We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, comfortable and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well located, comfortable and good value”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in Iceland. We did one night here, two nights in the countryside, and a further two nights here.

The hotel is very central - in 3 minutes you can be on the main shopping street, and at the harbour in 5. Easy walking distance to all the coffee shops and restaurants - exactly what you need when its chilly outside!

Rooms are very clean, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good too - full cooked breakfast plus cereals, yoghurts, fruit, toast, pastries etc and really nice fresh smoked salmon!

When the hotel realised we were on our honeymoon they sent up a handwritten card and a plateful of beautiful miniature desserts which was a lovely touch. We also were given a much nicer room when we returned for our 2nd and 3rd nights. We were originally on the 4th floor where the room was fine, but the 2nd floor room was lovely - much cosier and really nicely decorated.

The hotel links directly into a coffee shop/bar which is also really cosy and we found ourselves there each evening after a day exploring.

A really great base for anyone wanting to see Reykjavik and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitkatkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    793
    171
    47
    16
See reviews for
261
901
130
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Three ladies travelling for Airwaves 2012 stayed at this wonderful hotel. We could not have asked for a better location nor a better place. They accomodated us with a room for three (three beds) and the staff was fabulous and extremely patient with all our questions and direction help. The front desk was always available to give suggestions, arrange transportation etc., not to mention, all with a smile.
The price was very reasonable and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel has breakfast included which has a very big selection from coffees to pickled herrings!
Walking distance to and from everything since this is located in the centre.
I would definately recommend this hotel for all. The place is clean, comfortable, safe and convenient.
A comeback here place for sure!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicoandRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and myself recently spent 4 nights at the Centrum at the beginning of January. The hotel is very well located right in the centre of Reykjavik, pretty much next door to all of the best restaurants, bars and attractions. The hotel itself is clean, airy, modern and very comfortable. Our standard room on the second floor was well appointed with a decent size double bed, tea and coffee, mini bar (charged) and ample storage space. The bathroom was clean and modern, with plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries supplied. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, even phoning up a tour guide for us to confirm our reservation one day. We ate one evening in the bar, and the food was nice and reasonably priced. I wouldn't say that the food and drink here was expensive at all, when compared as an average to the rest of Reykjavik. The bar staff were also very friendly. The only thing that lets this hotel down is the fact that it does not have free wifi (and the wifi it does offer is ridiculously expensive), and the breakfast buffet is also pretty expensive (over 2000 isk per person). For how much it costs to stay at this hotel, I find it pretty unacceptable that you have to pay for both breakfast AND wifi - in this day and age wifi should certainly be complimentary. For this reason I feel that I cannot give the hotel Centrum a full 5 stars, which is a shame.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisasredfiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for four nights with 3 other couples we all thought it was ideal. The staff were friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast fantastically fresh the bread and smoked salmon particularly stood out. we took advantage of the bars happy hour in the evening two glasses of wine for price of one as drinks generally are quite pricey. The location is perfect near the harbour in downtown, easy walking distance to a variety of bars and restaurants and plenty of shops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is located in great spot in downtown Reykjavik. You can walk pretty much anywhere that a tourist would want to go in the city. All of the expeditions pick you up right in the lobby, so that makes sightseeing super easy. There are plenty of museums restaurants an other attractions within a few minutes walk. The hotel wasn't luxurious, but was well worth the affordable price. The breakfast buffet is pretty good and included in the price. Overall I had a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33064SFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent four nights here (2nd to 6th January). Not only was the location perfect for sight-seeing, restaurants, coffee bars and shops but the staff, without exception, were so helpful and made sure we were able to do all the things we wanted to - even when things were cancelled by day tour operators.
We spent little time in our room, which was clean and comfortable if small. The only niggle we had was the temperature of the room, which we had no control over. It was far too hot and we had to try to keep a window open to make the temperature bearable. However, we would recommend the hotel as an excellent base for visitors on foot. We were so impressed with the customer service we received which was generous and so invaluable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning_Diner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for new years eve

Liked
- bar was really cosy with wood burner
- location - very central you can walk to most of the attractions and restaurants within 15 mins

Disliked
- bathroom was very small
- charge for wifi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,642 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,600 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing