We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and very helpful staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CenterHotel Plaza
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly and very helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights at CenterHotels Plaza. Our room was spacious on the third floor, bathroom was also large and clean. Bed was very comfortable and I liked the soft pillows. Although our room was facing the noisy square in front of the hotel, it didn't bother us as we slept with ear plugs. Breakfast was yummy, lots of options to choose from, the fresh warm walnut bread was so delicious! Whenever we approached staff, they were extremely helpful. Overall, a good experience and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judit1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    770
    327
    86
    45
See reviews for
208
785
109
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Spent 3 days/nights at this hotel. The rom was spacious and very warm. Bed was soo comfortable as we're the pillows. Tea and coffee facilities available only drawback with that it was powdered milk which I didn't,t like. The staff were courteous and extremely helpful. Overall a very pleasent stay.
The Plazza is close to many amenities. Restaurants, bars and old harbour ( where the whale watching boats are) no car necessary to have a car as everything is on hand at this hotel.

Room Tip: Check online about best time of year to see northern lights and whale watching. As we missed both be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jude123dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

You don't get the room you have booked. There are very small rooms with slope ceilings, you can't stay upright in the middle of the room. Bathroom - out of any standards, the only chance to shave in front of the mirror is if you stay on your knees. I'll never visit it again

Room Tip: No good rooms :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the CenterHotel Plaza during a long weekend exploring Reykjavik and searching for the Northern Lights. Our trip was great, and the hotel was awesome! The front desk staff was very helpful, providing great recommendations for restaurants and must-see sights around town. Our room was a good size, and the water pressure in the shower was the best we've ever experienced anywhere in the world! The daily breakfast spread was very good. The location was awesome, just off the city center and close to shops, restaurants, bars, and my new favorite coffee place (sorry Starbucks) Te & Kaffi -- where gingerbread lattes are available year-round! We won't hesitate to stay at CenterHotel Plaza on our next trip to Iceland!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wv_whitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

What I love about this hotel, is that it is right in the best part of Reykjavik. You're close to great restaurants and bars. You're close to the parliament building and the main square. The shopping area is a 5 minute walk away, and the waterfront is a 5-10 minute walk away.

The hotel itself is modern European, similar to a Novotel. The rooms are small, and the bathroom probably could use some improvement, but I was comfortable there.

You should note that because this is close to the bars and clubs of Reykjavik, I was woken up during the night by exiting bar goers, and skateboarders.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

In the old part of the capital but with bars and restaurants close at hand this makes an excellent place to stay. Be careful not to stay out of town as it is a bit of a walk to most of the points of interst. It was clean, friendly and the breakfast were fantastic. The staff were always willing to help regardless of the request. I would recommend that you pay the extra for a superior room as the standard rooms tend to be at the back of the hotel with a view of brick walls but the superior rooms are on the front overlooking the square.
The only night we had a problem with noise was on the Saturday and we had an early morning flight, so that was not the best.
Highly recommend Iceland, the people and the city.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great hotel for the Iceland tourist. Reception staff could not have been more helpful. Especially Gudrun! Rooms clean and well equipped. Great choice at breakfast. Central location close to shops,bars etc. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#23 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
City Center Hotel
#28 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Property: CenterHotel Plaza
Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing