We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern well appointed hotel - fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“modern well appointed hotel - fantastic location”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The 1919 is one of two Radisson Blu properties in Reykjavic (the other is about 3/4 mile away), so be careful when booking. IMHO the 1919 is in the best location in Reykjavic -- about two minutes walk from the water-front on one side, and one of the town's bustling main city center squares on the other. The rooms are on the small side, but well appointed and comfortable. The hotel offers free wifi, and has packages that include a deluxe breakfast that otherwise will run you $30.00.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room with a view - the internal rooms face a non-descript building center (no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McAliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    577
    175
    57
    35
See reviews for
218
619
52
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here for about a week in less then fortunate circumstances (accident) and have to say, this is a service driven hotel. All our needs were attended to. Our room was upgraded, therefore we feel we had excellent value. Having seen the standard rooms, we would have found them a bit expensive.

The rooms on the street are a bit noisier, but we were offered a room on the inner court, which was perfectly quiet.

The breakfast is variable. If the hotel is full, the breakfast and choice is full. If there are only a few rooms booked, the breakfast choice was more limited, and they cut corners as for example reheated croissants.

So for us this stay was made very comfortable and memorable by the super friendly and service driven personnel.

Room Tip: For quietness, get a room facing the inner court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLuke_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

the good: location is very central. staff were friendly if not particularly competent. breakfast was good.

the not so good: the room - be careful about which room you get. I spent 6 nights in a room with a severely sloping ceiling that made more than half the room uninhabitable. I must have banged my head on the ceiling two dozen times (Manager: note the number of dents on the ceiling indicating that I am not alone in this!). Unbelievably they have a desk, etc, in the part of the room where you can't even sit without ducking your head. The room also had no windows and was very hot all of the time. All of this for a rate of about $300/night is unacceptable to me.

bogus charge added to my credit card: upon check out there was no problem with my bill. Now after arriving home, I see they have unilaterally entered a charge on my credit card. Not sure what its for, but I'll be getting to the bottom of it (I had no room service, mini bar, movies, phone charges, etc).

staff was rather incompetent (though friendly). For example, on the one morning I had to sleep in, then phoned my room at 7:45 a.m. to see which tour I was planning on taking that day. I had booked no tour whatsoever. They also gave me incorrect directions on several occasions.

Overall, I would not stay here again. There are better options in central Reykjavik for your money. This hotel charges top dollar, but its rather worn and not worth what you pay. Especially when you get a room in which you can't use more than half of it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadianmickey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, General Manager at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel. We appreciate your comments and will follow up on them so other guests will not experience this in the future.

I would be very thankful if you could contact me directly to sort out what has happend to your invoice, and to give me the chance to make this right.

Kind regards,

Frode Jansson
General Manager
Frode.Jansson@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel is in a great location and is clean with comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. The cons with this hotel is that since it is in such a great location it is very loud at night. We were in a junior suite facing the water and were up for most of the night on Saturday night because of all the noise. Icelanders also don't stop partying until 4 or 5 a.m. and we had run the marathon earlier that day so we were very tired and still had trouble sleeping. I even wore ear plugs and still was awoken most of the night by the noise. The breakfast buffet is not very good and not worth the money but there are no real 5 star properties in Iceland so this is one of the best out of the bunch. One thing that bothered me was that they overbooked the hotel and we were forced to stay in a pretty bad hotel the first night because they didn't have any room for us. They did upgrade our room as a result but the hotel we were moved to was very far away and pretty gross.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KEFSEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD_1919, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for this feed back regarding your stay at the 1919 Hotel.
First off I would like to address the overbooking situation. This is unfortunate that you were affected as this kind of situation is never a pleasant one but in the hotel business does sometimes happen. I am happy that it worked out and the hotel could keep you in the hotel for the 2 night stay.
Our house is a historically protected building and thus our rooms have a lot of different characteristics. The top floor is generally the quieter option when staying in Reykjavik on a busy weekend such as most weekends in August when there are various festivals going on and downtown can be quite noisy! I am pleased that this noise was not too disturbing and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet during your stay.
I will certainly pass along your comments regarding dessert size to our chefs! We never want to disapoint a sweet tooth!
We hope you had a safe trip home- best wishes
Robyn Phaedra Mitchell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights at the Radisson Blu 1919 hotel and we had an enjoyable stay there. Upon arrival we were informed that the hotel was overbooked and thus we had to go to the other Radisson for the 1st night, but as we stayed for a couple of nights only, we complained and the hotel tried to solve the situation, as it did, and finally we were able to stay for both nights at the 1919. The room was in the attic, so without any view, but it was spacious enough with a sofa corner, in generally good condition, but with a very small bathroom with limited counter space. We did hear a bit of the noise outside of the hotel, but it wasn't as bad as described in some other reviews, and it should be expected considering the hotel is conveniently located in the very heart of the city. Breakfast was good, with an average spread, and staff in most cases was kind and efficient. Restaurant was just ok, nothing good nothing bad, but with ridiculously small portions for desserts.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greece4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This hotel is short walk from everything you could need. The harbour and whale watching, the volcano museum, the Harpa concert hall, numerous restaurants and cafes, cash machines, Information office,supermarket...to name those we used! The rooms are clean and well furnished in a modern minimalist way. Ours was big enough and the second stay we were upgraded to a junior suite. the hotel arranged for our bus pick up and we used the hotel internet and printer to check in on line . We have now stayed twice and would stay there again and reccommend i.

Room Tip: Ask to check in early if your flight arrives early and they will try to help( new York flight arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed at The 1919 for 3 nights. Can't beat the location! Good size room on the 2nd floor (streetside) with a large bathroom. It was a little warm at night so we kept a window open---and of course we heard the early-morning partyers and street sweepers. Breakfast buffet was nice and filling (salmon, yogurt, juices, scrambled eggs, breads, sausage, fruit). Hotel staff was courteous and quite helpful. Our tour bus picked up/dropped off at the front door.

Room Tip: ask for hotel-provided earplugs or request an interior room if staying on the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,102 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,672 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,652 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik

Property: Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Address: Posthusstraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, classic building in the heart of Reykjavik offering accommodation in style and comfort. Hotel located next to main shopping street with restaurants and bars. Cultural attractions close by like the Parliament of Iceland, art galleries and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Rezidor, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik Hotel
Radisson Reykjavík
Radisson Reykjavik
Reykjavík Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing