We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #30 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights B&B in September in a Superior twin room.
Typically with Radisson, you kind of expect to get what you pay for and we did get a nice spacious, minimalist scandivian designed room with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, nice bathroom etc,etc. We stayed in room 322 overlooking Tryggvagata.
If you are a 'light' sleeper (like me) then you probably will not appreciate this Hotel's close proximity to the Reykjavik night club area.
Reykjavik's night life is world renowned and didn't we know it judging by the noise of early-hour revellers and the revving of car engines. Sometime around 4am it started to quieten down a bit !
I suppose 'when in Rome one should do as the Romans do', meaning that we should have been partying...well maybe next time ? I would probably avoid this hotel and area completely around Christmas and New Year (Hogmanay) time unless I take plenty of ear plugs !
On our 2nd night we had to check out very early at 4.15am prior to catching a flight from Keflavik airport. The pre-ordered taxi (driver) was already waiting in the hotel lobby and the hotel provided some fresh fruit, water and cereal bars - an early breakfast. Nice touch.
Like I say, nice hotel...

Room Tip: A difficult one to answer if you are a light sleeper on a Friday or Saturday night. Take ear plugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcticExplorer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for 4 days and found it a great location for restaurants, shops and catching tours as the Grayline stop is a block away. We had the standard room which has no windows, only sky lights. There were no larger rooms to upgrade to so we had to make do. The most negative thing was the bed. It was ver hard and uncomfortable and we both woke up achy and not well rested. The staff is very helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Francesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Clean spotless room - all white: sheets, comforter duvet, fluffy towels, robes, slippers. Floor is blond wood. Breakfast buffet is very good with lots of choices and excellent service - constant tidying up of food, tables. Rooms have hair dryer, iron and board, coffee maker but lacking the following: a clock/radio, magnifying mirror in bathroom, rubber mat for dangerous bath tub. Only way to get a wake up call is to call front desk which we could not reach as telephone was not working in our room. Limited TV stations. We had a business class room which was fairly small - only advantage was robes and slippers and breakfast. Best thing is location as one can walk to harbor, all the restaurants/bars, many many museums. Only took a taxi twice in a week's visit. The only problem with room was temperature. Way too hot even with window open which could only be opened a tiny bit. Had to close window at night due to all the street noise from the many people yelling and screaming.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very central hotel with helpful staff. Hotel seems to cater for of Americans tours
Very good breakfast.
Make sure you have a room facing to the inside as it can get very noisy at night especially at the weekend! We found the rooms quite small so upgraded to a suite. Well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

In between the main shopping area (no large shops) and the flea market (don't bother unless you want old clothes) and the harbour area. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and the hotel is clean and well maintained. I would stay here again.
Shopping is like the old days with small independent shops and coffee bars concentrated in a couple of streets - including a visit to the new church and the harbour side, easily done in a day. The hotel is a few yards away from the grey line bus terminus & i think this is the best way to come from the.airport (45 min journey) - the ticket office is to the right in arrivals. A taxi would cost in the region of £200 I was told.
The golden triangle is a must - the sights are spectacular. Iceland Horizon tours are brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettySwallocks69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your great reveiw on your recent stay with us.
It was great to read your praise about our location, the breakfast and dinner in our 1919 Restaurant & Lounge.

We look forward to welcome you back to us when your travels bring you back to Reykjavik.

Kind regards,
Frode Jansson & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Despite some initial misgivings about write-ups that spoke of a downtown location in a negative way we wound up at the Radisson-Blu 1919 for 8 nights (from the end of August till Sept.4th).The front desk staff were simply great. They were responsive to every request and helpful with tours, reservations etc. The hotel is in a office building that was renovated in 2005. It turned out to be a great location--a block from the town square; a block from the harbor; two blocks from the new concert hall/opera house; two blocks from the main shopping areas; and easy walking distance to many of the important sights and museums. The rooms were adequate sized, the beds very comfortable and the bathrooms OK. The only real problem we had was the slippery tubs (and this was remedied by the hotel going out the next morning and getting us a rubber bathmat for the tub). Overall, we were exceedingly pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: A standard room is an excellent value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel and would stay there again. The rooms are large by European standards and beautifully decorated with spacious, modern bathrooms. Our room faced the famous hot dog stand in Reykjavik -- such a fun sight! We were concerned about street noise because of the location, but could hear nothing in our room. My only complaints: The front desk seemed understaffed for check-in and the service at breakfast was really slow. It really did not deter from our great stay, though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ieateverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed yourselves and the view to the hot dog stand.
I apologies for the delay in check in and breakfast service, and will certainly take your feedback to hart and see how we can improve.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the future.

Yours sincerely

Frode Jansson & the 1919 Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,837 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,152 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
417 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#17 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $204 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing