We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Seaford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Really glad we booked this hotel and this location in Reykjavik for our first visit to Iceland. The hotel is smart and modern with great staff, especially the two young girls on reception. Our rooms, (2 doubles) were not huge and the bathroom would have been much nicer if it had been bigger but overall pretty good. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet (4th floor) infact at times we felt as if we were the only people staying there. The breakfast if expensive (as is all food in Iceland) and ok. A buffet with a great choice but the hot food was not hot enough for my liking and a bit limited. Nice coffee though and I got a chance to try some delicious Icelandic cheese and smoked salmon with lovely fresh bread. We would definitely return to this hotel if we manage to return to Iceland, which I sincerely hope we do! The location is the key here - right amongst some great restaurants and shops as well as the harbour. The tourist office is a few yards down the road too for booking trips although reception at the hotel will do this too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bishopstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    786
    169
    47
    16
See reviews for
256
893
129
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Perfectly situated in the centre of town, not too big, very comfortable, good service, excellent breakfast. No complaints at all. Just what we needed for a short 2-night family break. They were great at arranging trips, taxis and general advice too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-005CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Nice clean friendly hotel in the centre of Reykjavik with a nice restaurant in house and also a café/bar if you prefer just a more informal meal...food was great with enough choice to suit most palates. Breakfast was a buffet style, again with enough choices for everybody. They reception staff were happy to help with any excursions and also rearranging excursions at short notice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAZZAQ1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We selected this Hotel from a well known British Travel Companies brochure as well as studying the Trip Adviser comments. The Hotel was superb, ALL the staff we dealt with were so polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The Hotel facilities were first rate, which is more than can be said for our Travel Company who got our pick up times wrong for two of the excursions we pre booked, but this was sorted out for us by the reception staff with no hesitation.
I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel as a place to stay for a break (we were there for 5 nights) The location is excellent for getting around and ideally situated for restaurants etc.
In my opinion Iceland is a "must do" holiday, as it is unique and a wonderful place to visit. Go on, try it sometime and maybe try this Hotel as well

Room Tip: Front rooms over looking the Hotel Entrance can be a little noisy at night with cobbled streets addi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 389DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for a few days this month with friends. The location of this hotel is excellent for exploring the city on foot or bus and is uniquely situated above the settlement museum , one of the oldest sites in Reykjavik. ( we visited the museum and were impressed with its simplicity yet wonderful ability to convey the history of the area )
The rooms were very clean and warm and equipped well with toiletries, tea, coffee etc. which were always topped up daily. All the staff were helpful and friendly . The hotel had a cosmopolitan mix of guests, tourists and corporate and was always comfortable and quiet.
The buffet breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold foods but the art work on the wall which pictured a toilet was a little off putting while we ate! Maybe it was icelandic humour.
The bar was warm and cosy even if prices were a little inflated. For convenience we had a bar meal one evening which was excellent and huge, but we ate out most evenings as there is an abundance of options in the nearby area and it seemed a shame not to explore the fabulous foods of Iceland.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral,uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

just got back from our first visit to iceland,,chose this hotel base don this site and generally made a great choice..couple of small things,,we had asked for a quiet room high up and got one right at the front on second floor...the room was far too hot !and dry plus a bit noisy both from overhead planes(very infrequent)and some street noise,,so we asked if they could do some thing ,,very nice blonde lady came up str8 away(hi if youre reading this)to open windows etc but in the end we knew we wouldnt be able to sleep so we got moved to a really peaceful room at the back which was excellent ,,the rooms arent large but are fine for a couple and are pretty much what you get in europe generally ,,,very clean,,great maid service,,,coffe and tea,,nice shower,,,the tv is awful though ,,,unless you love hearing about that missing plane over and over and over again or like seeing a cat fall into a swing bin.....bfast and dinner were pretty good we came down at just b4 ten so we were a bit hurried but that understandable ,,the desk staff are really really nice the 4 we saw always had time for you and were very smart and kind,,,,,the hotel is in a superb position for all tours and for exploring the town....yes theres an ice machine and yes if somebody gets ice you can slightly hear it,,,a quick word about iceland and tours,,it is expensive,,,we got breakfast in 3 different places it was pretty much 15 quid everywhere and this is normal,,,so if you are a bit poor or like me mean maybe go to turkey or somewhere,,,iceland is the most magical place ive ever been and ive been to 67 places....the blue lagoon was a-mazing,,go there,,just go there,,,the golden circle tour was also amazing,,we went on the half day tour because we hate farms/farming/farmers and produce,,,,definitly worth it,,,a word about the northern lights ,,,the first time we went we saw nothing ,,so we stood in a freezing lay by listening to Bob tell us how great it was if it was there,,,at first i liked bob then i hated him and wanted to push him down the mountain side then i liked him again then when i got out the car thing he didnt shake my offered hand so i felt like writing "tw@t"on the side of his ca rthing,,,if you dont se ethe lights you get the chance to see them again,,so we went on the sunday for free even though we had to get up at 530 the next day,,,this time i was happy that it was a different bob in fac tthe guy that owns the gateway to iceland tour group ,,,so we trudged off to the same spot...and then this happened...the guy spotted a kind of washy white glow,,this became green and with about 20 minutes i saw the sky alive with the most amazing dazzling awe inspiring miracle on earth...it was humbling and amazing and at this point i forgave the new bob the old bob and everyone that had ever wronged me ove rthe years,,,its was AMAZING,,,it made the other amazing things ge tthe bronze medal and as long as i live i will never forget it...or Iceland....Go to iceland ,,go to this hotel ,,be moved.

Room Tip: dont bother trying to take a photo of the northern lights with a cell phone....ask bob personal ques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonrichardson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I decided to stay in the same hotel again for several reasons. The location was good, being very central. There were lots of restaurants nearby. The hotel staff had been very helpful on my previous visit and the hotel facilities met my requirements. I'm glad I made this choice again.

The room was very clean and big enough. There wasn't a lot of wardrobe space, but it was well designed, so more than adequate.

I we glad to discover that there is now free Wi-Fi in the hotel, which was not the case previously.

Another positive change was that sandwiches, drinks and snacks are available 24 hrs a day beside reception.

The staff continued to be very helpful and were happy to book excursions and make recommendations.

On my next stay (whenever that is!), I would come back to this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kat537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing