We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for the Price”
Review of Hotel Orkin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Orkin
Ranked #13 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Arlington, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good for the Price”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My family of three stayed in one of the loft suites which was quite nice. This place is set up like a youth hostel, so only twin beds in our rooms. Though we didn't fly all the way to Iceland to watch TV, there were only two or three channels available to watch. This place is in need of renovation as it is very dated, but you get what you pay for. The staff was very helpful and polite. The location was in about 15-20 minutes walking distance from downtown and there is a supermarket (Nóatún) about 5 minutes walk down the street.

The provided breakfast is worth its weight in gold because food is so outrageously expensive in Iceland. I was surprised bell peppers were on the buffet because when we went to the supermarket down the street, they were 999kr each! Even if you decide not to stay at this hotel, do try to pick one that includes breakfast.

If I ever go back to Iceland, I would consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KomaKulshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    105
    37
    7
    4
See reviews for
71
47
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leirvík Færøerne
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

They have very friendly staffs.
This is a small hotel, a bit out of the centre of town, but its warm and friendly and the service is great.
The room was lovely and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annfuglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

having paid less than £25 per person per night we were not sure what to expect given iceland's reputation for being expensive,but were pleasantly surprised by how clean and comfortable the place was.staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble,they even made us sandwiches on our last day as we had early checkout. another nice touch was free coffee and cake available all day!! rooms were spacious and clean,although water from showers had a sulphury odour(understandable given the volcanic nature of the location!)The town centre is 20 mins away'but the sea is just down the road and there is a bus station 2 mins away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We enjoyed staying in this hotel. The breakfast was simple but sufficient, and there were no such thing as charging extra for taking extra loaf of bread as speculated by some of the reviewers. Free coffee and tea, with some desserts available all day as well.
The only downside is the distance of the hotel from city centre. You can reach the city by walking in 30 minutes, bear in mind the weather as well. There is a fast food restaurant just opposite of the hotel, which is very convenient. Most of the tours will also provide free pickup at the hotel.
We left the hotel very early in the morning, but the staff kindly prepared two sandwiched for us before the departure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJ_Lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here back March of this year and I was very impressed from the moment we walked in. The staff greeted us straight away and in perfect English. My Icelandic is not great so being able to have a perfect conversation in English was very nice. The room was lovely and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was also very nice. We only stayed here for one night but I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a small hotel a bit out of the centre of town but its warm and friendly and the service is great. The rooms are very nordic, blond wood and everything you need. It is a quiet location with restaurants and shop nearby. The bonus is the all day free tea and coffee and in the afternoon free cake or biscuits. The staff are very helpful. The buffet breakfast was great and everything was fresh and inviting. There is free computer access, a TV lounge and a large car park. Would stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCATDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the end of July where we booked well in advance with booking.com, so got good rates for Reykavic. We had a family 4 bed room for myself, partner, 16 year old and 9 year old. It was clean with a mezzanine floor where the kids slept. A pair of pillow covers were torn and grotty but that was my only concern. The receptionist was very nice, helpful and friendly. The continental breakfasts were exceptionally good and they put a special breakfast out for us at 6am on our last day as we had to leave before 7.
The hotel's location was a 5 min drive from the city centre and harbour. We had a hire car so it wasn't a problem at all but I'm not sure I'd like to walk it as we ate in town each night. A previous review said it was in an industrial area. I wouldnt say that as it was one block away the Hilton Nordica and other hotels, but it is next to some offices and a row of shops.
We did get a good sunset and just about a sea view each night from the window. See photo. Also, it's only 2 blocks away from a recreation park that has an olympic size swimmining pool, ice rink etc.
It did have a hostel feel to it and as we were out all day exploring the Golden Circle and Whale Watching etc that suited our needs perfectly. If you're looking for a 5 star pamper fest then this is not the hotel for you.
If you're looking for basic clean accomodation for your family to use as a base for your holiday stay in Reykavic and want friendly staff with a jolly good breakfast to set you up for the day, then this ticks all the boxes. We were so happy with the staff we even left a tip and that's a high recommondation from me indeed. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBenn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
924 reviews
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orkin

Property: Hotel Orkin
Address: Brautarholt 29, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orkin 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Orkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing