We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place with amazing location and very friendly host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baldursbra Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good place with amazing location and very friendly host”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed three nights at Baldursbra and we really really liked it. The place is amazing for couples and families, but even for solo travellers who are looking for some relax.
For the price we paid (it was one of cheapest for private rooms in the capital) we were pleased to find a very nice double room with a great view, own sink, a spotless shared bathroom with hair dryer and a respectable breakfast buffet.

The lady that runs the place is very nice and helpful: she welcomed us within minutes and shared some tips and routes to visit the city.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the hot bathtub due to the lack of time, the price to use it is ridiculously low (300 ISK about £2.5 pp)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGirlClaRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    53
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
66
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had an amazing time at Baldursbra Guesthouse, Evelyne and Phillipe, the French couple who own and run it, couldn't have been more helpful and kind, even bringing me a little plate of biscuits when I arrived and mentioned I was hungry! It's located a five minute walk from downtown Reykjavik and in the opposite direction, 5 minutes from the cathedral, so it's in exactly the best location to visit all of Reykjavik centre. Evelyne will also happily provide you with a map so you can navigate and help you book excursions if you want them.

Breakfast was served each day, Continental style, with a wide and delicious range of foods, including Icelandic rye and flat breads, and tea and coffee was complimentary throughout. Evelyne was generous enough to keep breakfast foods out for me when I got up late after a long-running Northern Lights tour.

The rooms were large and warm and comfortable and bathrooms clean and accessible. I had a lovely stay here, and it had the overall feeling of staying with friends of the family, rather than at a hotel, which was a welcome thing for a solo traveller on a very short trip. I can't wait to go back to Iceland and I'll be staying at Baldursbra again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel is in a good position near to the centre of the city (1 street from the central lake) and easily findable once you know where abouts it is.

The room was spacious and warm with sink and wardrobe and a communal bathroom which was always clean.

Breakfast was provided each day and the selection was plenty. The owner even got up at 4am on our last day to make a small spread for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Pros: The room was spacious and clean with fresh towels daily. Breakfast was good, a lot of choice with everything being replaced continuously throughout the breakfast time.

Cons: The hot tub wasn't working the whole time we were there despite being told everyday it would be working tomorrow. Even if it was working you have to pay extra to use it (not a huge amount) and give an hour notice so it can be warmed up. The reason we chose this place was for the hot tub and we assumed it would be on for whenever we wanted to dip in and relax. We were not offered any refund for it being broken which is a shame.

The owner is quite pushy with excursions so they obviously make a commission. For the excursions we did it wasn't more expensive than competitors so it was fine but I would NOT recommend renting a car from them. We did this and were charged extra for petrol after giving it back with a full tank. We were only told about this because she wrote our card details down incorrectly otherwise we would have been charged on our credit card without even being told about it which doesn't seem fair. I think you are better off going with a known brand of rental cars even if it is pricier as you'll pay that amount in the end anyway.

The pillows on the bed were very thin. I actually like a flatter pillow but this was so flat that we both had really bad neck ache by the end of the holiday.

Room Tip: Lyng is apparently the only room with a proper double bed, all the others have twin beds pushed toge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara_darkshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

A continental breakfast is a rare thing in Reykjavik, especially at this price. They provided extra fruit for me, as I'm vegetarian, which is also rare (fruit is all exported so very pricey). The hostess was very helpful arranging transport and day trips on my behalf. Free wifi.

I despair of the reviewer above who complained that there weren't TVs in the rooms.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank djones655321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A small, cosy guesthouse, run by a friendly French couple.
Location: 8 minutes' walk from the BSI bus terminal, where the airport bus drops you; same distance in the other direction to the centre of town.
Rooms: small but comfortable, well-heated, quiet, pleasant, with bathroom nearby.
Common area: comfortable lounge and breakfast room, small garden.
Breakfast buffet: good coffee, juice, meats and cheeses, skyr, cereals, boiled eggs, choice of bread, jam, etc.
Your hosts are a very friendly and helpful French couple. I've stayed here a couple of times, and it would always be my first choice in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnbms162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked it through hostel.bookers and everything worked out fine. Had a room on the third floor and shared a toilet/shower room which was fine. Hot tub was available whenever our 8 yr old wanted to go in it. Great location for restaurants and tourist attractions. Would recommend for well-behaved families or hikers and trekkers. The owners are very pleasant and kind. PS This used to be the youth hostel and I stayed here in 1986!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ps_pause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Igdlo Guesthouse
#17 of 109 in Reykjavik
197 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#6 of 109 in Reykjavik
469 reviews
Miõborg
Grettir Guesthouse
Grettir Guesthouse
#30 of 109 in Reykjavik
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Aurora Guesthouse
Aurora Guesthouse
#29 of 109 in Reykjavik
293 reviews
Miõborg
Konrad's Guesthouse
Konrad's Guesthouse
#39 of 109 in Reykjavik
52 reviews
Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse
#11 of 109 in Reykjavik
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldursbra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldursbra Guesthouse

Property: Baldursbra Guesthouse
Address: Laufasvegur 41, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Baldursbra Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Baldursbra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldursbra Guesthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing