We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in Reykjavik”
Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #40 of 107 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Phoenix for five nights and would rate it excellent on all accounts. Rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Breakfasts in the well-appointed and cozy breakfast room gave a great start to each day. The owners had excellent advice about restaurants and tours and made reservations for us. They even started breakfast 1/2 hr. early one day when we had an early morning tour pick up. The hotel is about a 10 min. walk from the middle of the city, closer to the start of shops on the main shopping street, and is in a quiet, convenient neighborhood. If you are arriving on an overnight flight I suggest booking the hotel for the travel day so that you can check in and have breakfast as soon as you arrive rather than waiting until the afternoon check in. It is well worth the cost.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suze87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 83 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for only 3 short days and have no complaints at all I would rate this a 5. It was spotless and breakfast very suffecient for every traveler. Received the best places to eat and to take tours for our short stay. We would stay here again unless they were booked. You couldn't ask for anything more but a longer time. Convient to town and walking distance is great for tours, eating, and shopping.
Thanks for the best place I have ever stayed.
Rose and Val

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet and maintained like new. You won't need anything but your personal items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We're not smokers and are not usually bothered by "no smoking" signs but it's the first time we are threatened of a €500 fine and instant ejection of the hotel.
Also, we booked for a week and decided upon arriving to stay only 5 nights and had to pay for the last two anyway. We found the man we dealt with extremely stiff. Hi level of service but definitely "strictly by the book".
This said, the place is comfortable if a bit cramped and everything is immaculate. Works if you don't mind gilded angels, they're everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polisloutil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

we stayed at this cosy,wonderfull,wellcoming small hotel for 3 nights last July, and enjoyed every aspect of it! Good location, a short walking distance to city center. Impeccable rooms, not very big but decorated beautifully with love and care. Good breakfast with a nice choice of local food. We found our host to be very friendly (not at the beginning!) and full of humour. we found his advice and recomodations to be accurate and very helpfull.
This excellent accomodation, which we stayed at the beginning of our trip to Iceland and at the end of it, had contributed a lot to its success. It is highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Hotel Phoenix is one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed in. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The location was ideal, a short walk into town, but far enough out to be quiet. The advice we received on what to see and do helped us make the best of our short visit to Iceland. The service was wonderful - from turn down service with chocolates to booking tours and restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable, with a sitting area overlooking the garden. If you stay here - ask for advice about what tours to take, where to eat and what attractions to skip - and take the advice! We had a wonderful stay in Iceland thanks to booking at Hotel Phoenix!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jvm0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

There is no lobby in this hotelso weary travelers who are waiting for the room to be cleaned are given no mercy until the 2 p.m. check in. Because of this, upon sleep deprived arrival, I would not stay here and would rather find a hotel with an earlier check in time. To be fair, the hotel was clean if a bit shabby. The breakfast was good. When we return, we will not stay here again but would find somewhere more accomodating to our needs upon arrival from a long flight.. We were just so, so tired and wanted a place to lay our heads and were shown no mercy.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Erlendson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Reykjavik and was easy to find. The airport shuttle does not stop here, just ask for nearest hotel stop and walk 5 min. to the Phoenix. It is a four storey apartment building where the owner, Thon, has made it into this charming petite hotel. There would be maybe, 8-9 rooms with the ground floor given over to reception and breakfast room overlooking private terrace. Thon and his partner look after you like a B&B, serving the coffee to you at breakfast and making sure you have everything you need. For a first time visitor to Iceland, his advice and help on tours, directions, dining suggestions, weather (printed daily on a little stand on your breakfast table - lovely touch), his open and friendly manner, was a delight. Our room was beautifully appointed and comfortable with a window nook large enough for an easy chair, desk and lamp. There was not a speck of dust to be found anywhere, I would have liked to have Thon live at my place! He popped into our room whilst we were out to dinner, turned down the bed, chocolate on the pillow, and a little note with an Icelandic proverb wishing us sweet dreams. All I can say is, 10/10, a real find.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QueenslandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#6 of 54 in Reykjavik
228 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
284 reviews
Opal Apartments
#8 of 108 in Reykjavik
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#5 of 107 in Reykjavik
480 reviews
Heida's Home Center
#18 of 107 in Reykjavik
88 reviews
ION City Hotel
#39 of 107 in Reykjavik
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Address: Laugavegur, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $141 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing