We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central stay at the Centrum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Central stay at the Centrum”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was a good base for two nights in Reykjavik. The rooms were perfectly adequate (enough room for two large suitcases) and all the facilities were clean and tidy. The shower room might be a little small for some, but it was fine for us. The staff were helpful, and the breakfast buffet had a reasonable choice. The location was best - very near all the main streets and places in Reykjavik - just a 5 minute walk from two excellent restaurants we tried (Fish Company and Grill Market), and from the harbour and main shopping area. There is no parking at the hotel, but we arrived on Saturday evening and left just before 10am on Monday, so didn't need to pay for parking anywhere, and got a spot in the car park just next to the hotel. There is plenty of parking around on streets in anycase. The hotel was not noisy - it was set back far enough from the main streets, though my husband did notice it was busier at 5am than it was at 11pm! But it wasn't anything to keep us awake at all - it was a quiet location.

No free wi-fi was a pain (and I think the charges weren't small if you did want the internet for 24 hours!), but apart from that, this was a very decent start to our week's holiday, no complaints!

Room Tip: we were on the left hand side as you look at the front of the hotel, on the 3rd floor (there is a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    701
    791
    171
    47
    16
See reviews for
257
899
129
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-october. The hotel is in an excellent location in the center of Reykjavik and only a minutes walk from some nice restaurants and bars and just a few more to the central shopping street. It was also a good location for Excursions as it was only about 3 minutes walk to the Iceland Excursions ticket office and pick-up point. The hotel itself is nice and comfortable but don't expect 5 star comfort or furnishings as the hotel rooms in Iceland do seem to be smaller and very simple (it reminded me of an Ikea bedroom). I would recommend staying here and would say that its probably one of the better places to stay in Reykjavik, especially for location.

The hotel does charge for wireless internet and bottles of water which i would normally expect to be complimentary although if you have a drink in the hotel bar they will give you free internet access.

We had a really good time in Iceland and would recommend to anyone for a short break. There isn't much to do in Reykjavik itself but there are plenty of really good excursions. We did the Blue Lagoon, Northern Lights and Super Jeep Golden Circle Tour with Glacier and Snowmobiling and would recommend everything single one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

There couldn't be a better location for this warm and comfortable hotel. Its right in the heart of things, but off the main street so it's not noisy either. The staff on reception were not very smiley, but they were very efficient and helped us book a tour and rang another tour company to confirm arrangements for us. Our room was one of the modern style rooms, it was small, but comfortable and very clean. There was underfloor heating which was a fantastic treat to come home to after a day out in freezing weather. We liked the ice machine in the corridor, but didn't like powdered creamer rather than milk on the tea tray. This was a good hotel for a few days stay in an amazing place. We didn't have breakfast, instead we went into town and had breakfast in a small cafe with FREE wifi. This hotel would benefit from having free WIFI, (but guests can use 2 computers in reception). We would certainly return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasperrainham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. Chose this hotel on the advice of other TripAdvisor reviews. This hotel did not disappoint. The room was a nice sized double for a European hotel, and it had a nice amount of storage. The washroom had the usual sink and toilet with a shower stall which was clean and a good enough size. The attached restaurant had a nice hot breakfast buffet, which we ate at twice as it was approximately $17 extra per person. However, it was convenient on those early morning tour dates. The location was great as it was walking distance to many attractions in the old part of Reykjavik. Close to the Tjornin (pond), City Hall, Parliament, Lutheran Cathedral, the Harpa and the waterfront. Just steps away from a small bakery and grocery store. Staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank le-metro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Reykjavik Centrum for 3 midweek nights - no problems at all with the accommodation nor the service/reception.
Standard room #203 has double bed and reasonable size with view out on square. It's possible to open one small window and I did not notice any noise. Bathroom is very small, but I prefer a shower to bathtub anyway. Very limited selection of TV channels (Sky News or Animal Planet the only English ones). In the wardrobe you'll find minibar, ironing board + a safe.

The breakfast buffet from 7-10am offers the usual selections of breads, croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon, etc for ISK 2,200/day (~£12). The waffles unfortunately were stale whenever I tried them and a bit more fruit would have been nice. Alternatively you can eat at one of the many cafes around, but Iceland in general is not cheap. Did not try the restaurant (in the breakfast room, which lacks atmosphere) - there are so many more interesting restaurants nearby (recommend the Fishmarket next door) - not to forget the world-famous hot-dog stand! For cheaper alternatives, there is also a small grocery shop a few steps away.

Wireless internet access is charged extra, however you can use two guest PCs in the lobby for free. They were a bit slow, but sufficient for occasional email access.

The central location is great - all major sights in walking distance (if you have a car, you might consider a hotel with parking, which can be difficult/expensive in central R.). Airport transfer bus (Grayline or Reykjavik Excursions) drops you off at hotel after 45 min. drive (incl. transfer onto smaller bus). Had booked all my tours at a discount in advance - especially the 4x4 Golden Circle and Northern Lights were fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good location but on arrival we were met with a very formal, unfriendly youngish man on reception. Not particularly helpful and only answered questions when asked. He didn't offer any help or information - which surprised us as we'd spent a couple of days previously in a great hotel with really friendly, helpful staff. Perhaps we were spoilt! The hotel was clean but they'd chosen a cream carpet for the corridors etc - not ideal when you have guests walking in with their hiking boots etc - so difficult upkeep. We had a nice bedroom overlooking the square and comfortable bed. The restaurant however was not good. Breakfast was awful - very little choice in the continental breakfast and what there was, was lacking excitement. The "English" breakfast - yes I actually resorted to this (I always eat continental when abroad but as it was so awful thought I'd stay safe!) - was again dreadful. A lump of scrambled egg, watery baked beans, streaky bacon - all of which was just about warm - verging on cold. We had a meal in the evening - and it was worse than average. I wouldn't recommend eating in! Sorry to say as we we had high hopes having read the reviews on Tripadvisor. They also charge for wi-fi and room service - having stayed at Hotel Ranga for a couple of nights where they don't, this also let the hotel down to a certain extent. I know normally these are chargeable - but having been somewhere where it's not made you think - pay a price for a hotel room and everything's included - no hidden extras. You know where you stand! In summary - great location, comfy rooms and beds - but restaurant needs to be sorted out. Great places to eat in the vicinity so you won't go hungry however!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCSEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Everything about our stay was fabulous. The staff were incredibly helpful and assisted us in planning our 4 days in Iceland. There was always a smile from the front desk when we came and went. The staff in the breakfast room were delightful.
We took the bus from the airport to the hotel which is very reasonable at 5,000 krona. We can't comment on the parking.
Our room was the junior suite which we booked. The room is on two floors. We didn't have a draft from the balcony door. It was lovely to have the balcony even approaching the winter months! The comment about the tea pot being on the upper floor and water on the lower is easily overcome either move it downstairs or fill it when going up! It would be convenient to have on the same level as the water. The rooms are very clean. The bathroom in the suite was large. The TV is old though ours worked. The bed was outstanding - very comfortable.
The breakfast was ample with a good mix of local food - bread is made in the hotel which was delicious, the smoked salmon and herring were excellent and the cheese is also locally sourced. The usual items of eggs, cereals, jams were all there. The local yogurt - Skyr was wonderful. You couldn't leave hungry.
We did order a light dinner in the room which was expensive, very good and well presented. The reason was we came back from the afternoon golden circle tour with an hour til we went out for the Northern Lights.
I do think it is becoming standard to have free wifi avail in the room and hopefully the Centrum management will read our reviews and start to offer this in every room free of charge. We did buy the wifi access for 3 of our 4 nights there.
There is a grocery store 5 or 6 doors from the hotel and going there for anything you might need is well worth the walk over. Bottled water isn't what one should buy as the tap water is as good as anywhere in the world if not better!
There are many good restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel definitely try the tapas. The bistro had very good food but was a bit pricey.
The tours can be arranged from the hotel or on line before you go. We ended up cancelling the ones we made before arriving as we altered times and days based on the weather.
We were very lucky and saw the lights which we booked on the day since they don't know til 5-6 in the evening if the tours are going out.
I would highly recommend the Centrum as a good centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awithj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,606 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
971 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reykjavik Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reykjavik Centrum

Property: Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Address: Adalstraeti 16 | 101 Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#6 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reykjavik Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum is a new first class hotel in the heart of the city, opened on April 1st 2005. It is located on one of Reykjavik’s oldest streets, Adalstraeti, in a newly renovated building, the oldest part of which was built in 1764. On each side of it, new buildings have been constructed in the likeness of their historic predecessors. The hotel spreads over all three buildings, and is designed in the style found in Reykjavík around 1900. During its construction, the remains of a Viking longhouse from the Settlement Period were found. Among the finds excavated at the site were Iceland’s oldest human remains, dating from approximately 870 AD.The hotel has 89 rooms, each fitted with modern amenities, such as satellite TV, telephone, Internet access, mini-bar, radio, iron and board, hair dryer, safe and tea & coffee set. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with either a shower or a bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Reykjavik Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Centrum Hotel
Reykjavik Centrum Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing