We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious Room for 3”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Spacious Room for 3”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is centrally located for all the restaurants etc in the capital. Our room for 3 was spacious and nicely decorated and very clean. 2 single beds pushed together and then 1 sleeper sofa.The rest of the hotel is well designed and there is a restaurant on site (we didnt use it) The only negative was that we thought the breakfast could have been better, greasy bacon and cold scrambled eggs and not a good selection of fruit. We found a restaurant called the Laundromat Cafe just 5 mins away that served amazing breakfast selections so wish we had found that on our first day. All in all I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    786
    169
    47
    16
See reviews for
256
893
129
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strood UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed here at the end of March. Central location, five minutes from harbour and shops.
Rooms are modern clean and comfortable, if a little small. Reception staff very helpful and checked us in early as the room was ready. Breakfast is very good, costing 2600 ISK, about £13-£14, good selection of hot and cold food and lovely coffee.
The bar area is very nice, with a selection of locally produced beers, didn't eat in the bar, but the food looked very good.
Would have given 5/5 but room safe didn't work and wasn't fixed despite reporting it.
If travelling to Reykjavik again would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayzeebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Spent 3 nights here in April, the location is perfect, right in the middle of town only a few minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and bars. Check-in was quick and easy and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room on the forth floor was fairly basic but clean and comfortable with tea/coffee, room safe and an iron & ironing board and also a fridge.
The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices of hot and cold food.
One thing I did find strange is when I checked out they would only take payment by card or Euros and not Icelandic Krona (which is all I had) but after a while the guy on the desk did find a way round this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here in early April as a base for our first trip to Reykjavik.It's located within easy walking distance of all the central attractions,restaurants and bars.The buffet breakfast has plenty of choice and is served in a tasteful dining room overlooking the street.
The rooms were quite warm and as the weather was mild we left the window slightly open. The locals tend to get rather noisy in the early hours following Friday & Saturday nights - the open window did allow some noise in, but not a great problem.
The hotel has a character which is missing from modern hotels.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jendavies12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is smack in the middle of everything; its very close to BPP hotdog place, the Sea Baron, and the Spanish Tapas place. Its wonderfully located, the rooms are large, spacious and its very comfortable; clean! Oh and the bathroom floors are heated!

The staff are very friendly, understand also that you may have to ask for help in carrying your luggage, no big deal! THe food is excellent, one of the best bacons i've had. The hotel restaurant itself serves good food and you may want to reserve one dinner with them; the restaurant bar is also excellent, try this drink called Corleone.

The staff can help you plan out your trip, reservations, make calls, its really a good place to stay and not even that expensive at about 200 US$ per night or less.

Room Tip: avoid rooms that starrt with a number 5, coz you'll be sent to a separate building with no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tato_delanoriega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Really glad we booked this hotel and this location in Reykjavik for our first visit to Iceland. The hotel is smart and modern with great staff, especially the two young girls on reception. Our rooms, (2 doubles) were not huge and the bathroom would have been much nicer if it had been bigger but overall pretty good. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet (4th floor) infact at times we felt as if we were the only people staying there. The breakfast if expensive (as is all food in Iceland) and ok. A buffet with a great choice but the hot food was not hot enough for my liking and a bit limited. Nice coffee though and I got a chance to try some delicious Icelandic cheese and smoked salmon with lovely fresh bread. We would definitely return to this hotel if we manage to return to Iceland, which I sincerely hope we do! The location is the key here - right amongst some great restaurants and shops as well as the harbour. The tourist office is a few yards down the road too for booking trips although reception at the hotel will do this too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bishopstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Perfectly situated in the centre of town, not too big, very comfortable, good service, excellent breakfast. No complaints at all. Just what we needed for a short 2-night family break. They were great at arranging trips, taxis and general advice too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-005CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing