We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly helpful staff in central Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
The North Country
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly helpful staff in central Reykjavik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We're just back from 4 nights here. We had one of their suites on the top floor - a huge room with a seating area and a great bathroom with an enormous two-person whirlpool bath as well as a gigantic shower. The only disappointment was that the only windows were non-opening skylights - would have been great for seeing Northern Lights if there had been any - but we soon adapted to not having a view. Although it was quite expensive, we thought it was very good value for money - about the same price as a shabby cubbyhole in a central London hotel - and it included free wi-fi and a welcome drink on our arrrival.

The hotel is brilliantly located, almost next door to the Iceland Excursions central office, so very convenient for the airport buses and excursions to the Blue Lagoon etc, and in the middle of lots of shops and restaurants whilst being very quiet. It is less than ten minutes walk to the old harbour, one minute to the start of the main shopping street, and one minute to the parliament. We didn't eat at the hotel as there were plenty of interesting places to try nearby, but we had a drink in the bar the first night and although it wasn't particularly atmospheric, it was perfectly comfortable.

The staff were uniformly charming and helpful, going out of their way to check that we knew where we were picking up trips, bringing extra pillows, and reminding us to book the airport bus the day before departure.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suite on the top floor - lovely room apart from lack of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borisdurante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    549
    165
    52
    33
See reviews for
204
591
51
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel - it's smack in the middle of where you want to be. Our room was small though, and only one chair in a double room (!). It altso had less than nice views and a noisy fan outside the window. Nice bathroom, but no floor heating. Had breakfast in the restaurant one morning, which was nice with great service.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is located centrally in Reykjavik in an area of the city with many bars and restaurants making it convenient for eating out or shopping. Our room was clean and nice enough, but was somewhat small and with a bad view. The bathhroom was small and really nothing to brag about and could do with some refurbishing. Breakfast was nice (not included in our rate and cost 2700 ISK per day per person). Free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Jacob,
thank you so much for your review. We do appreciate our guest taking the time to write about their experience with us.
Our location is absolutely one of our strengths, in the heart of Reykjavik with walking distance to shops, restaurants and excursions.
I am sorry you did not enjoy the size of your room, however we do have rooms in all sizes depending on what catagery you book.

I hope we do get the opportunity to see you again on your next travels to Reykjavik.

Best regards,

Frode Jansson & Team 1919
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent three nights at the hotel and found its location excellent to visit the old town and main shopping area. Another plus is that the two best restaurants of Reykjavik are within walking distance - namely Fishmarket Restaurant and Meatmarket Restaurant.
The hotel is clean and comfortable, staff is most helpful and very friendly. One negative remark must be made about the housekeeping - one day our room was not made at all, another day they forgot to replace the amenities. Breakfast buffet is fine and you can order any type of coffee you wish, such as expresso, cappuchino etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
I am very happy you enjoyed your 3 nights with us and you found our location excellent!
To help our guests get off to a good start of the day, we make sure they get their favorite coffee served while having breakfast.

I am truly sorry about your room not being cleaned the one day and that amenities was not replaced. We will take your feedback to hart and do our best this does not happen to our future guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to us when your travels bring you back to Reykjavik.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I really liked the Radisson Hotel in Reykjavik. It is located right at the edge of the city center. We had a spacious room in the upper floor with a view. Everything was very clean and the breakfast was tasty. I really can recommend this hotel a lot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeRieHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
180 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The 1919 is right at the base of the main shopping streets in town and very close to the harbour and tour offices so it's a good starting place for walking trips, local restaurants and driving along the harbour route to get out of town. The decor is modest, as are the room sizes. We were on the fourth floor and had sloping dormer ceilings but they gave the room character. There are new flatscreens, dependable wireless service, in-room safes and comfortable beds. The buffet breakfast in the dining room offers a good variety of well-prepared options. The front-desk staff were very accommodating as well. There are no five-star hotels in the city, but the Radisson offers a clean and well-run experience in a historic building so it delivers good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakesiderToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights B&B in September in a Superior twin room.
Typically with Radisson, you kind of expect to get what you pay for and we did get a nice spacious, minimalist scandivian designed room with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, nice bathroom etc,etc. We stayed in room 322 overlooking Tryggvagata.
If you are a 'light' sleeper (like me) then you probably will not appreciate this Hotel's close proximity to the Reykjavik night club area.
Reykjavik's night life is world renowned and didn't we know it judging by the noise of early-hour revellers and the revving of car engines. Sometime around 4am it started to quieten down a bit !
I suppose 'when in Rome one should do as the Romans do', meaning that we should have been partying...well maybe next time ? I would probably avoid this hotel and area completely around Christmas and New Year (Hogmanay) time unless I take plenty of ear plugs !
On our 2nd night we had to check out very early at 4.15am prior to catching a flight from Keflavik airport. The pre-ordered taxi (driver) was already waiting in the hotel lobby and the hotel provided some fresh fruit, water and cereal bars - an early breakfast. Nice touch.
Like I say, nice hotel...

Room Tip: A difficult one to answer if you are a light sleeper on a Friday or Saturday night. Take ear plugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArcticExplorer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing