We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Lights Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent four days in this hotel in Reykjavik from boxing day to New Years Eve 2012 with my girlfriend. The hotel was in an excellent central position to explore the town and had a modern minimalist feel about the interior. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were very helpful. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and can only say the breakfast was very good with a big variety on offer from full English to fruit to cereals etc etc.
The only negative thing we could say about our stay at this hotel was the total lack of storage or draw space in the room. The room itself was more than ample in size with television, coffee making facilities etc etc but it had one small wardrobe with about four hangers and that was it. Things were no better in the bathroom, where there was one tiny shelf and a small butler style sink! The result was that during our stay we both left pretty much all our clothes in our suit cases and our toiletries had to be put on the bathroom floor under the sink!
We went to Iceland to see the Northern Lights but it snowed most of the time we were there and so we never actually saw them. Hence we have an excuse to return but for the money we paid and the ridiculously small amount of storage space unless we are in Reykjavik for one night next time we will probably stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your stay. I am very happy to read your great comments about our location, good breakfast and most importantly - our great staff and their Yes I Can attitude!

I also want to thank you for the feedback on the lack of storage space. We have a few rooms which is equipped modestly with regards to storage, and is most suitable for the business traveler. However, based on your feedback we are now looking into equipping these rooms with smart solution storage equipment so our future guests do not experience the same problem.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

The staff and service here are remarkably good. My partner slipped and fractured his skull on Boxing Day 2012. Not only were they genuinely concerned as to his welfare but they were also exceptionally helpful regarding the logistics of our stay. They very kindly allowed me to extend our room stay on a day by day basis despite the fact that it was an extremely busy time of year (New Year goes off - literally!). If we ever find ourselves in Iceland again, the Radisson Blu 1919 will be our first and only choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is so good to learn you are both back home safely, and we all hope your partner is doing well.

Thank you for your kind comments about our team and the service you received during this difficult situation for you.
I am very proud to have such great team working with me, and I will be sure to forward your comments to them.

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Reykjavik in the near future.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in the center of the town - just next to the famous Hot-Dog stand and close to the sea. You can reach any location very quickly. If you take the bus they will bring you directly to the bus and pick you up. We stopped for one night on the way from Europe to the US. Take an early bus if you want to go to the Blue Lagoon, because there are only a few in the afternoon in winter.

Room Tip: Make sure you have curtains during summer as the sun will shine almost through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guntsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.
Our location is as you say excellent, and you can´t be more centrally located in Reykjavik than we are.
For guests who want to go to Blue Lagoon or visit any other sites in Iceland, there is a pickup service directly from the hotel.

During the sunny summer months, one of the main attractions is to see the midnight sun. However, we have complete black out curtains in all our rooms for when you want to have a good night rest.

We look forward to welcome you back to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights over new year and i have to say overall we were very happy. The only complaint we had (2 parties of 2) was no drawer space!!!!
The standard rooms are a bit small but have everything you need and were very clean with good housekeeping.
Breakfast was so much better than expected, very good choice and lovely staff even at early hours.
Staff throughout the hotel were polite, helpful and accessible throughout our stay.
I asked a few questions/requests from reception and was always dealt with politely and efficiently.
We ate in the restaurant once and it was lovely, lobster soup to die for!!
All in all we had a lovely time here and would definately stay again.
Thankyou 1919 x

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saskia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted to read your kind comments about your service experience in our hotel, and will be sure to pass them on to our team members.

I am so sorry for the lack of drawer space in your room. Our rooms are modestly furnished so you will have more space. However, should you need more hangers, drawers etc, we will do our best to accommodate this at your convenience.

I hope we get the oppertunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future!

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is centrally located and the receptionists always were so helpful! The rooms themselves were clean and were cleaned to a high standard everyday . Breakfast was lobely, you should defo stay here if you can!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filiz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review of our hotel. I am truly happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Reykjavik.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A centrally located, first-class hotel and a product of the economic boom that came and went, the 1919 holds a high property standard for the City. Rooms are well appointed, clean and modern. The restaurant is pretty good, the staff there (often non-Icelandic) I have found highly service minded and extremely attentive. The restaurant and bar are not exactly buzzing waterholes however, I would aim for another experience if I had the time and go out to one of the many bars and restaurants nearby. At the 1919, it goes to show that the software must match the hardware. An attractive property is no guarantee for a flawless customer experience. Recently I have noticed alarming ways among reception staff, who are capable of ignoring guests and leaving them abandoned in an unacceptable way for this class of hotel. This may weel be a temporary slip, but perhaps also signs of becoming too content and resting on ones' laurels. We shall se next time, if there is one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morris2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMI1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for this informative review regarding your recent stay with us. It is disapointing to hear your last stay was not with the service standard that we strive to always provide. It would be very helpful for myself and my team if you could provide some detail on the service discrepancies so we can follow up and make sure this does not become something that happens again. My email is: robyn.mitchhell@radissonblu.com
We appreciate your feedback and I hope to hear from you!

Sincerely,
Robyn Phaedra Mitchell
Director of Sales - Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is super central, rght in the town centre, by the square and the marina and not far from the shopping street. Pretty much most of the main sights are within walking distance. It's modern, quite smartly furnished, with large spacious rooms. Bathroom was less spacious and had a shower, not a bath, and was a bit cold too. We were on a mansard room so no view, our windows were skylights. The bed is comfy but the pillow quite the contrary. It's a bit pricey for what it is, we paid around 340€ for three nights with no breakfast, which looked very good but we did not ate here,preferring to go out instead. Service is ok but nothing too special. A bit noisy at night (3am) as locals go out and stay up late, so some noise comes up from the street event on the 4th floor. Wifi is free (unlike other hotels we had looked at) and works well in the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDivingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
Our location is as you say, super central and you are only a short walk away from everything Reykjavik has on offer.
Like most city´s, being situated in the downtown area of Reykjavik we can experience some noise coming from the streets at night. The Icelanders are known for their late night parties and it is an attraction in itself which everyone should experience. However, we do offer earplugs at the reception should there be need for it.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us when your travels brings you back to Reykjavik.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & 1919 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,843 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,152 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
418 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $194 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing