We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shady Business Practice by Establishment”
Review of Hotel Orkin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Orkin
Ranked #12 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel was priced reasonably, however we were extermely disapointed by the additional amounts charged for breakfast, despite being a Breakfast Included establishment.
The Hotel ended up overcharging us $120/ USD for 3 nights stay, citing that breakfast is included but there is a limit of 2 pieces of bread per person.
Needless to say we were extremely dissapointed. This would have made or break the trip, but our group looked to the positive side and turned a blind eye. If I had to make my reservation again. I would avoid this Guesthouse at ALL COSTS. do not book with this guesthouse as you will be setup for dispare. Hotel has graffi sprayed in large letters the Service level and quality of its employees. Needless to say we were not the only customers dissapointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ASham381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 236 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

A bit old hotel, and the neighborhood was boring. Ok room, definitely nothing fancy. Ok breakfast, but our opinion was that the staff was very friendly. We got to have our gluten free food in the refrigerator, and we heated the gluten free bread in the oven.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sindrefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and were very pleased with our room. The hotel is bright, spacious and attractive. The location isn't perfect, being surrounded by businesses, but it's a reasonable walk from the city centre, and if you get a room on the north side you do have some good views over the car parks and industrial units to the sea and mountains in the distance.
The breakfasts were good. There was a reasonable choice and the quality was good, as was the quantity.
The price wasn't great, but it was the weekend of the national holiday and hotels are not cheap in Reykjavik anyway.
Overall we were very pleased with our choice.

Room Tip: The north side has good views (in the distance anyway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A bunch of us were booked into different rooms for a few nights in this place. We were pleasantly surprised at how clean the accommodations were, and we were especially happy with the buffet style breakfast that was included in the room fees when we booked our respective rooms. If you're going to guesthouses or lower end hotels that include breakfast, you have to be okay with sliced breads, cold cuts, boiled egg, yogurt and cereals. No fancy bacon and eggs.
We enjoyed ourselves until the time for us to checkout, and the owner dinged everybody in our group with fees for 2 extra meals. It turns out they were bitter about us taking more than just one piece of toast, one serving of coffee, etc... but they didn't have any signs anywhere saying the accepted portion of breakfast, nor did they ever ask us to please take only a certain amount of food. Even members of our group who only had a small portion for breakfast were overcharged.
Shady business practices by this place almost ruined the rest of our Iceland trip. Thankfully the other guesthouses we stayed in throughout the island were much more friendly and communicative.
I would recommend avoiding this place altogether. In fact, I heard negative things about other hostels and hotels in Reykjavik from other travellers in our group. Maybe stay one night at the most, unless you're willing to drive to guesthouses on the first day outside of Reykjavik, where free breakfasts and parking are accompanied by a smile and good nature.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Club G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We happened upon Hotel Orkin when we arrived in Iceland in a blizzard. We found the place very clean and accommodating. Prices were quite reasonable, breakfast was a simple but decent continental affair. The staff was very friendly and the recommendation for dinner was quite good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has a kind of hostel feel about it in some respects, and I don't mean that as a criticism. It's very friendly with nice, communal rooms where you can lounge around and chat to the friendly staff and other guests, and there is free tea/coffee and cakes available all the time - the cakes a home made and delicious!

Our room was on two levels with two beds downstairs and three upstairs, very clean and tidy, and I couldn't fault it. The rest of our party had a similar room but with two beds up and two down, and they were equally impressed. Okay, so it's not five star standard, but you're not exactly paying five star prices!

There wasn't a huge selection of food for breakfast, but bearing in mind that my other half is a veggie and I'm not, the selection was more than adequate for our purposes and, as for everything else, we couldn't really fault it.

The location of the hotel is perfect if, like us, you intend hiring a car and getting away early in the morning. It's around 20 minutes walk from the city centre but right on the main road out of town.

If (or rather, when) I return to Reykjavik, I intend to stay at the Hotel Orkin. For the price, it's a wee gem!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McTut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

it is situated in an semi-industrial area full of industries offices. The hotel is quite old and the people is not very pleasant.
I had selected the hotel because of the overviews of the city but my room has only a view over an semi-industrial street.
The breakfast was very simple.
Not good option for us.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Teicoplanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,889 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,165 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 109 in Reykjavik
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orkin

Address: Brautarholt 29, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $135 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orkin 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Orkin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing