We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical trendy posh hotel but the staff was flat out second to done! Absolutely fantastic.”
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CenterHotel Plaza
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
atlanta, ga
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Typical trendy posh hotel but the staff was flat out second to done! Absolutely fantastic.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

As far as the hotel, it was a pretty standard trendy hotel. However, what set this hotel apart was the staff. They were fantastic and incredibly helpful. Super kind, thoughtful, considerate, helpful, and willing to solve basically any problem you may have. I can personally vouch for two of the late shift employees as they were the ones I had the most contact with... Indy (nickname) and Elvar. Fantastic people and would be the sole reason I would stay there again. At first, I thought that Icelandic people must just be that nice but then I stayed several days at the Hilton and that staff was a bunch of rude a-holes, which endeared they Plaza to me that much more. Highly recommended by me!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenphorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    836
    355
    97
    49
See reviews for
244
852
121
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had a single room which was small but perfect for me with all things you would expect in a hotel room. Lovely bathroom and amazing shower. Towels could have been a bit bigger (the main bath towel went around my hair but that was about it!) but other than that no problems. Staff were friendly and very helpful pointing out places in the city and giving directions. Hotel is situated in a lovely square with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and about 5 min from the main shopping street and 5 min from the harbor where a lot of tours go from. Breakfast was OK, have had better, have had much worse!! If I was visiting again, which I probably will, I will think about staying here again.

Room Tip: Mine was room 235 - a little noise from the back of a bar outside which was annoying when the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Centrally located in a small square with plenty of restaurants nearby and even a late-night option if you stumble home after a night out. Bars and additional restaurants are just a short walk away. Rooms leave a little something to be desired, but who really travels to see a nice hotel room anyway?

Great staff, bacon at breakfast, awesome location. You can't ask for more, unless the staff handed you bacon upon checking in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The room was very small and cramped with furniture. The breakfast a standard continental breakfast, served in the cellar (don't very nice). Located at the far end of the main street this is a good spot to start exploring from.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mknordstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed two nights Dec. 2012. We booked this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. Check in was smooth. We paid extra for early check in and breakfast, due to early morning arrival. We found the room small, well appointed and comfortable with excellent city views. The location was great with lots of great restaurants, shops, and the harbor within easy walking distance. Desk staff was superb and well informed. They recommended Fish Market for dinner, which was great. The negatives (shower design and night noise from the plaza) did not seriously detract from the overwhelmingly positive features. Great breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WNYgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice now once last year (during Airwaves) and again this year (during December).

Every time I'm impressed with the friendly and helpful concierge. They have often helped me to locate attractions, parking, make calls in the local language ... all sorts of helpfulness.

The rooms are modern, clean and have great showers. The location is brilliant as it's right in the heart of 101 and within walking distance of loads of great bars, shops and attractions. The free WiFi is also a big bonus! The breakfast is of good quality and well stocked.

It's always a pleasure to stop here and my next stay is booked already!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Hodkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in November. Used early check in. Firstly, the shower, hottest water + high pressure, absolutely heavenly.
Room was of a great size. Additionally had an electric kettle in the room with some nescafe and tea. Room had sky lights which was weird because a light was shining in the whole night, but that's ok.
Location was great, right across from tons of food/restaurants and one block from bars and stores. Perfect! All the tours pick up from here. Additionally, it's near the water, the Harpa (short walk).. everything is a short walk away.
Breakfast- included. Hot and tasty. Could get old after a while as it doesn't really change.. eggs, bacon, oatmeal, fruit, toast, coffee/tea/milk/juice, breads and baked goods.
Service- One item I'd like to point out is the friendly and helpful concierge/desk folks there. These people are wonderful. They helped out numerous folks in our group with tours and tour miscommunications. Additionally, they would always be patient in answering our questions and our looking for food suggestions. Lastly, they were knowledgeable about the Northern Lights schedule-- they would know if the tour was going or not going, and would share that information.

I would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
City Center Hotel
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
776 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,671 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#26 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,340 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Property: CenterHotel Plaza
Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing