We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my first visit to this cozy bar.”
Review of K-Bar

K-Bar
Ranked #78 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An in-authentic Korean restaurant with quirky cocktails and craft beers on tap. Open for lunch and dinner.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“my first visit to this cozy bar.”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

i have now been twice to this cozy bar, situated on Reykjavík main shopping street. very friendly staff, wide selection of beer. I tried a beer from Belgium, that I have never had before, served with a slice of orange in it. prices very reasonable on everything. I did not have a meal this time, but they have a most interesting menu, and some of the guests having dinner, were evidently regular customers, which underlines that food and service is good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magni_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    107
    32
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Meal/Value we had in Iceland”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stopped in here for an early (7pm) dinner. It was not overly packed and we were able to grab a table for 4 without wait.
They had a great beer list for Reykjavic and a wide variety of Korean inspired dishes.

Highlights of the meal were #1 - the Korean Cod sandwich. This was a great, unique dish using the local caught Cod. The sweet potato fries were also excellent.

You did not have to pay an arm and a leg for this meal and it was excellent. As food goes in Reykjavic, this was the best we had over a 3 day stay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mj23439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Went here recomneded with work collegues. Great food. Sweet staff. Reasonable prices. Had the fish burger and was full for the rest Of the Night and the beer was Well recomneded.

Helpful?
Thank Tange2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not happy”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was my second time there, first time I went the food was great, service ok. Then I went again with group of friend in the middle of the week. The place was somewhat bissy, and only two working so they where running around covering the restaurant and the bar. We had to wait over 2 hours to receive the main course, we got the starter right away and then waited for hour and 45 minutes for the main course, we were always trying to contact the staff, to take a drink orderes while we waited. Over all the staff always forgot something and one of my friend did not receive the main course when we did (after all the wait), I gave her half of mine so she could eat with us, after about 25 minutes her food came ... they were out of some of the beer on menu, our white wine was warm, overall not a good experience. When we paid we didin't even got apologise from the staff, when we were there there was some natinol „celeb“ that came more then hour after us and they got super service there food came before ours and so on.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My new favorite place!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a cozy, friendly place with great local beer selection.
The food is so fresh and delicious. I'll be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EscapeArtist2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K-Bar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to K-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing