We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Nearby Hotels
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$255
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$228
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$427
$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$202
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$209
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$259
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$327
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$321
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$568
$493
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,904)
Filter reviews
1,904 results
Traveler rating
783
868
185
52
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
783
868
185
52
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationoldest streetsettlement museumfish markethappy hourhotel barcentral locationwooden floorswithin easy walking distanceblue lagoonstayed here for nightscomfortable hotelbars and restaurantsreception staffdeluxe roomnorthern lightsthe heart of the city
Filter
Updating list...
1,233 - 1,238 of 1,904 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed over Easter here. The hotel was clean, comfortable and in a great location. We could walk to all the restaurants, shops, sights etc.
The rooms were warm and comfortable, we seemed to have a double bed where the others in our group had two singles pushed together. But either way they were comfortable. Unfortunately one of our party had an accident and broke their ankle and the hotel reception staff were so helpful. They helped us make phone calls to our travel providers, trip providers etc and also lent us a wheelchair.
Breakfast had a lot of choice albeit a bit samey after 5 days.
We all loved Iceland, it's a beautiful, clean country with friendly people and great food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurz1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at the Reykjavik Centrum Hotel for 2 nights and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The hotel has a great location in the heart of the very tiny city centre (a couple of small supermarkets, bars and pubs) I had breakfast there every day which is great value for money being in expensive Iceland. The cost per day was 2,500 ISK or £13 and included full english breakfast, salmon, cheeses, vegetables, pastries and you can also ask for fresh warm waffles.
The room was quite basic but very clean and comfortable, but the TVs are very old and the very bad which is a shame as I like to watch the news when I'm abroad.
Overall very nice stay, do not hesitate to ask recommendations to the staff (excursions, where to eat, etc) they are very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Reykjavik Centrum hotel for 4 nights in March 2013.

The hotel staff at reception are very friendly and there is lots of tourist information around to help to plan excursions. The staff can help advise you on the best excursions to take as well.

The layout of the hotel reminded me a little of a conference centre in its layout; very standard, clean and nothing fancy decorations-wise - fairly minimalistic, and the room was the same too. Our room however was very nice and clean. We had a corner room which was very spacious, with a little sofa suite, a safe, super king sized bed (two beds joined together but you couldn't feel the gap), rainfall shower and a good sized bathroom. The only thing I would fault about the room was the TV quality - the signal was very poor and a lot of channels were pay-to-view.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel and it wasn't included in our package (breakfast was pay-per-item). However, there are plenty of small shops and restaurants nearby to get something to eat. We stocked up at the local shop for our excursions during the day. I get the impression, like most places in Iceland, the restaurant was quite pricey to eat in.

The shopping centre, tourist information and swimming pools were within a short walking distance of the hotel.


Sleep quality was very good and I found the beds very comfortable, generally very quiet, although we could hear someone moving a table upstairs in the mornings (possibly the cleaner?)

There was internet access downstairs in the lobby if needed which was fairly fast but perhaps not the most secure - there was a dodgy search bar on one of the computers. But if you're sensible it's not a problem. Just be sure to log out when you're done!

Parking is not included in the hotel but there are some cheap car parks nearby, which were visible from our hotel room. They only charge on weekdays and Saturdays between 10 and 6pm.

So overall, the hotel is nice and I would stay there again. I'd like to see a little more decoration in the rooms and corridors to make it more homely, and if breakfast was included, it would have been good to save us trips to the corner shop to avoid the high prices, but for us, we spent most time exploring Iceland instead and so the hotel acted as a great base for us to plan and start our excursions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingporcupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed last week of March 2013. Great location right in the middle of Reykjavik. Easy to get around, we walked to most of the things we wanted to see from the hotel including the Perlan (not sure it was worth the effort, but probably a personal view).
Great little cafes nearby to grab a coffee/hot chocolate/bagel/breakfast/free wifi in.
Went to the bar once, good service, nice atmosphere, good food - highly recommend both the fish & chips and the steak sandwich (not the most traditional icelandic food, but when in a rush before going on a northern lights tour, it definitely hits the spot!).
Staff friendly and helpful, very relaxed atmosphere. Didn't complain when we asked them for restaurant recommendations and then to book one, but sneaked a look at the menu on our phone 3G and it was far too expensive so had to sheepishly ask them to cancel! A bit embarassing.
The room was tidy, clean and perfectly adequate for our stay.
Breakfast was decent too, and not terrible for the price compared to eating out in Reykjavik. Some great restaurants out there, but expect to pay fairly high prices for them. We eat out a lot both in the UK and around the world, and I would say that the price of eating out in Iceland is high; comparing price of GOOD food to the UK, it is comparable, however comparing price of AVERAGE food to the UK it is much higher.
Lastly, in a connected and developed society such as Iceland, I would echo other reviewers sentiments that there needs to be free wifi in the hotel. It is not a problem, as a close cafe has free wifi, however it is a little inconvenient, and in a country which prides itself on being technologically developed and sustainable (even the tour buses have free wifi!) it should be available.
Overall - would recommend for any traveller.

Room Tip: Mezzanine rooms are spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evilnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Reykjavik Centrum was our first stop on our Icelandic road trip, booked for us by our tour company, Discover the World. Arriving from the airport, we were delighted to find ourselves booked into such a smart hotel - clean and modern, with friendly and helpful staff. The room was quiet and well equipped with a lovely bathroom and an excellent shower. Breakfast was delicious and really set us up for the first day of our roadtrip. It's a shame we couldn't stay longer, as Centrum looked like a great base from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews