We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, contemporary and perfectly located city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for a few days this month with friends. The location of this hotel is excellent for exploring the city on foot or bus and is uniquely situated above the settlement museum , one of the oldest sites in Reykjavik. ( we visited the museum and were impressed with its simplicity yet wonderful ability to convey the history of the area )
The rooms were very clean and warm and equipped well with toiletries, tea, coffee etc. which were always topped up daily. All the staff were helpful and friendly . The hotel had a cosmopolitan mix of guests, tourists and corporate and was always comfortable and quiet.
The buffet breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold foods but the art work on the wall which pictured a toilet was a little off putting while we ate! Maybe it was icelandic humour.
The bar was warm and cosy even if prices were a little inflated. For convenience we had a bar meal one evening which was excellent and huge, but we ate out most evenings as there is an abundance of options in the nearby area and it seemed a shame not to explore the fabulous foods of Iceland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I decided to stay in the same hotel again for several reasons. The location was good, being very central. There were lots of restaurants nearby. The hotel staff had been very helpful on my previous visit and the hotel facilities met my requirements. I'm glad I made this choice again.

The room was very clean and big enough. There wasn't a lot of wardrobe space, but it was well designed, so more than adequate.

I we glad to discover that there is now free Wi-Fi in the hotel, which was not the case previously.

Another positive change was that sandwiches, drinks and snacks are available 24 hrs a day beside reception.

The staff continued to be very helpful and were happy to book excursions and make recommendations.

On my next stay (whenever that is!), I would come back to this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kat537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We loved our stay at the Centrum hotel. It was extremely clean. Good comfortable room. Hotel staff friendly & helpful. Breakfast was brilliant. Lovely location with lots of shops cafés & restaurants all within walking distance. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel was in a wonderful location. Right in the middle of downtown historical Reykjavik. From here we could walk around town, and see many of the local sights with ease.

The room was very clean, well kept. The heating was just outstanding, I got so warm I had to open a window; in February!!!

The breakfast served was one of the best I've had in a hotel. Fresh fruits, juice, coffee, local cuisine as well as scrambled eggs and bacon. Really a lovely way to start each day.
The bar/restaurant downstairs has the most delicious burger (Thor's burger)

The staff was so helpful, polite, well spoken, really quality folks. *Our bags were lost by the airline, and the staff at the hotel went out of there way to help us find places to buy clothes and even offered to give us a room earlier than expected so we could wash the clothes we had on.*
When one of our tours got cancelled they called and rescheduled for us, handling the whole deal.

If I ever find myself on this side of the world again, I will be returning here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very nice but you can hear the other rooms. We were woken up in the middle of the night by the room upstairs coming back and stomping around. Also woken up early in the morning by other rooms. Breakfast was quite poor.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortiaJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights (well 2 and a half in the end after our flight was delayed!). Room was a little on the small side but had everything we needed. Staff were really friendly and helpful and booked trips for us which were then cancelled due to very bad weather so they arranged refunds.
Breakfast choice was good with everyone catered for.
The location is really great as it is right in the centre and everything is just a short walk away.
We didn't get to see the Northern Lights, the waterfall or the Geysers due to the bad weather so just had a very good look around Reykjavik but when we go back (hopefully in better weather) we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bupsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

A modern, clean hotel in a perfect location. Good free fast wifi in our room. A safe and fridge. Tv was a bit out dated, but we didn't watch it anyway. Very easy to book and pay for tours at reception.

If there is one tiny negative, it was a little impersonal, with not much character. I would definitely stay again though as I think it will be very hard to beat for convenience, facilities and cleanliness. We had a great stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Razzladazzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,879 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
662 reviews
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#24 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $173 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavík Centrum is located in the bustling city center within walking distance of some of Iceland's best museums, restaurants and bars. The hotel opened in 2005 and is stands in one of Reykjavik's oldest streets, Aðalstræti. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations while maintaining its original charm as the oldest parts of the building were built in 1764. The hotel spreads over three buildings and during its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD. The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing