We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, v
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The only reason this hotel didn't get a top rating is that on Friday and Saturday night the room was noisy from the partying outside. And that's at the end of December! Other nights (and we were there for six) it was very calm. Note - the Icelanders party on Fridays and Saturdays.

The staff was great - from front desk to the housekeeping - very friendly, efficient, kind, and knowledgeable.

Breakfast is great. I like fish and there was both smoked salmon and pickled herring every day.

The location is central to great restaurants and about 1/2 mile from the main shopping street - a short walk.

Room Tip: Get upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seymour S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    774
    167
    46
    16
See reviews for
250
883
128
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I spent 3 nights in Iceland just before Christmas with my husband and booked this hotel. The location is fantasic, walking distance to everywhere yet still quiet and we didn't hear any outside noise.
Excellent free wifi in the hotel rooms and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We didn't have breakfast or use the restaurant and so can't comment but the waiting area for tour companies to collect you is very comfortable and warm (which is an essential in Iceland at that time of year!).

If I ever get the chance to visit Reykjavik again (which I hope I do), I will definitely book back at the Centrum.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florencia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Rooms clean and spacious enough. All the little niceties in the bathroom. Breakfast equally one of the nicest Ive had in a hotel. Staff very helpful .All round really nice hotel.Good Central location too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pluvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My younger daughter lives in Aus and was visiting me in the UK so we thought that we would take the once-in-a-lifetime chance to do Iceland together. I chose the Centrum from the Easyjet packages after consulting Trip Advisor. The location is great, walking distance to everywhere and good for tour pick-ups, nice bar and restaurant in the hotel if you're short of time. The staff simply can't do enough to help, they are friendly and always available- they immediately resolved the couple of practical problems we experienced, booked and advised on tours for us, sorted shuttle times-basically looked after us brilliantly.It was a little noisy in the street outside on the Saturday night- but that's what earplugs are for if it bothers you and we HAD asked for a room overlooking the street The rooms had everything you needed, were warm and immaculately clean. An excellent and personal service that you often don't get in more expensive hotels so full marks to the Centrum

Room Tip: I used the Tripadvsior comments- to ask for a room away from the ice machines, etc- but basically em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeatherRHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I booked to stay in this hotel from 29th December to 3rd of Jan and on 15th December I was advised they were double booked through my tour operator. Apparently this happens quite a lot I was advised. Whilst this does look from the outside like a fabulous hotel and is in a great location, 2 weeks before we flew to Iceland to be told this was very disappointing as very near to new Year the majority of other local hotels were booked up. This left me in a bad situation as this was a surprise for my partners 40th and a Christmas Present. I booked the hotel in October so to be left this late to be told it was double booked was poor

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This city centre hotel is comfortable, again clean and warm. There was an ice machine on our floor, which was handy. Very near to shopping streets near by. They provide hot breakfast which some hotels don’t.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldeneye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent six nights here. The hotel was located ideally for exploring the City, the room, although compact, was perfect for a city visit. We didn't eat in the restaurant, except for breakfast, which was a little disappointing, if adequate. The bar food was very good, as were the staff throughout. A lovely place to stay; we would return happily.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing