We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of it I loved...some, not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed June 26, 2006

Stayed here for a long weekend in the end of June. The staff was nice and accomidating and no problems checking in. I did stay in room 419 (this appeared to be an annex to the hotel) and you don't have windows...you have skylights (not ideal when it is 24 hour daylight). The room appeared to be an attic conversion so the walls sloped making the actual standing area in the room minimal. If you left the skylight open at night, it would create a sound funnel from the streets below where revelers partied the night away...which, being from a big city, didn't kill me.

The restaurant, however, was amazing. I suggest the Icelandic lamb for you meat eaters...fantastic.

The bar there is hip and folks from all around converge for a tipple...good scene.

1  Thank eddietucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2006

We had one problem after another during our 5 night stay, starting with the wrong rooms being provided and having to change 3 times (up to 10pm). We found the rooms not very clean - even crips on the floor - and bed linen not changed in five nights. Hotel is very conveniently located, but is on a pub street, so very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MBerry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2006

Helpful friendly staff, great location, lovely new clean rooms, huge bathroom. We stayed here for 7 nights and on arrival the hotel upgraded us to a bigger room, because they weren't full. I was slightly concerened when booking because 1 reveiw says it was very noisey but I disagree. I live in london, perhaps if you live out of town you might find it noisey but it wasn't a problem for us, big towns are noisey and it was less noisey than the outskirts of london. ! We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but breakfast was lovely and the bar had a great choice of cocktails and friendly staff. Loads of shops, restaurants and tourist stuff close by. I can't fault the 1919 radisson, if you're going to reykevic stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LondonAcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Israel' Tel Aviv
13
Reviewed October 16, 2005

very nice hotel, excellent room , very good location, clean , free internet!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2005

Just opened in June 05> the new hot hip  Radisson1919>[1919.reykjavik.radissonsas] standard delux rooms, junior suites and reg suites> all in sleek black and tea colored decor in the direction of Stark and Schreider hotel designs, clean modernists furniture, furnishings and fabrics. Rooms from 15,500KR- 29,000KR. They have a reasonably priced restaurant producing good dishes and a very filling breakfast buffet for 1500KR. This small hotel is in a great location central to all the night life and shopping nearby.
Our nicely appointed junior suite [extended room with sofa living area+20" flat screen] had great high ceilings, nice drapery and wood floors. If you want a quieter room ask for one on the north side facing the harbour. Stayed Sept 21, 2005. There was some flexibility off rack rates and or upgrades as this was shoulder season. The staff was accomodating and helpful.
Theres a great little fresh fish kabob shack a block north west near the habour tour pier. The Vox Restaurant at the also cool hip Hotel Nordica, has a great set menu for $100/pp.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hc437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2005

Although visually attractive, this new hotel is a real disappointment. Don't expect a good night's sleep. The hotel is situated next to one of Reykjavik's busiest streets and we were kept up right through the night thanks to thumping music from the nearby clubs, the endless stream of cars and the drunken shouts from the street. (Be warned: nightclubs in Reykjavik stay open until 5 or 6 in the morning). The room itself was unbearably hot, but we couldn't open the window because of the din outside. Not that it made much difference. The windows offered no noise insulation whatsoever. When I called reception to complain, and ask for another room, I was simply told that it was a typically busy Saturday night in Reykjavik and there was nothing they could do. Our taxi driver said our story was typical of others he'd heard.
Avoid if you want a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donald71_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Все комнаты прекрасны.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arsentii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc E, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,807 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
413 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $209 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing