We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in downtown Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good hotel in downtown Reykjavik”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well situated to see all the sites in Reykjavik and there are plenty of restaurants, bars etc close by. After seeing some of the locations of the other hotels very pleased we booked the Centrum. The hotel is comfortable and bright. The bar is relaxing for a drink and the food fresh and tasty. The room was bigger than I expected, but not huge. The staff are very nice and service good apart from housekeeping who I felt let the hotel down. We booked 2 rooms and on coming back on our first day after a long day out found that neither room had been serviced that day. On the 2nd night found that the bed had not been made except for the quilt being straightened. We were advised that our mini bar would be emptied as the hotel was withdrawing this service but that we could still use the fridge, well they took our little bit of food we had and left it on top of some clothes in the wardrobe in a warm room and we didn't realise until the following morning and had to throw it away. On check out our bill had an extra night added and 2 breakfasts that we didn't have.

That said, I would recommend it

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    773
    167
    46
    16
See reviews for
250
882
128
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

As this is the first of several reviews of Icelandic hotels on our tour I'll start off with stating the obvious so that I don't have to repeat myself. Iceland is expensive. Food,drink,clothes all come with a sometimes eye watering price tag so if there is anything,and I mean anything that you might need for your trip then buy it and bring it because otherwise you will end up warming up your credit card. Now on to the first hotel, the Centrum. We found the location great for exploring Reykjavik and the hotel and it's staff were actually very helpful although sometimes appearing a little distant. The room was compact but had everything we needed. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and found the food to be very good and the breakfast satisfactory if not overburdened with choice ( one toaster was a tad temperamental). The local produce, (especially the bread) is especially worth a try. We found Reykjavik itself again quite compact and two days was plenty unless you were planning to use this as a base and take advantage of the many excursions available. It's easy to walk to most of the main areas from the centrum and we'd certainly use this hotel again if returning to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel was well situated and the rooms were a good size. In fairness Reykjavik is quite small however the hotel was situated close to some nice bars, restaurants and cafes. The staff were helpful and my only criticism is that breakfast was a little disappointing in terms of amount and choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallyl0vest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Centrally located, in the old part of Reykjavik, this is a warm and welcoming hotel, with mainly friendly and efficient staff.

The bedroom was a little underwhelming; all facilities were present, but it somehow seemed a little basic and cramped.

Breakfasts were excellent, just what is needed before a day's exploration of this fabulous city. Likewise the bar area, is a great place to relax afterwards.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Centrum hotel. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. We had breakfast one of the 3 days which was nice being a combination of hot food (eggs, bacon etc and cereal) but found the cafes opposite worked out cheaper.

The food in the ball was extremely tasty and well cooked.

The rooms were perfectly acceptable slightly small but what do you expect for a central location.

The location was excellent right in the centre of everything you could need. The rooms were warm but even with the windows open it was quiet.

If I ever return to Iceland I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We've just returned from our first trip to Iceland and after reading some of the previous reviews on trip advisor we decided to book the Centrum and how pleased are we that we did. The hotel was very central and first appearances were excellent, looking very traditional. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked out excursions straight away at reception. We then headed for our room 311 it was lovely. It was in the eaves so the ceiling sloped a little but it added to the quaintness. It was tastefully decorated and modern with plenty of space. Bathrobes and slippers were provided as standard and the safe was free - in the wardrobe. There was also a mini bar that is supposed to charge you electronically as you remove items but we had to tell them about the cans of pop we took. The bathroom was also lovely with a huge bath, shower and lots of towels and complimentary shampoo etc which is good as we forgot to pack ours.

There is a lovely coffee shop near reception, again the staff were wonderful, you can get a few meals here and coffee, tea and alcohol. There are lots of restaurants in the area but many of them get booked up quickly so be warned.

Iceland isn't cheap so be warned. Roughly working it out 1,000ISK = £5.25 and breakfast for 3 of us in a café cost us 9,700ISK.

We booked the northern lights tour and the blue lagoon trip with admission. The blue lagoon was fantastic but again be carful as they give you a bracelet to charge things too and it soon mounts up with the hire of the robes and towels. Don't let that put you off though it was wonderful.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EM282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife & I have recently returned from a short break in this hotel. It was a very comfortable, friendly hotel. No heating was visible apart from radiators in all rooms, but the radiators in our room were always cold but the room was as warm as you would want. Breakfast was Continental, but cereals were also available. Remember this hotel caters for all nationalities !!!
The staff were vey friendly, and cheerful, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They advised us on places to eat, etc. & we were able to make bookings at restaurants through them, as well as excursions.
The hotel is also located close to the main shopping/eating area of Reykjavik, and has a wonderful restaurant ( Harrys ) right next door.

Would recommend any time

P & J

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing