We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stay Bolholt Apartments
Nearby Hotels
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel(Reykjavik)
$228
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$267
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$203
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$225
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$261
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$329
$291
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$299
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$567
$497
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveler rating
59
60
30
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
60
30
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrelaundry roomsmall kitchenmicrowave ovenkringlan mallclean towelslocal supermarkettwin bedsfree wifihire carworked finepots and pansquiet areaother guestsself cateringhome from homeyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 166 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We arrived at about 3 am. After calling from the entrance there was a buzz and the door opened. We took the elevator and arrived at the place, the key was waiting on the counter.
The room, rather than apartment, was basically furnished but there was everything we needed, includes groceries for breakfast in the fridge. We had a rental car so we did not care too much about the distance from the city center, but parking nearby was always available.
The place is not expensive and gives a reasonable value for money we paid. No complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

After extensive research, we decide to book bolholt apartment in Reykjavik as there is a kitchen for cooking and affordable. We arrived at bolholt at about 11am and the receptionist was there preparing the check in cards and keys. So we received our keys from the receptionist instead. Other than that, i see that they will prepare a card with your name on it and place the keys on this card. You just have to pick up the key, look for your room number written on the card.

Bolholt apartment is actually located in an office building. The room was really clean,spacious and well equipped. Ironing equipment is also provided. There is also free use of the washing machine and dryer. Simply had everything that we need for our 1 week stay.

Our room was briefly cleaned on alternate days and clean towels were placed on our bed. There is a 24 hours supermarket just 2 roads across at Lagmuli road near hilton. There is a petrol kiosk for quick grabs right in front of the apartment building. The only down side is the distance from the city centre. It is a 30mins stroll from bolholt to city centre and if you have a partner who is reluctant to walk, i suggest you book einholt instead. Flybus takes you all the way to Bolholt/Einholt which is very convenient.

The main door that enters the building is locked after 8pm everyday (if i remember correctly)and on weekends its locked totally. The key to your room has another key attached to the keyring which allows you to open the main door if you forget the pincode.

We had no problems making payments too. As most of the time we were out most of the time, it was hard for us to arrange a time to meet up to make a payment, therefore we used some papers and fold it into envelop, put the exact amount for the payment and drop it into the key drop box. After that we left a note on the reception table. Seems to work well and bolholt is honest to issue a receipt and left it on the room table.

As the place has no permanent staffs working there, by leaving a note on the reception table seems to be a good idea if you need anything or any service.

Remember to ask for the main door pincode if you choose to stay here. I hope i had provided more info of Bolholt and give accomodation searchers a clearer picture.

We had backpacked to many places and we can say this is one of the better places that we had stayed

Room Tip: Remember to ask for the pincode to the main door as it will be locked from 8pm to about 6am and in weekend.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I wanted to stay at a nice flat/room not that far away from the centre...Having a kitchen was a must...And of course - we didn't want to spend a fortune. So Bolholt was the right choice - 65€ per night, no breakfast included, no top central location and no reception desk. But the most important - was in a safe area(well, Reykjavik is QUITE safe in general), 2 steps away from a bus stop, restaurant, gas station...And for those who enjoy walking (more than 1-2km) was an easy walk to the central part of the town. The room was a large one - it did have IKEA furniture and decoration but that doesn't mean bad quality. It was functional - it had 2 electric hobs, fridge, microwave, small electric water boiler, toaster ...plates, cups, glasses..anything you would need in a kitchen. The bathroom was supplied with enough soap and toilet paper. We had also spare towels because they are changing them every other day. As a bonus we found instant coffee, sugar and salt in the kitchen. I didn't like the fact that we weren't able to open the window except for the top part - it was quite hot while we were there and we could use more air inside the room. If you're looking for a comfy place (not a luxurious one) - go to Bolholt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToTravelIsToBreathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This aparthotel had been done up around five years ago and the contents were cheap from Ikea then. So as you can imagine things were a bit worn at the edges. It was basically clean and we had clean towels every two days. The bathroom was basic to say the least and the silicone sealant had traces of mould on it. In fact the bathroom looked like it needed a really good clean with bleach to get the black out from between the tiles. Two light bulbs were not working when we arrived but the staff were very helpful and replaced them immediately when we asked. Staff are not on duty in evenings or at weekends so if you are arriving at weekends you need a passcode for the front door as you don't get your key until you've 'checked in'. This btw, only involves picking up a key with your name on it in an empty reception. This is very much a 'do-it-yourself' hotel through and through, and for only £44 per night per person I'm not surprised. We took the laptop and enjoyed the free wireless internet which was patchy but ok. The kitchenette is basic as you would expect with two rings and a microwave. Totally enough for brekky and occasional meals. Centrally situated with plenty of free parking for the hire car, its good value for money as long as you dont want pampering.

Room Tip: Get passcode for front door if arriving at weekend
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenblackrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Bolholt Apartments in Reykjavik are simply wonderful! Our room had a mini kitchen, complete with small fridge [which the staff kept stocked with whole grain bread, ham lunch meat, cheese, apple juice, orange juice and milk], sink and cooking utensils. The view from our room was BREATHTAKING! During the day we could look out the window and see the gorgeous mountains. At night, we were elated to see the Imagine Light Tower created by Yoko in rememberance of John lit [October-November only]. Anytime I return to Reykjavik, Bolholt is my preferred place to stay! Please note, there is no pool/spa or restaurant, but Bolholt is conveniently located within five minutes of downtown Reykjavik, and a bite to eat is right around the corner!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maschalismos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews