We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Plaza
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Hotel is modern and quite sparse but it is in a fantastic location, right at the heart of all the bars and restaurants. The rooms are good and very clean. Free internet and extremely helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippa089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    796
    340
    91
    47
See reviews for
220
818
116
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I are just about to finish our week's stay here. The hotel is perfectly placed in Reykjavik's city centre, near to all the shops and restaurants. Our room was at the front on the fifth floor, so we had an excellent view of the square.

Every time we've encountered the hotel's staff, they've been very polite, friendly and helpful. The room is great - very tidy with all the amenities we could have asked for. The breakfast service in the morning's was fantastic with plenty of options including toast, cereal, fruit and fried stuff too! On checking in, we were given a password for the free Wi-Fi provided by the hotel which proved very handy.

The drain in the shower produces an unpleasant smell, but we think this might be a problem with the sewer, rather than anything to do with the hotel. The shower cubicle door also had a tendency to allow water to escape onto the bathroom floor. We were also given two separate beds that were pushed together as opposed to one double bed.

However, apart from these minor issues, we've both been impressed with the hotel and, if we ever return to Reykjavik in the future, we'll definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a bit of noise on Friday nights, make sure you get a room overlooking the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomStapleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights and although it is not the more 'glamorous' hotel I have ever stayed in it was good value for money, quiet, very clean and the staff were helpful. The best thing about it was the location, it was ideal as you can walk everywhere and the tourist info center is next door. I would go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for just one night but wished it could be longer. This was a great hotel from which to explore Reykjavik because you can easily walk to everything from here. The only downside is that the hotel does not have its own parking so you have to park down the street and walk in. We arrived earlier than the check in time but the staff was really accommodating and allowed us to check in early. The breakfast is great (muesli, bread and toppings, bacon, scrambled eggs, fruit, coffee, tea) and there was lots of seating in the dining area. The room was simple but the bed was very comfortable and it met our needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We found the location to be perfect, the rooms cute, the breakfast plentiful and the service good enough. They also have a pretty good happy hour - try the local beer :-) The viking glasses are pretty good. As of right now there is no wine store close by though so get lots of it at the airport unless you want to pay for the super expensive minibar. You might also see some super close airplanes land if you have windows facing the right side - we found that pretty cool and not loud. The only downside to this hotel is the terrible smell from the sick and shower but pretty sure that is how the water smells and not the hotels fault. The water taste great...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We booked a weekend in Reykjavik via Groupon and so had no choice on hotel. Luckily for us it turned out to be fantastic. Very clean, very simple, but ultimately very comfortable. Breakfast great, staff extremely friendly and helpful. All you can ask for at that price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HomeAndAway2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent location, clean and modern hotel. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast is served in the hotel but no other meals. I didn't mind at all, since most of the best restaurants in the city are located within a couple of minutes walk. I especially liked Uno, the Italian restaurant which is located right across from the hotel. Travelling alone, I still felt safe in the city center, and when I needed a taxi, they were waiting right outside the front door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
City Center Hotel
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Property: CenterHotel Plaza
Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing