We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get more central than here”
Review of CenterHotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CenterHotel Plaza
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Washington, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't get more central than here”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We used this hotel as our home base for our excursion trip to Iceland, and it definitely did pretty much what we expected it to do. The hotel is clean, and our junior suite on the 2nd floor of the newer section--while not an actual suite--was comfortable with a perfect view of the plaza in front of the hotel. The staff was courteous if not out-of-ordinary in service, and the breakfast lineup was also pretty decent. We happened to be there over the Easter weekend which is a major holiday in Iceland with everything shut down, so noise was not really an issue over the weekend, though I can see that it could be pretty hard to sleep from it even with their purported "soundproof windows." If location is your priority consideration, we would recommend this place; but don't expect anything more than your usual 3.5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suite doesn't necessarily mean a suite configuration, but just a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faceoff93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    813
    341
    93
    48
See reviews for
230
830
118
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at Plaza for 1 night after staying at the other CenterHotel Kloop for 4 nights. The Plaza hotel is in a fantastic location right in the heart of Reykjavik though the rooms are very quiet and you cannot hear hardly any street noise at all which is great.

We had two rooms booked though strangely even though the hotel knew we were travelling together, they booked us in rooms on completely opposite sides of the hotel - one of the rooms was a newly refurbished room and other one was clearly older than the first and not nearly as nice! That was disappointing though we were only there for 1 night so we put it down to the fact that the hotel wouldn't have cared so much about guests staying only for 1 night.

After having stayed at Kloop, we were looking forward to having a proper shower (at the other hotel when you have a shower, water goes EVERYWHERE - it's uncontrollable and completely ridiculous) but to our dismay, Plaza had the same problem except this time the water spilt out of the bathroom and on to the carpet in the room! I couldn't believe it. I had to stop the shower, roll up a towel and wedge it under the crack of the bathroom door to stop the water from running out. There are no bath mats and the front desk didn't send up more towels even though we requested them in lieu of the ones which we used to stop the water leak.

Breakfast was included in our package and it similar to the other property though on a larger scale. There are breads, cereals, fruit, some hot foods, coffee, tea etc. Nothing fancy but decent enough.

One concern I did have, was that I overheard the reception staff selling a Northern Lights Tour to an American couple, even though there was a zero reading on magnetic storm activity predicted for that night. I was so annoyed that the staff were trying to sell this tour to this couple (if Iceland is like every where else in the world, the staff get a commission from the tour company for every person they send on the tour) that I mentioned to the couple that there was no forecasted storm activity that night and told them about the website to look for the information themselves. Only THEN did the staff member show the American couple the website and admitted that there was no storm activity for that night. They didn't book the tour and thanked me for saving them lots of money which would have ultimately been wasted. I felt that the staff member should have directed the couple to the website or shown them the forecast and given them the information for them to make up their minds. If you are going to Iceland and want to see the Northern Lights then Google one of the forecasting websites yourself and make an informed decision.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Plaza, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear debsopinion,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us at Centerhotel Plaza.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our wonderful location and thank you for choosing Centerhotels chain for your trip to Iceland.
We are very sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your room. We are always looking into ways of improving and providing better service. We apologize sincerely for not providing you with extra towels upon your request.

We are also very sorry that you and the person you were traveling with were located in separate parts of the hotel. We always try to accommodate all requests and would encourage all guests to speak to the Front Desk or the reservations department before arrival with any specific requests.

In regards to the Front Desk staff making a reservation for a Northern Light tour on a day you said would not be likely to produce northern lights. We work with very reputable companies and always assist our guests with travel arrangements. Most companies cancel the trip a few hours before departure if the chances of seeing the beautiful northern light are low, without any charge to the guests. They also offer all their customers to reschedule the trip if they are not able to experience the northern lights during the excursion.
It is never our intend to sell an experience to a guest they will not enjoy. Our staff is happy to recommend a different variety of activities to our guests and are also happy to make any reservations for excursions, car rentals, taxis etc during the stay. I apologize sincerely if that was not your experience with our staff.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We will share it with all our staff.

We hope to welcome you to Iceland and Centerhotels in the future.

Sincerely,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Plus: Great location in a square with bars and restaurants. The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good - lots of choice. WiFi is free and the signal is good.

Minus: we had 5 rooms and only one working TV. Rooms are quite dark. Bed very soft.

Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure the TV works and you get some natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We only stayed at this hotel for 1 night because although in Iceland for 3 nights, our first hotel was fully booked for the 3rd night. Anyway, this hotel is very well located - right in the centre of Reykjavik and next to the tourist information office, which is helpful. The hotel is small, but very clean and modern. However, my main reason for giving it 5 stars is the following. We booked an excursion before we came to Iceland and arranged to be picked up from this hotel at midday. We were told to wait outside hotel or in lobby. As it was a cold, snowy, windy day, we waited in the lobby – from about 11.40 up to 12.30. Finally, we asked the receptionist if we should expect to wait this long to be picked up, and he said no way. He rang the excursion company and they told him that they had come to pick us up but we weren’t there. He responded that this couldn’t be true because he had been behind the reception desk for the last hour and no one came. Also, he could confirm that we had been waiting long before designated time. To cut a long story short, he arranged for us to do the same trip with another company, and sorted out our refund. All without me having to do anything….We were very impressed, he was very helpful (didn’t get his name!). So I would recommend this hotel – they looked after us!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I had asked for a new room and was assured that the one I was assigned was new. However, when we finally got to check in, I found that it was not new at all. I was too tired to care though so never asked to change.

The room was small but that's to be expected. My window faced the other wall of windows of the hotel so no view at all. The TV didn't work and the wireless was down two out of the seven nights I was there.

The bathroom was ridiculously small though. I could barely get the shower door closed and when I did, it still didn't touch the floor so water got all over the bathroom. The bathroom was also incredibly cold. Because my bathroom door made a right angle with the front door, you couldn't keep it open to get rid of the sulfur smell and it was very hard to get in and out of.

The staff here was friendly and very helpful when it came to booking/changing tours. However, one of my travel buddies had the lightbulb over his bed go out one day and after three days of asking them to change it, he finally just asked for the lightbulb and did it himself. I felt like a lot of times they were helpful but certainly not proactive.

However, all of this said....would I stay here again? Probably because the location just can't be beat. Just steps from convenience stores, restaurants, and the convention center. The place was clean which is always my major concern so...clean + amazing location = less picky about the amenities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotti-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Plaza, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Lotti-Ann,

Thank you very much for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at Centerhotel Plaza. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your room and of course would have loved that you would have shared that with our staff during your stay, in order to perhaps find another room better suiting your needs. We are also sorry that you were not allocated a room in the area that you had requested during reservations.
We will share your comments with our staff and use your valuable feedback to learn from them.

We certainly hope to welcome you back to Centerhotels and Iceland in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or if we can assist with anything at all.

Very best regards,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Centerhotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at CenterHotel Plaza for 5 nights this month. I was quite pleased overall.

The good stuff:

* very clean
* nice front desk staff
* absolutely excellent location for what we wanted to see and do
* free breakfast
* will store your stuff if you get in early
* very comfy beds - I really loved the comforter
* great water pressure on the showers (though at least in our room you have to pull the little ring on the bottom of the faucet to get the shower to start)
* free wifi

The less good stuff:

* 2 pm is check in and if you want to check in early, you have to pay for it
* sometimes it's a bit past 2 when the room is ready
* noise is a factor, especially if your room is right on the plaza like ours was
* the TV is kind of tricky to get to work

Overall, a great place to stay with some minor issues that may not be a problem for everyone. Plus, it's close to Nonni's and that is a very good thing!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessper17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH_channelmanager, Manager at CenterHotel Plaza, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear jessper17,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our staff, breakfast, location and the comfort of your room.

We do charge for the early check in option, however breakfast is included with that price as well and many of our guests really appreciate the option of checking into their room early in the morning. For those who do not wish to check in early, w e happily store their bags in the meantime, so they can start exploring the beautiful city of Reykjavik.

Thank you again and we really hope to welcome you back to Centerhotels and Iceland in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or if we can assist with anything at all.

Sincerely,

Eva Jósteinsdóttir
Director of Operations
Centerhotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hotel is excellently located within easy walking distance to some of the best restaurants Reykjavik can offer. The interior is modern and the staff helpful. At first sight, I was quite pleased with my room. Both the room and bathroom was nice and spacious.

However, the bed was too soft for my liking, the tv did not work, internet was extremely slow and I never managed to get online with my phone.

The bathroom was big, but had a very strange layout. The towl rack was placed directly over the toilet (at headhight...). Using the shower, water floated all over the floor and there was no bath mat.

I was also surprised to find no floor heating under the tiles in the bathroom. Iceland is not the warmest place in the universe, and the tiles were uncomfortably cold.

Breakfast was average, but totally acceptable.

If you only require a central place to sleep and don't mind a cold bathroom, this hotel is totally ok. If you need to work online, I would find another hotel.

It seemed like some of the hotel was being refurbished, so it might be a good idea to ask for a newly decorated room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oslo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
City Center Hotel
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
757 reviews
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,300 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,606 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
448 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Plaza

Property: CenterHotel Plaza
Address: Adalstraeti 4, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 180 well-appointed bedrooms are constantly renovated and boast a bright modern décor with contemporary oak furnishings. Each room has its own free high speed internet connection, as well as free wireless internet throughout the hotel, TV, shower, hairdryer, Tea & Coffee making facilities and much more. CenterHotel Plaza in Iceland provides the comfort and the location to enjoy Iceland to the fullest. Situated in the city center of Reykjavik the Plaza creates the perfect setting for your stay in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing