We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly located, great hotel”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We visited in December and stayed here for 3 nights. The location was perfect with the busy christmas market in the city centre hardly 100-200 metres. The downtown grayline (correct me if I got the company wrong) bus terminal and office is another few metres on the other side and the waterfronts close by. Overall definitely the best place to stay in Reykjavik

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ninad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest.

It is wonderful to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and you had the opportunity to enjoy the advent of Christmas in Reykjavik.

And yes, the name is correct. We are located just few metres from the Grayline bus terminal, also called Iceland Excursions.

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    562
    168
    55
    34
See reviews for
207
607
51
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

good hotel great location. Very close to both centre and old harbour area, great restaurants within 50 metres- very useful if weather is bad. however in Feb 2014 it was great for us. Reception staff very helpful with all requests.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay with us. We have been very fortunate with the weather this winter and specially in February. It is great to see that you had a wonderful experience in Reykjavik and in Iceland.


All the best,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had been concerned about possible noise at the hotel following reviews from other travellers, but it was quiet when we were there. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and generous with their time and recommendations

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Christopher/Ann... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the tima and writing about your great and quiet stay withs us. I am happy to hear that our staff could assist you so well and make your stay even better.

I will forward your wonderful remarks to them.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel was beautiful, roomy and clean. The staff were extremely helpful and the food we ordered from room service was excellent.
It is located a block from the harbour in downtown Reykjavik and everything is within walking distance.
The beds and pillows were really really comforable which is what you need after the the jet-lag and day tours around Iceland.
Our room had a Nespresso machine, thick robes and slippers.
There was also the BEST hotdog stand right across the street which was open all day and well into the night.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor on the soutwest corner and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest.

I am very happy to read your review about your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed the spacious room and the room amenities.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel is perfect for an inexpensive stay right in the heart of Reykjavik.

Plus points:
Great location, around the corner from loads of bars and restaurants and the Grey Line excursion company.
Very modern and well decorated
Very clean, comfortable and great standard of rooms
Friendly, helpful staff

Learning points:
Ask for a room away from the roads - the locals go a bit mad on the weekend nights and they shout, argue and laugh until 6am, not to mention the noisy cars!
We had to ask for further toilet paper, tea bags and shower gel - all of which run out and were not replaced when the room was serviced.
The room was HOT! Despite not having the heating on and we struggled to have the window open due to the noise.
If you organise a trip with Grey Line walk there, do not arrange a pick-up as it's literately 2 minutes away!

All in all I would recommend this hotel to everyone, very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write about your stay with us. I see that you had a wonderful stay and that our service and staff was to your liking.

Our great location sometimes is too close to the fun. I do hope that you enjoyed it´s advantages.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in the Radisson 1919! Wonderful location next to the harbour and very close to the popular shopping street! Check in was smooth and we were given a free upgrade (maybe due to being Carlson club members). Room was very clean and well kitted out, hair dryer, iron and board, tea and coffee. Staff int eh hotel are extremely friendly especially breakfast staff. Breakfast in the hotel is excellent. There is a large choice ranging from cereal and fruit to bread, ham cheeses and sausages and bacon. The beds are so comfortable it makes getting up for breakfast hard. Breakfast is served until 11am on the weekend which is great after a few days of very early mornings we had a lie in without having to worry about missing breakfast. All in all a great hotel, I would recommend staying here and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for room 401. Junior suite with view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurieltd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest.

It is a pleasure to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and specially our Super Buffet Breakfast and our wide selection there. I do hope that you get the chance to stay with us again and enjoy the late Breakfast and comfortable beds.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Palsdottir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The location of the hotel could not be faulted, near the buss drop off, walking distance to scops and harbour. the hotel was clean and modern and surprisingly warm. our room was large with all the space you could want, and the bathroom could have had a double bed in it and still be able to walk round and have a bath. Breakfast pleasant, if a bit pedestrian- fine for a few days but no longer. Hotel food was acceptable if not a bit bland. Bar fine, but expensive so no late night revalties there- but good bars within a few hundred yards of hotel. Only issue i had was noise from outside - others reported it at weekends , but this was a monday- thursday. Surprisingly the hotel is not double glazed and a 24hr hotdog stand is at the front door. Thats my only issue. would i go back - yes. Would i buy earplugs before i go - yes.

Room Tip: just get the ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonBlu1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time and write about your stay with us.

I see that you enjoyed the hotels service, our Super Buffet breakfast and the size of your room.

We are located right in the center of town, with all it´s pros and cons. We do have extra earplugs in the reception, for those who need. Please ask in reception if any problems arise during your stay.

I wish you all the best and please feel free to let me know if you ever have the chance to stay with us again.

Best regards,
Soffia S. Pálsdóttir and the 1919 team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,075 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,605 reviews
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
360 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing