We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had an excellent experience. The hotel itself is perfectly located to explore the city, and the helpfulness of the reception staff cannot be overstated - they went out of their way to ensure we got excursions we wanted, and to ensure our stay was the best it could be. I thoroughly recommend staying here if you visit Reykjavik!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    759
    164
    44
    16
See reviews for
244
866
123
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
japan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great Hotel perfectly located in the centre of Reykjavik, when we checked we were upgrade to a junior suite which was on 2 levels with a balcony above the entrance to the Hotel. The room was very clean, great facilities and the bed was amazingly comfy, the breakfast in the morning was varied and plentiful. We didn’t eat in the hotel as there are many café and restaurants in town which is quite small and easily covered on foot. All the staff were very friendly and efficient throughout our stay. I would recommend this lovely hotel as a perfect base to enjoy Iceland’s capital.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank japan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here (family and friends trip) on holiday, so we had several different rooms. All seemed very nice, well equipped (although the description of superior and normal was a bit misleading, they all seemed similar) and I noticed that business travellers would also be well catered for - there is an iron and board in the room, which is always nice to have without having to ask. Good meeting places downstairs too, and location perfect for tourists or business meetings in the centre of Reykjavik. As tourists: walk to harbour and whale watching - 10 mins, to world famous hot dog stand - 5 mins, to excellent restaurants - all over the place, 5 mins, to Settler Museum - highly recommended - 30 seconds, to other museums/galleries etc - 10 mins. The bar is excellent, cosy and friendly, and didn't seem too full at any time so we always got a table. The restaurant is a bit functional in decor (especially compared with all the rather idiosyncratic restaurants dotted around Reykjavik) but had a good menu and friendly service, although was deserted the night we ate there. Breakfast was nice, if €13, but that was the same at the Cafe Paris. Front desk fine, happy to call up other restaurants, tour picks ups etc. Only criticism - bottle of water was paid for, often hotels provide one bottle free per room - not a huge problem as the tap water in Iceland is fine anyway. Also the rooms were possibly too well heated, and when we had the windows open to counter that, there was noise from the road - but again, rush hour in Reykjavik is not a very noisy affair. Liked this place, would go back.

Room Tip: Book early and they might upgrade you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We finished a week in Southern Iceland with 3 nights in Centrum, there's so much choice that we didn't manage to eat in the restaurant, but the breakfast they served was superb. The location was perfect with bars restaurants and all the main sights within easy walking distance. Very interesting from an architectural point as it's 2 buildings joined together very sympathetically, a nice mix of old and new.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eljimmador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is within easy walking distance of anything you could want but having said that, Reykjavik itself isn't that big. The hotel is clean and tidy, the rooms are standard with basic but fit for purpose furnishings but the TV in our room needed serious upgrading - its hey day would've been in the 80's!
We booked a double room but it was two single beds pushed together, with single sheets and two single duvet covers and three pillows?! Maybe its an 'Iceland' thing as reception didn't or chose not to understand, what we booked and wanted.
Cannot comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat there but the breakfast was plentiful with a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My stay was awesome thanks to the helpful and friendly front desk staff! It's a great location, close to lots of bars, restaurants, & shops. The rooms were standard and clean. Also we had a great experience with excursion pick ups :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frombostonwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A centrally located hotel within a few minutes walk of the bars, restaurants and tourist info centre. There are a number of cafes and grocery stores close by which are handy. The hotel is classy and well maintained. The rooms are well furnished but on the small side and have an iron, tea/coffee and amenities.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank s62blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Odinsve
#17 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#7 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing