We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Reykjavik Harbour Apartments
Ranked #38 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Co Down
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant apartment”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in this apartment for two nights in April. The communication before we left was extremely good answering some questions I had. The apartment is in a great location, within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants and also the waterfront and the Harpa building.
The apartment was spotless well appointed. Great place to stay with family, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank quilter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We looked on line for some time before we found this property. It fit our price range and met all our expectations.

We hired a transfer service which dropped us off out front of the hotel and picked us up when leaving. A young personable man met us on the street and showed us inside the building. He left us keys, a cell phone to use while in Iceland. He also showed us around the apartment and explained how things worked. Both bedrooms were comfortable and functional. There was one bathroom which was very well equipped with hair dryer, soap, towels and even a towel warmer on the wall. Nice touch. The shower was different from what we know but we really liked it. The kitchen was modern and equipped with everything you could need. There was even milk and water in the fridge.

The neighbourhood was safe to venture forth and explore. We found a rustic fish café nearby and really enjoyed the casual atmosphere and the fish and chips. The next night we went across the street to a more upscale establishment and a wonderful, but still casual classy dinner..

Our stay was short as we were only passing through from Europe. However we would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank sunluverOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent apartment easily accessible with parking right outside. We only stayed here one night after a longer stay further away and this was the night before flying back home. However we would certainly stay here again for longer, as it was such a nice apartment and we were well looked after, with lots of extra touches such as a local mobile phone to use.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CORNISHGIRLXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This apartment has everything you could need for a comfortable stay in Reykjavik. Fridjon and his family have put a great deal of effort into covering your every need.
It is the little extras that make all the difference, there was a large bag of ground coffee, (enough to last our 10 day stay) a slection of tea bags, milk and water in the fridge, which meant we could relax and have a cuppa on arrival. The kitchen has a 5 ring gas hob, oven grill, microwave, large fridge freezer, dishwasher (including tablets), kettle, coffee maker, toaster, and every utensil you can think of, ideal if you intend to save money by cooking meals instead of eating out (as we did). Everything in the apartment is high quality.
The geothermal (wet room) shower is amazing, probably the best shower I have used.
There is a large balcony with a table and chairs, and the whole back of the apartment is wall to floor window/door making it very light and open, the view from the bedroom window is great, you can see across the bay to the snow capped mountains in the distance, and great for people watching, and checking out the goings on in the harbour.
You get fluffy white dressing gowns and slippers along with your clean towels, and there is nice selection of washing gear, shampoo, etc.
The apartment is pretty high tech, with various switches around the apartment for controlling the lighting and a video intercom system, some people have previously commented on the lighting being confusing, but Fridjon has now simplified this by writing which switches do what in english, so he obviously takes note of any comments on tripadvisor.
The apartment location is great, close the harbour, the main shopping street, and loads of bars and restaurants and a car park across the road.
Also I forgot to mention, as there was nobody staying at the apartment the night before we arrived, Fridjon let us have the apartment early (10:30am) it was like having an extra days holiday, cheers Fridjon. This really is a perfect apartment.
P.S. Iceland is amazing and we will be back! (see my other reviews on Iceland)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DERWYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We booked this apartment based on the Trip Advisor rating and it did not disappoint! The location was perfect for dining, shopping, touring, and the price was right. It's very spacious and all the appliances are top notch. Fridjon and his Mother were friendly and helpful, we hope to return to Reykjavik someday and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure Fridjon knows your arrival time so he can let you into the apartment and show you the amen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Loved this very modern apartment with lots of little extras and great location just around the corner from great dining and shopping. Highlights include everything you need for tea+coffee, a towel warmer in the bathroom, and the local cellphone that was really convenient for setting up tours and making other local arrangements. It's not super convenient to have to meet the owners at a set time for check in, but that inconvenience is worth the great location and value compared to all of the central hotels.

For those with cars, there is a parking lot directly across the street that charges from 10-6 Mon-Sat.

My only complaint is that we had four people stay in the 2-bedroom apartment and didn't realize until we got there that there was only one bathroom. This was a bit of a tight squeeze but doable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annielou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for 3 nights in December and had a brilliant stay. The apartment is modern and clean and in an idea location for exploring the area. It has all of the mod cons and made a lovely base

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine2569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hilda
Hotel Hilda
#41 of 52 in Reykjavik
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
0.2 mi away
Marina Apartments
Marina Apartments
#58 of 107 in Reykjavik
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kerno Apartments
Kerno Apartments
#7 of 107 in Reykjavik
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Planet Apartments
Planet Apartments
#11 of 107 in Reykjavik
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Apartments
Lighthouse Apartments
#41 of 107 in Reykjavik
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Harbour Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Harbour Apartments

Property: Reykjavik Harbour Apartments
Address: Tryggvagata 18A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reykjavik Harbour Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 76 metres from Reykjavik Art Museum and Harbour House, these central apartments come with free Wi-Fi and satellite TV. Guests can enjoy chic modern interiors and touch-screen apartment system controls. Each Reykjavik Harbour apartment features contemporary furnishings, a sleek modern kitchen and a furnished balcony. The living area has a flat-screen TV and all apartments have a stylish tiled bathroom. Free laundry facilities can be found in the building's basement and Icelandic mobile phones can be organised for guest use during each stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Reykjavik Harbour Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing