We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“very good city centre hotel”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Good location, although we were a bit worried about the lack of parking, this turned out to be quite easy and there was plenty of free spaces on nearby streets. Interesting combination of old building with new parts. Friendly & helpful reception staff. Room was spacious, and clean& comfortable. Just had a shower in the bathroom but this suited us. Breakfast was good with a wide choice of hot and cold foods, possibly the most choice of any hotel we stayed in our 2 week trip around Iceland. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but we did have a light supper in the bar. This was very acceptable and a pleasant bar to sit in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samcat392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    800
    174
    48
    16
See reviews for
264
907
130
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent 6 nights in one of the hotels studio apartments over Christmas and it was a great base to explore the city.

The apartment was clean, spacious and cosy, we chose this over a room as we wanted the option of being able to cook meals as we'd heard eating out was expensive. While we didn't cook anything in the end having a fridge and facilities to make a snack was really handy, especially as the apartment was the same price as a room it made sense.

The staff on reception were really helpful and sorted out our requests for none feather pillows and a kettle quickly and efficiently.

Breakfast was tasty and the variety of hot and cold foods meant you had choice over 6 days. We ate in the restaurant on Christmas eve as well and this was a delicious meal, no complaints :)

The hotel is also on the pick up route for the excursions - we used Reykjavik Excursions - tours an be booked from reception and the free WiFi throughout the hotel also useful for making plans.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_bindotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is located in a central area of Reykjavik, about 10 minutes from the busy central area. There were plenty of choices for eating nearby. Hotel staff were all kind and spoke very good English. You can arrange most bus tours at the hotel. I'd visit there again if I go to Reykjavik again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyClark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel cancelled my reservation I made 4 months in advance for their nicest room for an anniversary trip over New Years less than 6 hours before my flight. On top of that, they tried to push me to a budget hotel on the outskirts of town. Neither the hotel nor the room were even close in terms of being comparable to what I reserved.

When I called to discuss this, I was told the booking manager was gone and would not return until Monday. Seriously, you overbook the hotel, don't honor a reservation from 4 months prior and don't have someone besides a desk clerk to talk to until 2 days later? I was told to send an email (still no response as I prepare to board my flight) ... Epic fail in terms of customer service.

We will make the most of our trip, no thanks to the Hotel Reykjavik Centrum.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ptrick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

First off, I will say that I didn't have the best experience of Iceland. I came to experience a white Christmas and see the Northern Lights, and I was let down by the weather. I had tours cancelled and I didn't realise everything (and I mean everything) would be shut over the Christmas period.

But, that aside, I don't feel like Hotel Reykjavik Centrum improved my spirits by being particularly spectacular.

The staff are friendly, and very helpful -- and tried to help me out as much as they could -- but the room only had a single-sized bed and an ancient analogue television which either had audio issues or a fuzzy reception, and the internet was very poorly.

While I didn't come to Iceland to experience the hotel room -- my Northern Lights tour was cancelled, and because this was Christmas night -- there was nothing (at all) open to do anything else in town. So I was confined to my room with a crappy television and crappy internet.

Unlike some of the other reviews, WiFi is FREE, however, it is provided over an unsecure network which I disliked from a general security and connectivity standpoint -- and it was dead slow. My room on the 3rd floor and got consistent connection of 2/3 bars, but the internet connection constantly dropped out or slowed to dialup speed.

After a crappy Christmas day with a cancelled tour and nothing to do - I wanted to Skype my family back home but couldn't get a stable connection because of the hotels Internet.

Again, not entirely the hotels fault, but I felt that they didn't provide me with a service that could have perhaps helped make up a disappointing day.

Just other little things -- like for Christmas dinner (which I was now available for when I thought I would be on a tour) -- their restaurant, one of the only things open in town -- was booked out completely.

While I understand this, I kind of hoped that they would keep a section/few tables open for hotel guests to walk in without a reservation.

In the end though, it was a disappointing Iceland trip that really spoiled my mood and the Hotel did nothing "wrong", I would recommend you stay there for the location and the price and I will most likely return when I come back to Iceland to have a better trip than this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenericBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Hotel Centrum. It was a perfect location for us to explore the city from and also to get to Grayline with whom we'd booked our tours with. We had upgraded to a deluxe room which was very spacious. Superking sized beds (two singles basically put together), dressing table, wardrobe, comfy chair and a little sofa. Very nice. The bathroom was a nice size as well. There were not many free TV channels to chose from but we were not there for that.

Breakfast was excellent, cooked or continental (or both) buffets with a great variety of items to have, juices and teas and coffee of course. All you could need in honesty.

We didn't have to engage the staff much but when we did they were very pleasant.

The only mild complaint is the wooden floors - if you have anyone heavy footed in the room above you will hear them go about their business. But other than that it was a very peaceful place.

Would totally recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: We upgraded and chose a double deluxe room at the back (well, to the side) - 211 which was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed every minute. The room was quite large with windows on three sides looking out over a small park and a patio area on the corner in front of the archaeology museum next door. The hotel is actually located over a dig site which has been made into a museum explaining early Icelandic setllements. Reykjavik is fairly compact, so the hotel is only a few blocks from almost everything, but seems to be in a quiet corner. ( Since we were there in very low season, I can't be sure about this for times like mid-summer.) They have a good restaurant where a very good buffet breakfast was also provided for residents. The only complaint I might make is a shortage of electric outlets--we had to unplug the coffee pot in order to accommodate our computer plus several chargers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clooniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
573 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,655 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing