We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location and interesting building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Grange Over Sands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great central location and interesting building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The room (423) was spacious and very light with dual aspect windows and a high turret window (upgraded de-luxe room). Comfy beds, easy to open windows in case it gets hot (which it does), small bathroom (shower no bath), CRT TV which didn't work for the first two days of our visit. After three reports to reception the cable-provider finally sorted it out - there are few (3) English language channels available (two news and one sport) and the majority of other channels are pay-to-view in-room films. No free wi-fi but if you cross the street and visit Stofan Cafe, wi-fi there is free, with comfy seats, great coffee and chocolate, and no rush to get you out when you have finished your drink. In the evening it is a bar too.
Tea and coffee provided in the room, but not very generous with tea (one breakfast, one Earl Grey per day). The location is brilliant for getting around most of what is to be seen in Reykjavik, and it is built over the Viking Museum. The staff are all very friendly and willing to organise trips, make calls etc. Breakfast was average compared with other places in Iceland, and the hot food didn't stay hot very long. The front of the hotel is well-lit as is the square opposite so there is some light coming in around the curtains in this room. Would stay here again in a de-luxe room.

Room Tip: If you can, up-grade to a de-luxe room as the standard rooms are smaller from what we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sullivan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Centrum, General Manager at Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Good day

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay, I'm glad to see it was a pleasant one. Regarding the Internet we are working on a new system that will offer free Internet service to our guests. We do offer free internet in the bar. I will talk with my staff to have more tea and coffee available in the room and give your remarks about the breakfast to my chef. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Thorhallur GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    773
    167
    46
    16
See reviews for
250
882
128
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good points: convenient location, that's about it.

Bad points: bland decor, surly staff, rock-hard beds and pillows, pretty average quality (and very expensive) breakfast, poor service at breakfast, we had to specifically ask for the room to be made up when it had not been done by mid-afternoon.

However, our stay here was totally marred by the problems described below.

We booked this hotel through our Travel Agent (Discover the World), specifying a deluxe room. We received a confirmation of the booking from the travel agent. When we checked in our room was absolutely tiny and the decor was bland and cheap, like a Holiday Inn Express (no offence to HIE, it's a budget chain, but this hotel is not cheap). I asked at reception what in their opinion made this room deluxe, and they told me it was a standard room because I had booked a standard room. I showed them the confirmation of my booking for a deluxe room, thinking this would clear up the question, but I was disappointed. The receptionist told me the room had been booked 'the wrong way' (whatever that means), and that the hotel was fully booked. Her attitude was extremely rude, and she clearly viewed me as a freeloader trying to scam a free upgrade rather than a valued guest trying to get the room which had been paid for in advance. She told me there was one deluxe room available on the ground floor, and her nasty smirk rang some alarm bells with me so I asked what was wrong with it. She insisted nothing was wrong, but when we went to look at the room we found it was a black hole with almost no natural light, the same bland decor as the previous room and all the additional space taken up by a third bed and a wheelchair-accessible bathroom. Just shows the level of contempt the hotel has for disabled guests - our travel agent told me they will not accept this particular room for their customers because it is so horrible. So we rejected the room and kept the tiny standard room.

I emailed the travel agent while we were still at the hotel, and they spoke to the bookings manager who admitted this had all been the hotel's mistake and also said the hotel would offer us some 'gratuities' to make the rest of our stay more comfortable. You may be wondering what those gratuities might have been - so am I because nobody from the hotel has made any attempt to contact us to discuss the matter, all contact has been through our travel agent.

Our travel agent has managed to negotiate a refund which brings our total cost down to the cost of one night in a standard room, but we would have greatly preferred to have been given the class of room we had booked, and to have been treated with some basic courtesy by the hotel staff. An apology would have been nice too.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe one and pray the hotel deigns to honour your booking. The standard rooms are tiny, bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKExpatNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Centrum, General Manager at Hotel Reykjavik Centrum, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Good day

We are truly sorry that your experience here at the hotel was not what you expected. We are very sorry that there was a mistake made by us in the booking. We will use this review so we can do better for our future guests.

Thank you for your honest review.

Kind regards
Thorhallur GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel on our first visit to Iceland. (We'll certainly be back). We would highly recommend this hotel for it's location, efficiency and knowledge of reception staff, clean rooms and hot, powerful shower. There is a supermarket and tourist office in the same street and all of the City's attractions are within easy walking distance. Our room was spotlessly clean, breakfast plentiful and the reception staff booked various excursions for us, which were then simply charged to our room. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have recently stayed in this hotel and loved it. We were transferred here from another hotel (due to double booking) and I was not disappointed. The rooms were lovely and clean. The breakfast was brilliant! So much choice and the staff were beyond helpful, they even booked our trips for us one the phone. very recommended! Plus the location was great, right I the middle of it all.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, and the views were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah64B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Large impersonal hotel in the heart of the city but close to most attractions. Once through the door it could have been any city. I'm sure it is possible to find a hotel with more atmosphere.
Room was largish with good storage. TV did not show the channels advertised. The bottle of water on the dressing table had a label that stated it would be charged to the room if used. There was no free WiFi available although it was easily found at a nearby coffee house. The hotel staff were quite indifferent to our presence! Breakfast was good, although we ate dinner elsewhere. The hotel restaurant menu prices were even higher than we experienced elsewhere in the city. Distinctly average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Close to all things in Reykjavik . Close to good eat outs, shopping. Only place you may have to walk for 10 min, is the main church.

Staffs are friendly and ready to help. Major stop for tour operators pickup.

Only thing I will complain is the noise all through he night from the streets.

Room Tip: Skip the breakfast , it ost around 2500 isk . You may get better breakfast outside. Very basic break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location and being next door to The Fish Market means that you are in a super position to nip in and book a table.

We arrived in the early hours of the morning and we greeted by friendly English speaking staff. Check in was fast and efficient and we were in our room (215) within 10 min’s of being at the desk. Room was nice and quiet from Wednesday – Friday, Saturday night was a tad noisy, but most towns are noisy on a Saturday night.

We had a good quality of sleep, rooms nice and warm, nice duvet and pillows. Shower was brilliant and maid service was good.

The breakfast is overpriced in my opinion roughly £25 for two and not of the highest quality. The bacon was either over cooked/crisp that it should have been in a frazzles packet (2 days like that), or had ran out (1 day) or was so oily it made my stomach turn. The croissants were mainly small and hard and the little waffles would have been nice warm. The cereal collection was ok, as were the fruits and yogurts. My favourite was the brown bread with oats on it.
I would recommend this hotel; it is within 15 min’s walk of all the attractions and the excursion company’s pick you up from outside the hotel (be aware they do not always drop you back to the door).

On the downside, I do not expect to have to pay for WiFi in this day and age and considering every café/restaurant I went into gave us free Wifi it was rather a let-down not to have it in hotel unless willing to pay for it.

Also, the water is amazing to drink and every bar/café has water in jugs or bottles for you to help yourself too, why on earth are the hotel charging for a bottle or water in the room. Cheeky and a minus from us for that.

Our stay was from 18th Feb to 24th Feb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samphire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing