We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

As has been said in other reviews this hotel is in a great location. Close to lots of great restaurants and shops. The reception staff were extremely efficient and helpful. However, our rooms were very small and cramped with very little room for our clothes. The breakfast was overpriced and very poor quality. We ate breakfast the rest of the time in the excellent Laundromat Cafe a 5 minute walk away. A very average hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    772
    167
    46
    16
See reviews for
250
882
128
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for three nights. I am someone that is willing to pay more money because I like it really clean- here, I didn't have to. At about $140 a night, it was spotless! The reception workers were SO helpful and nice with every question and everything that we wanted to know- they were unbelievably great. Our room was so quite. A perfect location!!! Right near the square- restaurants, stores, the harbor, and the main shopping/ restaurant strip. Nothing was more than a 10 minute walk. There's a supermarket/ cafe right next to it that is perfect to go to in the morning for breakfast/ what you need for the day.
Hotel Centrum couldn't have been more perfect- not one complaint.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wa_ha_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, N Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very good standard hotel with very helpful reception staff. We had been scheduled to go to another hotel and our operator offered us this hotel instead. I'm glad we opted for the Centrum. The hotel was welcoming, clean, well-maintained and adequate for our needs. It is rated as a four star property but wdn't have that rating in Britain - perhaps the rating system differs. We had no complaints regarding service or cleanliness but those expecting 4 star luxury may feel disappointed. This is a very good hotel which is centrally situated and met our needs throughout our stay. The reception staff were great - nothing was too much bother for them. They organised our trips, gave advice about our best options (saved us money), confirmed our trips and arranged pick-ups with the tour companies and arranged our pick-up for retuning to the airport. We can't praise the staff and service enough. Brilliant trip in a lovely, homely hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derry/londonderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 9-11th February. Staff really helpful and courteous, the rooms were nice. Food in bar was very good and breakfast nice although the hot stuff was more luke warm. Hotel in central position great for everything. Overall would recommend highly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is in a really good location, with the Harbour and new Harpa Concert Hall only 5 minute walk away. Also only 5 minutes from the main street that goes to Hallgrimskirkja Church. Plenty of restaurants and places to eat nearby as well.

We had a room on the 4th floor which was quiet and no outside noise. It was clean and a decent size. The only minor problem was the kettle didnt work properly, but this wasn't an issue. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but did eat in the bar twice - had the Thor Burger and Steak Sandwich, both of which were really nice and not expensive (about £10 each). Staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful.

Would recommend this hotel for people on a similar trip to us - i.e. not hiring a car, wanting a central hotel within walking distance of the major areas in city centre and also easily able to go on trips/tours from.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KML1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel Centrum was clean and neat with a helpful staff. The location is excellent for all the City sights and attractions. Found the mattress to be comfortable and our room in the rear of the hotel to be quiet. The breakfast was a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemyrescues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes,
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Centrum is a lovely hotel, right in the centre of old Reykjavik, friendly staff and a great starting point to see the capital. Rooms are clean and tidy and welcoming. Only problem was parking, there are free spaces near by and car park but the drop off was always busy, so got a bit damp with cases walking to hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Louiseelana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Hotel Holt
#10 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing