We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
101 hotel(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,395)
Filter reviews
1,395 results
Traveler rating
481
616
195
64
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
616
195
64
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamous hot dog standgreat locationa business class roomstreet noisenespresso machinethe hotel staffjunior suitebreakfast buffetcentral locationmini barold harbourconcert hallbars and restaurantsnorthern lightswhale watchingthe heart of the citycomfortable hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
874 - 879 of 1,395 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Myself and my fiance stayed here for 4 nights last April. The entrance to the hotel is lovely, and the room was well sized and very clean. Staff were very helpful. Location is perfect for exploring Reykjavik. We didn't book breakfast but chose to buy it when we got there, and ended up going every morning - great hot and cold buffet. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your positive feedback and writing you review. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay, our Super Buffet Breakfast and the overall service.

I wish you the best and we hoe that we will have the pleasure of your company again.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Palsdottir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

we arrived on the 14th Feb for a long weekend. Reception staff really helpful, and room very comfortable. Breakfast and waiting staff lovely. Only problems - very very noisy outside until 4am on Fri and sat. Housekeeping poor - dirty towels left, no refills of tea or coffee despite a call to ask for some. However - take earplugs and bug reception to sort housekeeping and its a good place to stay for a long weekend. Hotdogs from stall awesome when you get back at 1.30 am after a night chasing the northern lights - and finding them!!!

Room Tip: really not sure - we were on 2nd floor opposite the bank and it was stupidly noisy until 4am both weekend nights
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlb1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest.

First I would like to thank you for póstinn you review.

It it great to see that you enjoyed your stay, the staff and over all the hotel. Unfortunatly our central location does sometimes have it's disadvantages but we do offer earplugs complimentary for those who need.

We welcome all comments and see them as an opportunity to improve in service if needed according with our Yes I can! spirit of service.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Palsdottir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is in fabulous location for exploring Reykjavik. If you are hiring car, the hotel is very easy to find, just follow the 41 from KEF Airport. Once you reach to HARPA Centre, you will see the the hotel on the left hand side. There is plenty of parking opposite the hotel, however there is a daily charge for this, which you pay for at a machine (cash and card)

Check-in was swift, and our room was ready on arrival, however, I wasn't acknowledged as a Club Carlson Silver Member, nor given an upgraded room.

We had a standard room which was perfectly adequate, although the view left a lot to be desired. The room was clean, modern and spacious, the bathroom was very large too.

The room had all the standard amenities you would expect for a Radission BLU, one thing that seemed to be missing was english breakfast tea. Instead there was fruit tea available on the hospitality tray, alongside instant coffee and hot chocolate. Perhaps this was an oversight, however, I’m confident this would’ve been resolved if I had requested it.

Throughout our stay there was problem with the TV service - there were no cable channels. As compensation all guests were given free access to on-demand movies. Whilst we don't watch a lot of TV whilst away, we do at least like to watch the BBC or CNN news, so this was a bit disappointing.

It’s worth noting that the air conditioning was a bit temperamental, we found the room was a bit too warm at times.

Overall, this is a great base for Reykjavik, and wouldn’t hesitate to go back if I ever found myself in Iceland again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest.

It is my pleasure to read your review about your stay with us. Thank you for posting your positive review.

I do want to apologize for the oversight of your Club Carlson status and I urge you to contact me if you will be returning to Reykjavik.

I wish you all the best,
Soffia S. Palsdottir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hello Dear Adventurists,

Today we are here to check out on of Iceland's rough diamonds, it may appear as a great hotel and impeccable but what lies inside is the true gem hidden before your eyes.

Let's start of with the adventure, the lounge is dedicated to the western style of the mid "1800-1900" with a luxurious but small composure and a plentiful atmosphere specially set to intrigue your taste and peak your senses into purchasing a delightful Earl Grey tea, served with delight, you sip through every ounce of it and imagine how you drift away into a land of forgotten beauty.

This is all good and all, until we have breakfast, here they lack in diversity, as it is with launch as well, a fixed menu is not always the best option if you go in another country, because the whole reason is to explore, try out, and experience "new things".
Which back home you either try from time to time or you abstain due to being out of your comfort zone, but on vacation we open the gates of our "taste buds" and find new "favorites" which will become apart of our menus back home.

Alas dinner is here, this time of special and romantic moment is upon us, and we cannot embark on it's love boat without the most grace and care, and Radisson Blue gives you that. If your like me and you like to indulge yourself in a stylish meal followed by the right atmosphere and mood to create the right circumstances for your evening to flourish then you came at the right place.

The down side is of course the lack of variety and diversity but the plus side is a comfortable hotel which offers everything that your "western style" preferences are used to and more.
Just remember two important key factors:
1. Always greet the employees with a smile and a question, they will become personalized to your taste, remember your name, your preferences, it will feel like a second home.

2. Always remember to say thanks, not to the employees, but to the country itself, Iceland is a beauty covered with weeds (the weather and the prices) and if you can removes these weeds you will see the true beauty of this hidden Gem,

Enjoy this adventure,
SG productions

Room Tip: Iceland is blessed with swimming pools, you can find one easily enough throughout all of Reykjavik, entrance fee is about 3 euros, depending on how hard you look, you can find spa and massage all included in the price mentioned above.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syrus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write a review about your stað with us.

I am happy to see that our staff made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed our relaxed atmosphere in our restaurant & lounge.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Palsdottir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

On my return home from Paris, my fiancé and I stopped in Iceland for 2night. We immediately liked the look of this hotel. The staff is soft spoken and helpful. The rooms are large but cozy and despite the cold outdoors, the temperature was always perfect. Breakfast offered a lot of variety and the internet was easy to access. I will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest.

It is my great joy to read your review.

I will be sure to pass this on to our staff as they always do their outmost to provide exceptional service to each guest.

We look forward for your next stay.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews