We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Super place to stay. Very clean and good sized room. Perfect location near the the square and start of the main strip with shops and places to eat and drink on. Nice staff and helpful. We had a mini powercut in our room we told them and this was sorted by the time we came back from our meal. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    800
    174
    48
    16
See reviews for
264
907
130
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deeside
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Spent 5 nights here in total in July. Rooms were large and well equipped. Handy as it's right in the centre of Reykjavik. Didn't eat evening meals in the hotel as it has whale on the menu - whale is not apparently a national dish and it is only served to tourists, who inadvertently contribute to the continuation of whaling! Having said that, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was excellent. If you not on a bus trip, it may be worth waiting till nearer 8 for breakfast as the breakfast room was very busy earlier on. They replenish the buffet so being later is not a disadvantage. Very pleased with our stay - would have given 5 star but for the whale meat!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeesideRob_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

1st time in Iceland/Reykjavik and stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. Excellent location but to be honest,Reykjavik is so small(rather like a small town than a city) just about any other hotel is also well located in my opinion! Hire car and arrived on a Sunday so parking was free in a parking lot just around the corner. There are also places to park on the street nearby but not directly in front of the hotel.Parking charges Mon-Sat 10am to 6pm and 120 isk/hour so about £6 for the day which is incredibly reasonable,especially in Iceland as prices are sky high for most things!
Room on the 4th floor.Lift access.Some dirty looking carpets in the common areas when you exit the lift but the actual room clean(wooden floors) and well specified.And free Wi-fi! Nothing truly special or memorable about it but also no major criticisms either. Breakfast-good selection of hot and cold foods(not bad for Iceland as we later found out at other stays). Just a short walk from the MAIN street which goes through the centre of Reykjavik(full of shops and eateries,bars etc),and is situated at the base of this street. Also a short walk to the Icelandic National Museum 15-20 mins.Would happily say here again.

Room Tip: Room 414, which was looking over a quiet side alleyway/street which had an ok view and was still qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkyMark383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've stayed for 6 days. Excelent hotel, in a good place in downtown, close to the harbour and the main street of the capital. Clean, good and confortable room and delicious breakfast Excelent free wi-fi in the room. Definitely, it is a big option to stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfrank69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel's site says their rooms have minibars, 24h room service, and TVs with pay TV & Satellite TV. Tripadvisor says they are a four star hotel. The rooms don't have a minibar, and there is no 24h room service and the TVs are tiny with snowy picture quality. When asked, the receptionist said "we decided to remove minbars a while ago". "Can you please come down, we have wine here and I'm alone so can't bring anything up." So, no minibar and no 24h room service. The in-room information book still states they have a minibar "stocked with a selection of snacks and drinks" and about room service: "after 10:30pm the reception staff will take your order". When I came down to get a bottle of wine and saw they only had (expensive) 200ml bottles he commented "if you would have gotten to the bar before 11pm the bar would have still been open". Again, their website says 24h room service, their in-room info book says their cafe and bar open until 11:30pm. They're obviously free to make changes; but not updating marketing materials and even in-room materials is misleading and frustrating. Especially if the receptionist says "you can talk to the manager tomorrow if you want to complain" instead of acknowledging the unfortunate situation and dealing with it professionally. We prepaid this hotel (through a service which confirmed 4 stars) which adds to the frustration. Positive is that it's a clean, reasonable size room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steefvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed twice at the Centrum on our recent 16 day trip to Iceland. I expected it to have some interior charm as it does occupy historic buildings but this is not the case. On our arrival at around midnight the desk clerks told us we were not booked there. We of course had a voucher showing we were. It appeared the hotel had by error entered this booking by our travel firm also based in Reykjavik for July instead of June. While the clerk then told us he had a deluxe room available, there was no apology for what we believe was their error (travel firm booked more than a dozen other hotels and transfers without any errors). We were given a second floor room facing the street on a Saturday night. It was very noisy until at least 3 or 4 AM. The room was satisfactory but calling it deluxe is sort of an exaggeration. The breakfast buffet was fine but the dining room has limited seating in the busy tourist season. On our second arrival at the end of our trip, the more friendly and helpful desk staff told us due to being fully booked they had upgraded us to one of their apartments in a building next door and off the main street. While we did not need the kitchen, those staying in Reykjavik for several days might want to consider it. The apt has a nice sitting area which the deluxe rooms in the hotel do not have. The location of the hotel is great as you can walk to all areas in Reykjavik easily from there. On the other hand, on weekends as mentioned it can be noisy outside. Good restaurants are walking distance away as well. The good location should not be overlooked as we saw some hotels too far from areas of interest or restaurants to allow walking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is higher up and not on the front especially if staying there on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monty1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've stayed there for a week in May. The hotel is right in the city center, a few steps from the Parliament building. The room I had was quite nice, with a big bathroom and always spotless. I found the hotel to be pretty expensive for what they offer, but then that's quite normal for Iceland, in the high season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0ghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
572 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,655 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing