) and a door on the corridor between our apartment and the pool table would have helped cut down the noise.
Good value if not particularly attractive, scenic or central...

Room Tip: Apartment 14 is next to the pool table which got noisy at night and Apartment 1 has the rubbish bins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBleislager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Brim Hotel RCH
#36 of 109 in Reykjavik
141 reviews
Háaleiti
Atlantic Apartments & Rooms
Atlantic Apartments & Rooms
#77 of 109 in Reykjavik
76 reviews
Blue House
#10 of 109 in Reykjavik
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
OK Hotel
OK Hotel
#21 of 109 in Reykjavik
378 reviews
Einholt Apartments
#34 of 110 in Reykjavik
380 reviews
Fitjar Guesthouse
#20 of 109 in Reykjavik
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Bolholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Bolholt Apartments

Address: Bolholt 6, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $108 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stay Bolholt Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bolholt Apartments. Bolholt is a modern and spacious apartment hotel in Reykjavik city center. Bolholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveler wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. BOLHOLT is a modern apartment hotel offering 13 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering studio apartments on the 4th floor. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost nonexistent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Towels and bed linen are provided. Non-smoking apartments only. Free wireless internet is in all apartments. Lounge room with sofas, pool table and a computer with internet access. Free telephone in the lobby for domestic calls. Free parking spaces. Ideal for long or short stays. From the north side of Bolholt there is a magnificent view of the bay and our beautiful Esja Mountain. After booking we will send you a confirmation email with all necessary information on how to get here and how to check in after hours. It also includes other useful information. Bolholt Apartments have 7 double studios with either a twin bed and 6 family studios with two twin beds and a sofa bed for two. Possibility of an extra role-in-bed for the fifth person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stay Bolholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolholt Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing