We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can't be beaten, nice place, friendly bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here (family and friends trip) on holiday, so we had several different rooms. All seemed very nice, well equipped (although the description of superior and normal was a bit misleading, they all seemed similar) and I noticed that business travellers would also be well catered for - there is an iron and board in the room, which is always nice to have without having to ask. Good meeting places downstairs too, and location perfect for tourists or business meetings in the centre of Reykjavik. As tourists: walk to harbour and whale watching - 10 mins, to world famous hot dog stand - 5 mins, to excellent restaurants - all over the place, 5 mins, to Settler Museum - highly recommended - 30 seconds, to other museums/galleries etc - 10 mins. The bar is excellent, cosy and friendly, and didn't seem too full at any time so we always got a table. The restaurant is a bit functional in decor (especially compared with all the rather idiosyncratic restaurants dotted around Reykjavik) but had a good menu and friendly service, although was deserted the night we ate there. Breakfast was nice, if €13, but that was the same at the Cafe Paris. Front desk fine, happy to call up other restaurants, tour picks ups etc. Only criticism - bottle of water was paid for, often hotels provide one bottle free per room - not a huge problem as the tap water in Iceland is fine anyway. Also the rooms were possibly too well heated, and when we had the windows open to counter that, there was noise from the road - but again, rush hour in Reykjavik is not a very noisy affair. Liked this place, would go back.

Room Tip: Book early and they might upgrade you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We finished a week in Southern Iceland with 3 nights in Centrum, there's so much choice that we didn't manage to eat in the restaurant, but the breakfast they served was superb. The location was perfect with bars restaurants and all the main sights within easy walking distance. Very interesting from an architectural point as it's 2 buildings joined together very sympathetically, a nice mix of old and new.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eljimmador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is within easy walking distance of anything you could want but having said that, Reykjavik itself isn't that big. The hotel is clean and tidy, the rooms are standard with basic but fit for purpose furnishings but the TV in our room needed serious upgrading - its hey day would've been in the 80's!
We booked a double room but it was two single beds pushed together, with single sheets and two single duvet covers and three pillows?! Maybe its an 'Iceland' thing as reception didn't or chose not to understand, what we booked and wanted.
Cannot comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat there but the breakfast was plentiful with a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My stay was awesome thanks to the helpful and friendly front desk staff! It's a great location, close to lots of bars, restaurants, & shops. The rooms were standard and clean. Also we had a great experience with excursion pick ups :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frombostonwithlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A centrally located hotel within a few minutes walk of the bars, restaurants and tourist info centre. There are a number of cafes and grocery stores close by which are handy. The hotel is classy and well maintained. The rooms are well furnished but on the small side and have an iron, tea/coffee and amenities.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank s61blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Centrum as it's name suggests is in Central Reykjavic. You can easily walk to the town's attractions and restaurants from the hotel.
The rooms are clean and well furnished. The only small criticism might be that there isn't individual room thermostats so its either open a window or accept the given temperature. (Believe it or not Iceland isn't that cold!)
The restaurant was fine but there is a huge choice locally from typical Icelandic (Seafood) through to Oriental and Italian.
The hotel bar was really cosy and chic. Great place to either start or end your evening.
I would recommend the hotel and happily return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location: as the name suggests, it is in a central location and handily near to the tourist information offices. Our room was immaculate and of a decent size too and breakfast was always good.

The management team and the staff at reception were helpful and spoke excellent English. We have no qualms about recommending the hotel and were really pleased that we chose it.

Nothing to do with the hotel but in case anyone was looking for ideas about the weather at different times of the year: the weather was mild but constantly overcast and rainy, meaning we didn't get to see the Northern Lights once in the week that we were there which was the purpose for our visit!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,883 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
662 reviews
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#5 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $173 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavík Centrum is located in the bustling city center within walking distance of some of Iceland's best museums, restaurants and bars. The hotel opened in 2005 and is stands in one of Reykjavik's oldest streets, Aðalstræti. The hotel has undergone extensive renovations while maintaining its original charm as the oldest parts of the building were built in 1764. The hotel spreads over three buildings and during its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD. The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing