We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The Blu 1919 is easily accessible to just about anywhere you want to go in Reykjavik. Moreover, the service was top-notch, the rooms were spacious, and everything worked the way it should. A number of services that other hotels charge for were provided for free such as the business center and wi-fi. I can also recommend the lamb shank and langostino in the hotel restaurant. My only criticisms: Mini-bar fees were not marked and were exhorbitant even in comparison to other hotels, and I had to wait to check-in (but I did arrive a little early. With those caveats, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would look forward to another stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    575
    175
    57
    35
See reviews for
218
617
52
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We spend 6 nights at this hotel while vacationing in Iceland. The hotel was so kind as to provide us with one of the larger rooms in the category that we ordered, since we were travelling with two small kids. Service is good and exactly as could be expected from a four star hotel. This is also the reason why the hotel does not stand out in any way.
The central location is also a huge advantage for this hotel since you are in walking distance from most sights. We had read on Tripadvisor that it could be noisy during the night since the hotel is located in the city center right in the middle of all the bars with its drunken people enjoying themselves loudly during night, but we were not disturbed by this despite of staying on second floor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flemming_Meineche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our Island round trip. The location is top, walking distance to the center with all kind of bars and restaurants and the information center. We booked through internet and got a rate of EUR 150 which is a very good price for Island. The breakfast buffet was great with all kind of different choices like bread, fruits, cereals, salmon, scrambled eggs, potatoes, mushrooms etc.
The room was very spacious with a big bathroom and a very large shower (you can easily shower in 2!). It is very modern furnished. Free internet is provided in your room too. Would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandylugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We spend a weekned a tthe hotel enjoying the restaurant and bar. the hotel is right in the center of Reykjavik and is within walking distance to dozens of restaurants and bars. It is in a old building but it was transformed into a hotel about 6 years ago. The rooms are different but generally good quality with all the amenitiesa of a 4 star hotel. Service is effecient and professional. Overall a good hotle with great location, ideal for everyone visiting Reykjavik and wanting to experience the life there for a short time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrriBjornsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Over priced, with poor service. We stayed there for few nights last week and wasn't happy. For amost $300 i would expect much better facilities and better service.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice123075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here for one night as a stop over. Very helpful staff who provided us with an upgraded room. The staff also assisted in coordinating an excursion to the Blue Lagoon and our transportation back to the airport. Very spacious room, nice bedding and enormous washroom. Location of hotel was downtown, across the street from the indoor craft market and very near the shopping district. The famous Baejarins Beztu Pylsur hot dog stand is across the street. Only negative is that the buffet breakfast in the hotel was very pricey, equivalent to $22 per person and many of the hot items were luke warm. Skip the breakfast here and go down the street to the Paris cafe or other close by breakfast place. Would love to return to Iceland soon and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le-metro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Very friendly and attentive staff, rooms really great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estiemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,101 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,670 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,647 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Rezidor, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing